We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good price but rooms are small.”
Review of KINDLI Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
KINDLI Hotel
Ranked #69 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Well located and good price but rooms are small.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Kindli Hotel is one of the best choice in Zurique costxbenefits. The only problem are the rooms. I booked a superior room hoping to have more space, but it didn't work. All the rooms are very small. Actually I didn't spend that much time at the hotel. The breakfast is wonderful with lots of options. Near the hotel you can also find good restaurants and it's near (5 minutes walk) from Bahnhofstrasse.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdietze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
44
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Having decided at short notice to attend a work conference in Zurich's Widder Hotel, it was invevitable that the Widder itself would already be full but our host recommended the Kindli which is literally just opposite and around the corner.

The entrance to the Kindli is actually on Pfalzgasse, just off the main Rennweg of the old town and one is immediately welcomed by a small but warm reception. There are surrounding clues to the care that has been put into this small establishment, like the free tea and coffee counter and the internet terminal, all tastefully embedded into the traditional Swiss interior.

The rooms are smallish in size but snugly fitted out and most amenities are available including comfy Hastens beds which are electrically reclinable. My room even had a custom made wardrobe which had obviously been fitted to the curves and corners of the room so as to conserve space. There is a modern LCD telly with all the usual international satellite channels available as well as an all important and fully functional/easy to access wifi. The bathroom is traditional but well stocked, and is again cosy but functional.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant downstairs which actually opens out in the main Rennweg and is pleasant with a wooded interior.

So all in all a good stay at a cosy Swiss hotel with an excellent location in the heart of the old town, and at much less exorbitant prices than those of the Widder I might add.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinsN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Hotel Kindli on the night before our flight from Zurich Airport to the US. We prefer small hotels, and the Kindli fits that requirement. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the train station, so quite accessible, and its location in Old Town gives opportunities to explore that area. The hotel itself is charming, the staff friendly and welcoming, the beds very comfortable, and the down pillows and duvets quite lovely. Our bathroom was clean and modern with a tub and shower combination. The rooms are small but comfortable. The price included breakfast, wi-fi and mini-bar in the room, and coffee, tea, cookies, pastries and fruit in the lobby. Breakfast is served in the lovely Kindli restaurant and includes eggs, yogurts, meusli, fruit, breads, etc. We felt that the price of the room was reasonable for Zurich. If you prefer a small hotel in Old Town, the Kindli is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 65plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

During our trip last Christmas, we did not make reservations in Zurich for the last few days before our flight out. (We had been to Zurich several times and believed that we could wing it.) So, we walked up to the Kindli and found a little jewel in Zurich. The staff was very helpful and so polite. The breakfast was delicious. The old town location cannot be beat. I read the other reviews complaining that the rooms were small, but we thought our room was fine. And, as for the price, this is reasonable given the location and compared to the other rates in Zurich.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Chose this place as the Adler was full, and the Park Hyatt and Widder were charging silly prices. Stayed for 2 nights on a weekend break with the Mrs.

Location and exterior are perfect, old fashioned Zurich house right in the old town centre - just arond the corner from Widder and Lindenhof. Can be noisy outside due to tour groups etc, but nothing too bad, it is quiet at night.

Lobby and public areas are a bit small, there is no bar, but there is a restaurant joined on to the hotel which serves nice buffet breakfast (included in the room rate). Computer/internet usage is free, and there are free snacks and drinks in the lobby.

Staff were very nice throughout our stay, and although we did not ask for anything in particular, we could see that they went out of their way to help other guests that did.

The reason I am not giving five stars is due to the room. I was quite surprised at the fairly poor standard of the decorations, and the bathroom was pretty tatty for this sort of money. I understand the attraction of traditional decor, but I do not expect cracked tiles and sink, fake wood lino on the floor, a shower that was very ineffective, and a carpet that looked straight out of a 1980's Travelodge.
Gripes over - the room itself was plenty big enough, with great views, and everything was clean. Bed was very comfy too. Just think a revamp would be in order, then it would justify the 440CHF per night price.

I would probably try somewhere else next time I visit Zurich (perhaps the Seefeld ?), but our stay here was pleasant enough.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tatty bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JCSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Mixed bag this one-

Pro's - great location - in the posh bit of the old town in old cobbled street near stunning little square and all the nicest shops. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was delicious and very lovely setting in an old panelled room. Also bed was very comfy.

Cons -we had two rooms for our family of four and both rooms were quite shabby. Lots of mixed patterns of old fashioned chinz - pink bathroom suite and green carpet. I had a peek at some other rooms and some were a bit nicer - tho' still in need of a refurb. Ours didn't look at all like the pictures on the website - much less stylish. Also rooms were small and no sitting area anywhere in the hotel or bar area - (hotel restaurant was closed when we were there),so if you want ot relax outside of your small room you need to go to a bar/ cafe down the street. The rooms were very expensive - about £180 per room - and therefore felt overpriced for the quality of the room and lack of facilities.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Sbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
318 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Frankly, if I'd have checked trip advisor before we booked the Kindli we might not have (it's kind of low down in the ratings) but we turned out to love it! Admittedly, the room was a bit small (though the television happily allowed access to the U.S. Open tennis tournament coverage via the EuroSport channel) and a bit claustrophobic (high window, noisy cobbled street outside). Bathroom was lovely, with a nice deep tub and window. I will say it was a small room....

What made the stay was two things: the staff was just great, just great. Couldn't have been more welcoming to this Finnish and American couple. Second? The location is divine. Love the old town, it's close to everything (we just walked and walked and walked) and we found a lovely French bistro restaurant around the corner for dinner that was a prize (can't remember the name but the hotel recommended it).

One really nice touch was breakfast. It was a substantial European spread. I'm not a big coffee drinker and so I asked for diet Coke, fully expecting to be presented with a bill. In fact I asked for two. And there was no bill. That was nice....

We'd go back in a heartbeat but I would book a better room (and would pay accordingly with no problem). It must be stated that we arranged our trip to Zurich at the last minute so weren't exactly in the catbird's seat in terms of choosing rooms!

We read about this small hotel on Karen Brown (she writes travel guides in the U.S. that cover Europe and America) website (it led us as well to a fabulous place in Lucerne, which was our home for the following two nights on our summer mini-break; that review is already posted). Great. We're planning a return trip next summer (though if airfares are reasonable may try Geneva this time around). Just because!

  • Liked — warm staff, lovely building
  • Disliked — room was too small for two!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#49 of 139 in Zurich
160 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
381 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
846 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 139 in Zurich
925 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#82 of 139 in Zurich
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KINDLI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KINDLI Hotel

Property: KINDLI Hotel
Address: Pfalzgasse 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#42 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KINDLI Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KINDLI is situated by the Lindenhof in the middle of Zurich’s old town, within short walking distance of the famous Bahnhofstrasse and elegant boutiques. Our charming city hotel conveys the atmosphere of a private residence to all its guests. Twenty rooms and six business apartments, are individually designed and convey simple elegance and warmth. The greatest care was taken to provide our guests with every comfort for a good night’s rest and a great start to the day with an excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your KINDLI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Zum Kindli zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing