We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice & simple yet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seehof
Ranked #70 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice & simple yet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

stayed at the hotel for several sessions prior to moving to Zurich: the hotel is very small, yet it has everything that you need to get sleep and food. The rooms are extremely well kept, try to book a higher floor since the rooms towards the inner court can have some slight noise from the restaurant below. Breakfast is simple yet very good, food during the day is very sought after by local business people and some dishes are way above hotel average. Free fast Internet is a good plus (Wifi). Parking 15 CHF/night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LXSEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
61
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed there for 3 nights, September 2010. Friendly staff, good (and fresh) breakfast, and three good nights of sleep. A table, with two chairs for working, and ok internet connection. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly and no problems with water on the floor after having a shower. Old people might have problems getting into the bathtub.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontWantNoScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehren, Receptionist at Hotel Seehof, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your good reviev and for sharing your experience in our Hotel with other travellers on tripadviser.com. We are looking forward to welcome you another time in our Hotel when you come back to Zurich.

Kind regards

Your Hotel Seehof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

This hotel markets itself as a small stylish hotel with designer rooms. If you come expecting this, you will leave disappointed. However, if you come expecting a perfectly adequate 3 star hotel with reasonable facilities, you will probably be happy with your choice. Unfortunately, I arrived expecting the small stylish hotel and left disappointed as a result.

In truth, there was nothing particularly wrong with the Bar Hotel Seehof. I had a double room, which was simple, clean and quiet. A designer would probably describe the room as uncluttered, but for me, it was just basic without any frills. The bathroom was extremely small with a walk in shower. The average nature of the experience continued with breakfast, which was fine and as you would expect in a 3 star hotel. Overall, everything was average – but nothing to get excited about and certainly not in line with what I was expecting.

Thankfully, there was one exception to the general sense of mediocrity – the restaurant. I was with colleagues and we ate there one evening. The restaurant is a strange combination of Swiss and Japanese cooking. We all went with Japanese oriented options and they were excellent. In addition, the restaurant has some lovely Swiss wines and local beers available. This is a really nice place to eat with a lovely atmosphere and I will return here when next in Zurich even if I will probably give the hotel a miss.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopewell, new jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

Spent two nights at the Bar Hotel Seehof. Be aware that major construction is taking place next door for at least another year. The location of this hotel is excellent (5 minutes to the train, near the lake and within walking distance of everything.) However if we hadn't negotiated a reduced rate of $250 per night with breakfast from $350 we would never have stayed there. If you can put up with construction noise from 8 am to about 5pm and can negotiate a fair rate this may be an option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brubarbtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in mid Sep.

Getting to the hotel from Zurich Airport was very convenient was cost about about chf 6. Alight at Stadelhofen station and walk towards the Opera house (about a comfortable 5 minutes walk).

The hotel is located one street behind the Opera House, and just behind the Opera Hotel. The hotel reception is a small desk and may not be manned at some times. The hotel's main entrance door is always locked all day, and guests are given two keys, one for access to hotel main entrance (small key) and one for access to the room (big key) There is a key switch system where you swap keys each time you leave the hotel premise (at all times, one key will be in the switch).

A small hotel with friendly staff (the male receptionist by the name of Bruno was very helpful in giving directions, gave me an early 7am check-in, and even helped me carried my luggage to my room 404).

the room decor is based on a white theme with dark timber flooring and furnishing. The LCD TV is mounted on the ceiling, so its best watching it lying on the bed. The room has a small table and two chairs, and a table fan. There is no airon but there was a heater (which i did not use due to the time of the year). As i was there in autumn, and day temperature was surprisingly 13 degrees and night was 8 degrees, i felt very comfortable in the room without the fan. The windows can be opened, so i left it slightly opened all day and night. There is ree wifi available in the hotel as well.

My shower room was a tub instead of a standing. The tub was rather small but it did not bother me as i showered standing. Shower and toilet is very clean and has good toiletries and is spacious. Good quality toilet paper too

Breakast is included in rate and is a very simple continental breakfast with breads, buns, croissants, some hams, cereal, cheese and fruits. No eggs were offered, unlike what other reviewers had mentioned. Nothing to shout about but then its free, so no complains.

I did not had the opportunity to have dinner at the bar. The menu looks Japanese fusion, and one other guest told me the food is great if the Japanese chef is there.

All in all, i am happy with my stay as hotels in Zurich are expensive and at the price i paid, it is reasonable as it includes a simple breakfast, free internet access and is well located. Its within walking distance to the tourist sights, and to the bars and restaurants.

  • Liked — convenience and cleanliness
  • Disliked — the simple breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank singaporeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel has a great location just near the Zurichsee and near the Opera. You can easily walk everywhere and the fabulous Zurich tram system takes you almost to the door. The room was great and certainly big enough for 4 but the bathroom was very small. The other main downside was that there was no air conditioning and it was very warm. With the windows open there was quite a lot of noise early in the morning and one fan didn't cut it with the windows closed. A continental buffet breakfast with limited selections was served outside which was lovely and the staff were very attentive with tea and coffee. Zurich is an expensive town so the tarrifs for this hotel are not cheap but given its excellent location I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

I've found this hotel being an average one but quite comfortable though.

The location is quite good and the neighborhood is very safe (Zurcih is a safe city ! ;-) )

The decoration of the rooms wasn't terrific but I've really liked the bathroom which had a very cool shower !

The backyard allows people to have breakfast when the weather is nice.

Overall opinon: basic but comfy. Not a fancy hotel but if you stay in Zurich for a few days and you don't want to spend a fortune, I'd recommand this hotel.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Sadly decorated rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hemdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Hotel NI-MO
Hotel NI-MO
#47 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Opera Hotel
#46 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Seegarten
Hotel Seegarten
#58 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Hotel Rossli
#55 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Property: Hotel Seehof
Address: Seehofstrasse 11 | 8008 Zurich, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prime example of slick modernity, Hotel Seehof is only a few minutes' walk from Zurich's historical old town, the famous Bahnhofstrasse and the eye-popping Opera. Visitors are instantly put at ease by the composed atmosphere of simple elegance and warm functionality. The 20 guestrooms are elegantly thought-through and aim to provide guests with a cool, clear environment in which they can fully unwind. Both leisure and business travellers feel perfectly at home here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing