We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP NOTCH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TOP NOTCH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I held a company event at this hotel the end of October. As an Event Planner I am very particular with venues. This place is top notch. The service is amazing. My first presenter ran over and we had to rearrange the schedule a bit. They immediately were able to accommodate our new schedule as our lunch was pushed back a few minutes. The wait staff was pleasant, kind, and very attentive! I could not be happier and would definitely return.

Only negative, I had some trouble getting access to the internet, but I also did not ask for help so that was half of the problem :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear LRapkin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We believe that service in our industry is an ongoing process and we strive to do the utmost to meet each customers expectations. Rest assured, that your compliments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Baur au Lac.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    69
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
107
205
44
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just few minutes’ away from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich’s celebrated shopping high street, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps.
To try the tuna steak they serve at the restaurant "Rive Gauche".
Beautiful the ambience and the excellent food you find in the other restaurant of the hotel, "The Pavillion".
If you want to live a unique experience in Zurich in one of the place that is part of the best leading hotels in the world for something like 170 years, you should consider the Baur au Lac.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTO_PROVASI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear ROBERTO_PROV,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your views about the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you recommend to stay with us for a unique luxury experience and that you enjoy the food in both of our restaurants Rive Gauche and Pavillon.

Furthermore we are happy to hear that our central location in the heart of Zurich was appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

First time there, this is a gracious old hotel with impeccable service from staff who attend to every detail. Rooms were excellent, shower was 10 out of 10 and the free mini bar was a bonus. Perhaps breakfast could have been included for that price and a multiple night stay. Many fantasic restaurants within 500 to 700 metres, excellent shopping of course. Minor complaint, it took ten minutes for a taxi to arrive we we walked out early in the morning (before rush hour)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerdickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear rogerdickie,

Thank you very much for choosing the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and especially liked our rooms, the free minibar and the power shower.

That our employees were able to give you an impeccable service makes us very proud. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were invited today in the Pavillon at the Hotel Baur au Lac in Zurich newly redone. Fresh looking but very purple. We took something from the business menu which ended up to be very expensive. We had no wine and only one course but everything we had was exellent but overprized. A lot of German waiters nothing to complain about the service but not charming. A pitty it could be different.

Room Tip: This is a Restaurant and all the tables are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Crystal1942,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Pavillon Restaurant.

Your feedback gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our service and to enhance the guest experience. We certainly believe that an engaging and warm service mentality is an essential added value to the Pavillon and Baur au Lac experience.

Please accept our apologies that we missed this opportunity to convince you of that during your recent visit. Rest assured that we will work on this important aspect and hope to welcoming you soon again at the Baur au Lac.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'd last been to Baur au Lac in 2002 and was anxious to share what made my top five ever list with my spouse. Despite the curious postings here, thankfully it was the same, if not better. Check in was friendly, gracious and warm. The room was lovely (fresh flowers, heated floors and complimentary mini bar). Our dinner at Pavillon was spectacular. The food (which included what the waiter described as "surprises" - wonderful, several, amuse bouche) - was scrumptious as was the wine which was a choice from staff. We had top-notch attention, especially from the outgoing concierge, Jeremie Varry - who sorted through our train ticket scheduling challenge and made the rest of our trip much easier. The Baur au Lac moved up on our list, and for us remains one of the very top hotel experiences in the world. We absolutely loved our stay and hope to return. Accommodations, food and service at the absolute best.

Room Tip: Just stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgerard54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear pgerard54,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your stay at the Baur au Lac.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you especially appreciated the personal service of our concierge as well as the accommodation and the food and wine at the Pavillon. We are very proud to be on your top five hotel list.

Rest assured that your insightful comments have already been passed on to our entire team. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It was a pleasure to have you and your wife as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Great setting, beautiful grounds and nicely appointed rooms, BUT some of the rooms are quite small. Avoid any room ending in "41" as these are narrow rooms - almost claustrophobic, certainly not what you expect at this price. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in "41"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear exgeo,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for taking the time to give us feedback through tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn that you especially appreciated the setting of the Baur au Lac, our garden and the breakfast buffet in the restaurant Pavillon.

The Baur au Lac has a tradition over 169 years and all the rooms vary in shape and design. During a future stay we are convinced that we will be able to find a room which will suit your needs.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We mainly chose Baur au Lac it for its excellent location, and while the hotel indeed is very good, it somehow lacks character. There are tons of 5 star hotels like this, so nothing special about Baur au Lac. It was also a surprise that the breakfast was not included in the room rate. Me and my partner both had one croissant at the breakfast and ended up paying almost 100 CHF for it (full buffet price) – not too impressed. Recommended for business travellers, couples or families go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiisaineko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Chiissaineko,

Thank you for your visit at the Baur au Lac and your honest feedback on tripadvisor.

While personal and individual customer service is one of our top priorities, it is very much to our regret you could not feel the “Baur au Lac Spirit”, we are striving to pass on to every one of our valued guests.

It is correct that the breakfast is excluded from the room rate. To avoid any negative surprises, we always mention this on our reservation confirmation. For the light appetite, we offer the possibility to choose from our breakfast menu, instead from the breakfast buffet.

We truly hope to welcome you again at the Baur au Lac, to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable Baur au Lac experience.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#4 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#9 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Property: Baur au Lac
Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing