We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Seehof”
Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seehof
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Seehof for a few days in late November. We found the hotel to be conveniently located and the staff exceptional. The room was basic with simply a bed and a clean bathroom. We ended up switching rooms due to a problem with the TV and the vent in the bathroom. This was handled quickly and efficently. The second room had a shower rather than a tub which was more convenient for us as the tub was a bit awkward to get into and out of. The complimentary mini bar was basically a few drinks and snacks but came in handy. Breakfast was included in our rate and we found it filling--good scrambled eggs and bacon with breads, cheeses, meats yogurts and great coffee. The staff was very helpful in booking tours, making dinner reservations and giving directions. If you want luxury stay elsewhere but if you want a convenient location and helpful personnel this hotel is for you. We liked the complimentary wifi and enjoyed the short walk to Old Town and the train and overall had a comfortable stay. We would stay here again if we are in Zurich.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3littlebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear 3littlebirds

Thank you for your nice comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.
Your Hotel Seehof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 230 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Seehof for a single night in November. Arrived late and left early but the service was good, at check in and checkout, answered questions re transport and local dining and was very positive! Rooms are simple but good, nothing really missing and the breakfast was nice. Dined at a nearby restaurant and had a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Phill C

Thank you for your nice comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.
Your Hotel Seehof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Although the staff was excellent and the breakfast perfect ( the European meat and cheese breakfast with eggs and bacon on the side), the noise from the street was too much. Reading the reviews I knew there was some noise so I contacted the hotel to put us in the quietest room. This was the top floor street facing since the rear garden had construction happening,but it didn't matter. We could not sleep through the night as there was a club nearby with drunk people leaving til 4 am. Even being mid October, it was unseasonably warm so we needed to have the windows open for some air...big mistake. For a restful night's sleep I would suggest another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottapud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.
We hope you will find a hotel in a quiet area for your next visit in Zurich.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Seehof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable, service was good, location was central and it was easy to get around, and the breakfasts were good. The main reason I would hesitate to stay here again was the noise from outside. Never heard a thing from any of the other guest rooms, but our room was on the second floor facing the street and there were a lot of loud people out in the street very late at night. Although it was early October, our room seemed uncomfortably warm and we really needed to at least crack the windows, and even though we wear earplugs we were woken by the noise every single night. Also heard loud noises outside early in the morning - not sure what it was (construction?) but it was quite a racket on some mornings.

I hate to give it such a low rating, but the noise was a big issue for us. The Zurich Film Festival was going on while we were there, and I don't know if that was why there were so many loud people out late in this neighborhood - perhaps it's normally quieter. I doubt we will try it again, though. :( Also note that there is no AC and we were too hot in October - seems like it would be miserable in warmer months.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors or that don't face the street might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.
Usually the street is pretty calm especially for this central location. But just for your information: the outside constructions in the courtyard from the building opposite the hotel are finished.

Best regards,
your Hotel Seehof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Das Zimmer ist kahl; nichts gemütliches!
Very basic - not a room to enjoy spending any time in .
Nachts sehr laut und unbequemes Bett - very loud during night and uncomfy bed.
Frühstück nichts Besonderes; breakfast - average.
Gute Lage ; good location.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank germanLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear guest

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.
Just for your information; the outside constructions in the courtyard from the building opposite the hotel are finished. And another good news coming January we will change all beds in the hotel.
Maybe you give us a chance to prove that we can do better.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Seehof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in Seehof hotel for business purposes. It was conveniently situated. I booked (via "hotels.com") a single standard bedroom which cost CHF 480.- for both nights (i.e. CHF 231.21 per room per night + 17.58 for taxes). The room was clean but small and in desperate need of redecorating. Poor value for price. Otherwise, the service was kind, especially the lady serving at the breakfast. I would not recommend to book a single room in that hotel. It was extremely noisy also there was work being done on the building around the hotel. No way would anyone want to spend more time than absolutely necessary in such a room. I stayed the first night on the first room but asked to be put in a room on a higher floor which Seehof Hotel accepted. The rooms were both identical.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear COGVA

We are truly sorry you had not a good experience in our hotel.
We are planning some renovations and redecorations beginning of 2014.
Please accept our apology we know we do better and hope you will give us the chance to prove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

perfect location to take in the lake, the old town, and surrounding areas. Close to tram stop, main station, ferry pier and lots of restaurants. Only 15 mins train ride from the airport. We had a great 5 day stay and all the staff - on front desk and at breakfast - were all genuinely friendly and helpful. The price was great for Zurich and offered twin beds (which not many hotels seems to do but is great if travelling with friends.) The location was quiet although its just a short walk to the lake and the old town and lots of bars and restaurants. Overall I will remember a great stay in Zurich and would highly recommend this hotel to other visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101dawnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear 101dawnnn

Thank you very much for your nice rating.
We would be delighted to welcoming you soon back in our hotel.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Rossli
#41 of 138 in Zurich
330 reviews
Hotel Opera Zurich
#32 of 138 in Zurich
388 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sorell Hotel Rex
#40 of 138 in Zurich
383 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 138 in Zurich
877 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Address: Seehofstrasse 11 | 8008 Zurich, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $194 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prime example of slick modernity, Hotel Seehof is only a few minutes' walk from Zurich's historical old town, the famous Bahnhofstrasse and the eye-popping Opera. Visitors are instantly put at ease by the composed atmosphere of simple elegance and warm functionality. The 20 guestrooms are elegantly thought-through and aim to provide guests with a cool, clear environment in which they can fully unwind. Both leisure and business travellers feel perfectly at home here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing