We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the best hotels ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my second review of this hotel. My views have changed so I decided to post again.
This is probably one of my most favorite hotels. You get pure luxury and excellence. Especially with the new rooms this hotel is transformed one level higher. The rooms are very elegant and luxurious. The bathrooms are spacious and beautiful. The restaurant and food in general are great. The service is very good and everyone treats you with courtesy. The location is the best in Zurich. You get both bahnhofstrasse and the lake. In my opinion the best hotel in Zurich.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Phenompilot

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable thoughts about your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that you regard the Baur au Lac as one of your favourite hotels. Your kind words are very much appreciated. We are happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you especially liked the interior design of the hotel room as well as the location and the service.

Rest assured that we have passed on your feedback to our staff. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    61
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
97
182
34
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel epitomizes the legendary Swiss attention to detail and refined hospitality. It is the kind of experience which has one struggling to find a possible fault with anything and yet realize that the experience is truly faultless. As close to perfection as it can possibly get! Don't take my word for it, experience it for yourselves!

Room Tip: We were vey happy with Junior Suite 231 which overlooks the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank issibni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear issibni

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to meet your expectations.

We have shared your feedback with the team members, for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay at the Baur au Lac in Zurich and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ferme
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having been to Zurich on numerous occasions I have never hesitated in booking a room at the Baur au Lac. The place oozes charm, opulence and sophistication and is a delight, worth of a repeat visit. The breakfast is incredible, with views over the lake, it is a thoroughly enjoyable start to the day albeit very expensive - my only tip would be; don't order from the breakfast menu; the scrambled eggs are good but not worth selling a kidney for. If you time, take a tour of the area in the beautiful Rolls Royce that is usually parked outside; a perfect way to conclude a stay in one of the greats.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Château du P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Château du P

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts and for your recent stay at the Baur au Lac.

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations. It makes us particularly proud that you are recommending the Baur au Lac for a repeat visit. Rest assured that your thoughtful words have been passed on to our staff and we hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next stay.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We liked the location right next to the lake and the fact that it is close to more or less everything one needs in downtown. Room was absolutely clean, renovated and had a comfortable size, separate walk-in closet and a well sized bathroom with daylight. Minibar and Wireless were included in the rate, staff was friendly and attentive (special thanks to the elderly Swiss doorman, excellent).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank max_weber1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr max_weber1984

Thank you very much for having chosen the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations regarding the location and the room. Your feedback have been pass on to our team, who were delighted to know they contributed to the positive experience you enjoyed with us. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac on a future occasion.

Your sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a lovely surprise. We booked it for one night after we flew into Switzerland and before we headed off on our road trip to Liechtenstein. The front of house staff were friendly and attentive. They learnt that we were on honeymoon and upgraded us to a lake view suite. The room was spacious and well appointed and the mini bar was complimentary. We were tired and a bit jet lagged and so ordered room service which was amazing. Great food of a standard you don't expect from room service. In the morning the garage attendants were quick to retrieve our car and offered us a choice of still or sparkling water to be placed in the car for the drive. It's the little things. We were so impressed we rebooked for another night at the conclusion of our road trip and our experience on the second night matched the first. A great hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Tyson S

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful review about your stay at the Baur au Lac on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to meet your expectation during both of your stays.

Your kind words about our attentive staff and the delicious room service meal make us very proud. Rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our entire team.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great service, stunning room and 2 mins walk to the lake.
I love the decorations in the hotels room, very stylish and the bathroom is also groovy with a big bathtub.

Delicious breakfast and great service!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Flyer789,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on your stay at the Baur au Lac.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and that you especially appreciated the interior design of the hotel room as well as our breakfast and service.
Be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llucmajor, Spain
Level Contributor
437 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An exquisite place to stay in Zürich! This is Grand Hotel!
The rooms are splendidly appointed with wonderful pieces of antique furniture.

Most comfortable beds invite for a good nights sleep.

Attentive and competent service throughout the Hotel!

Rive Gauche Bar is a great place for a nightcap.

Room Tip: Room 401 is nicely appointed and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Wolfgang H

Thank you very much for choosing the Baur au Lac for your accommodation in Zurich and for sharing your „Baur au Lac experience“ on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that you particularly appreciated the interior design of the hotel room as well as our services and nightcap at the Rive Gauche Bar. Your very kind words have been passed on to the staff and we hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

We appreciate your nice comments and are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
The Dolder Grand
#1 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#3 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#4 of 133 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Property: Baur au Lac
Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing