We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baur au Lac
Nearby Hotels
$268
$235
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$281
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$271
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$410
$291
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$236
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$329
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alexander(Zurich)
$172
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveler rating
624
82
26
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
82
26
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrolls roycegrand dameleading hotels of the worldconcierge staffgrand hotelfive star hotelclassic hotelroom servicejunior suiteswiss hospitalityfamous bahnhofstrasselake viewfantastic hotelpillow menuthe location is perfectfavorite hotellovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 752 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Baur au Lac very much. The staff at the front desk set a great mood for us after our tiring journey to switzerland. The receptionists always had a smile on their faces which is definitely something to mention. The concierge staff were informative and could answer all the questions I had. A prime location with one of the best breakfast meals I've had at a hotel. I can recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Zurich!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear SaltMD

Thank you very much for having chosen the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for sharing your views about the hotel on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Your kind words about our staff make us very proud and have brightened the day of the entire team. Furthermore, we are very happy that you are recommending the Baur au Lac.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Baur is quite simply the best best hotel in which I have stayed, Everything is perfect, The setting the positioning, Decor, Service. All faultless and whilst not at all inexpensive it represents what a luxury hotel should. Its classic decor and sumptuous rooms are firmly set in my mind!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Richard W,

Thank you very much for posting your “Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Zurich and are thrilled to learn that you regard the Baur au Lac as one of the best hotels.

Your kind words about the setting, décor and service make us very proud and will be shared with the entire team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I treated my staff to a Christmas dinner here. As my colleagues came from other country offices, a number of our guys/gals stayed here and without exception all were extremely pleased. The quality of the food in their Michelin restaurant was as expected, exceptional. A colleague had reccomended and he was quite correct.....a heartry and well fed thanks was in order...

Rooms are great, location great, service impeccible (if an olde worldy european style - I had jeans and a jacket/shirt and had some difficulty persuading the Manager to allow me to enter the restaurant as i was 'inappropriately' dressed. In any event he relented and I promised to abide by their rules on my next visit) Overall excellent. I have had a number of companies in Switzerland over the years and many stays/visits and this is probably the best hotel in Zurich. Not for families, unless old european royalty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llion r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear l r,

Thank you very much for sharing your „Baur au Lac experience“ on tripadvisor and for recommending our hotel.

With great pleasure we learn that you and your colleagues were all extremely pleased with the service at the Baur au Lac and the choice of our fine dining restaurant Pavillon for the annual Christmas dinner.

Your kind words have been passed on to all our employees. Especially our Executive Chef, Laurent Eperon, is thrilled to learn that the efforts of this team contributed to your great satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you and your colleagues back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Staying at the Baur au Lac is like driving an old Bentley - a perfectly tuned classic which benefits from all the experience of decades of good living. The staff are really exceptional and deliver a flawless service to their guests. The location is superb and the outside bar/restaurant is a tremendously classy place to dine and pass the evening hours. The rooms are extremely comfortable (despite a surprisingly noisy air conditioning system - Bentley would not tolerate that). What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Charlie1001,

Thank you very much for choosing the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

Your thoughtful comparison of the Baur au Lac with a perfectly tuned classic automobile has brightened the day of our entire team. We are all extremely pleased to have met your expectations and were able to deliver accordingly.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been staying in Baur Au Lac now for many years every time we visit Zurich. It is our home away from home.They always take an extra effort to accommodate us in the same room that we have become so used to.The concierge is so kind and fun.And I love their breakfast :) With Baur Au Lac you know you are going the get the best service each time.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Okmen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear BC O,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.

We were absolutely delighted to receive your feedback and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your April stay with us. Furthermore we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the loyalty over the past years.

Rest assured that your encouraging words have been shared with all our employees. Our staff is already looking forward to your next visit and we all hope to have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next stay at the Baur au Lac.

It is always a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews