We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Zurich experience!! You should definitely try it!!”
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Zurich experience!! You should definitely try it!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is simply amazing! Perfect location (1 block from the main street, 3 blocks from the opera house), silent and really comfy rooms, incredible breakfast and discrete and very efficient service. I was gonna be in town for 2 days because it was my first stop for my wedding anniversary celebration, but what started as a stop over ended up as a gorgeous appetizer for our 15th honeymoon! The concierge was efficient even before I arrived, arranging a warm welcome at the airport at ou request and suggesting great restaurants and evening events. We chose an event at the opera house, and the concierge had our tickets and (a very conveniently located) restaurant reservation. The evening was perfect, and I am sure that the location and warmth of this hotel makes Zurich even more pleasant! Stay here if you have a chance - and allow them to spoil you a little bit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Aline F

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your stay at the Baur au Lac.

We really appreciate that you took the time to express your views in such a detailed way and are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Especially your kind words about our discrete and efficient service make us very proud.

Please rest assured that we have already shared your encouraging words with the entire Baur au Lac team. We sincerely hope to have the chance to meet your expectations again in the near future.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back very soon.

Your sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    73
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
112
219
45
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Situated at the head of Lake Zurich, the location is as fabulous as the rooms and service.

Although perhaps premium priced, the luxuriousness of the rooms, wine and food, make this a special hotel.

I was there for business and for pleasure and it was perfect for both types of stay.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the breakfast, wine bar and room service are all very good indeed.

Excellent, albeit small, gym with superb views of the lake.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel, if your budget allows it.

Room Tip: Opt for a roomier city / junior suite if you can. Room 235 was great and with a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoslindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear nicoslindos

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on your stay at the Baur au Lac.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you particularly appreciated our location, rooms and service. Be assured that we have shared your kind words with all our employees and hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next visit.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

2 nights for bussines , great location near the banhof , the hotel is beutifull
Mostnof it renovated but still save the classic style
The service is amazing , all the time you can see people work all over and on everything, clean, concierge , porters
The price is high never the less great luxury hotel
Breakfest - amazing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vizaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Vizaim,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your „Baur au Lac experience“ on tripadvisor.
We are happy that you have chosen the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations.

Especially your appreciation for the renovated but classic style of the hotel, as well as the breakfast in the Pavillon, makes us very proud.

Please rest assured that we will share your insightful comments with our entire team. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have stayed at the Baur au Lac many times before usually on my own but this last visit with my husband.
I like it mainly because of the excellent service, the beautiful public rooms, the relatively quiet location despite being in the city and the delicious food.
I normally book a single room so this time having booked a double I expected something slightly larger but if anything it was smaller and felt a bit cramped.
I always ask for a quiet room on a high floor with a nice view. The first two I got but as usual it was facing inwards, the so called "courtyard view" which just looks out on to the other rooms.
We arrived too late for a "Swiss" lunch which normally ends promptly at 1.30pm but in this case 2pm so at about 2.20pm we made our way to the excellent Rive Gauche restaurant in the hotel which has an afternoon menu. I had a simple grilled chicken dish with vegetables which was delicious as was everything we ate at the hotel.
I love the big lounge and this time there was a huge Christmas tree decorating it. We enjoyed a couple of drinks there and a snack in the evening watching all the comings and goings.
Our weekend rate included a breakfast in the gorgeous Pavillon restaurant which is a delight in terms of the food, the service and the decor.
This time I would say that my experience was spoilt slightly by some rather brusque receptionists.
Firstly there was no mention of a welcome back despite my loyalty. A welcome drink included in the rate never materialised. The room was very hot and we went to ask if maybe we were not operating the heating control properly but we were told in no uncertain terms that the air conditioning was not switched on in the winter and we should just open the windows and it would cool down. We had already done this as it was stifling.
Then on the morning of checkout I asked if we could have a late check out at 2.45pm as we had a plane to catch at 5pm. I wanted to go back to the room and pack my morning's shopping in to the rest of my luggage. i was told that this was not possible but a 1.30pm departure could be offered. This did not really help so we checked out at about 11am and returned to the hotel for a cup of tea at 2.30pm only to see other people coming down in the lift with their luggage and checking out then.
For me, I had to repack my things in the porter's luggage room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear hollins1,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience in such a detailed way and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations regarding our restaurants in terms of the food, service as well as the ambience. Furthermore we would like to thank you for your loyalty over the past years and are happy to learn that your husband was able to join during your last visit.

Concerning your experience at the front desk we truly regret that the overall performance of our reception team seemed unprofessional and rather brusque. Rest assured that guest recognition is very important to us and the unsatisfactory points that you address in your comments have been reviewed. Please do accept our apology for any inconvenience caused.

Our deluxe double rooms vary in shape, colour and size. Sometimes it can be a little challenging to assign the “right” room. Nevertheless, we are convinced that during your next visit with your husband we will be able to find a quiet room on a high floor with a nice view. Even our city view rooms on a high floor are not noisy.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac in the near future and have the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Recently, guess some years ago, I saw the Baur au Lac mentioned as one of the best hotels of the world. Could´nt agree more.Got into Zurich after hours driving from Germany and arrived after midnight. Had no reservation for my plans had flunked. Checked in with the normal Swiss courtesy and they gave me a fantastic double room. The hotel is close to the Banhof Strasse, in the center of Zurich and, as the name says. on the brink of the Zugerzee.I made my comments before on Lausasse and on Switzerland. At 11 pm you won´nt find a single personon the streets. In the other bank, crossing the bridge, Zurich has an effort of nightlife, on the old part of the town. If I should recomend a place to stay (it´s expensive...) I woulkd point out the Baur au Lac. Has an excellent restaurant with a lake view and the food is super.
From one to 10 : 10 to the BAL.

Room Tip: I quoted the swimming pool as poor for frankly I did´nt see any. Plan you trip to enjoy Zurich and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sergio99

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your „Baur au Lac“ experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to read that you have spontaneously decided to stay with us and have had such a great time in Zurich. Your kind comments about the service, room and our central location are very much appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Baur au Lac Zürich is an extraordinary hotel in city center, at the end of the prestigious Bahnhofstrasse.
Service is excellent, location is perfect, and this is truly a deluxe hotel with everything you can expect from this category in Switzerland.
Breakfast buffet at “Pavillon” is just perfect! Very large choice and delicious food.
With my best recommendation. I will stay here next time visiting Zürich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamatthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear yamatthey,

Thank you very much for your wonderful and kind words you have posted on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent at the Baur au Lac. Especially your comments about the excellent service and the delicious breakfast at the restaurant Pavillon make us very proud.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were thrilled with the wonderful wedding reception for our daughter and her husband - August 2012 at the gorgeous Baur Au Lac.

All of our guests from Canada, USA, Switzerland and Dubai were incredibly impressed with this beautiful hotel.

Thank you so much for the outstanding service that you provided to our family during the planning, as well as the actual day of the wedding reception at Baur Au Lac. Every guest said that it was the most beautiful wedding reception they had ever attended.

The Baur Au Lac is a breath-taking setting. The hotel itself is stunning and from the moment we arrived everything was superb! The accomodation was beautiful and to be honest I have never experienced such a beautiful hotel suite.

Our guests were thrilled with the elegant champagne cocktail hour in the garden. As well, the beautiful banquet room, delicious cuisine and the impeccable service were wonderful.

Manuela, I sincerely hope we cross paths again at the hotel. It was a pleasure meeting you and we sincerely appreciated the superb service you provided. We greatly appreciated your prompt answers to our emails from North America. The Baur Au Lac is very lucky to have you on their staff.

In closing, on behalf of our entire family, thank you for making the wedding day so special. Without a doubt the memories created at Baur Au Lac will last a lifetime!

All the best,

Susan (Canada)

Room Tip: Simply contact the hotel and ask for their assistance. They are very knowledgable and provide excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanP283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Susan P

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an outstanding and excellent review about the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the Baur au Lac contributed in making the wedding reception of your daughter an unforgettable one! Your comments about our staff and about the impeccable service make us very proud. It is with great pleasure that we share your delightful comments with our entire team; especially with Manuela. We are absolutely sure it will make their day.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
470 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
760 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 139 in Zurich
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolder Grand
#5 of 139 in Zurich
1,015 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Property: Baur au Lac
Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing