We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable stay”
Review of Widder Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Widder Hotel
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
chelmsford
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
Reviewed December 19, 2008

We had booked a kingsize deluxe room and expected a big bed and frescoes/tapestries and/or antiques. Everything in our room (608) was brand new, with no sense of the old. Also the bed was not very big at all. It was a nice room, but for CHF900 I expected something really outstanding. We were shown another room which was much larger, but it overlooked a courtyard and it was really rather bleak. Our room had three windows two with very nice views over the rooftops, but you could not sit and look out, the room was narrow with a seating area at one end and the bed in the middle of the room, no headboard, no clock and no bedside tables. The best part of the room was a huge outside balcony, but it was December! Get this room in the summer.

The best part of the hotel is the bar, it was always busy with a fantastic atmosphere, the staff will get you a table and be extremely personable while doing it. The staff here were truly magnificent, nothing was too much trouble and you felt that that really wanted you to be comfortable and happy, they are proud of their hotel. Breakfast was good, if expensive, bathroom above average with good lighting. The hairdryer was so awful I went out and bought one, why do you have to keep your finger pressed on the on button? My hair straighteners wouldn't work here either. All the public spaces are beautiful, the area is good for shopping and restaurants, but most bars seem to be over the river on the Neiderdorf, cross the river and turn 2nd left.

Zurich is one of the best cities in Europe, no doubt, the people are certainly the most hospitable, loved it.

  • Liked — The bar and staff
  • Disliked — Narrow room, small bed
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank labarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    49
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
56
157
29
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

The design and decoration of the hotel feels forced and the room service and cleaning service is overly zealous, constantly calling and entering the room despite being asked to come back later. The food (room service) is only average and it is impossible to find anything (minibar or safe) in the room since everything has been cleverly hidden in odd places. The lift is lovely, though, and so is the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

Located in the center of Zurich (1 km from train station), this really beautiful hotel does everything well :
1. A wonderful design, mixing traditionnal and contemporary styles with elegance. The hotel was built in the middle of the 90's, and it still looks very modern and clean
2. Every room is specific, and mine (room 308) was really pleasant : nice leather furnitures, B&O equipment (2 flat screens and 1 hi-fi), ... I just consider the bathroom to be a bit "old-fashioned".
3. The service meets every expectation : "clés d'or" concierge, experienced staff, ... this is even the first time I was offered a set of business cards with my name and my room phone number when arriving at the hotel !
4. The jazz bar is very famous and hosted a lot of celebrities. Furthermore, they have an incredible choice of Whiskeys.

I got only 1 concern : the breakfast. Atlhough the service was still excellent, there is no "buffet-style" breakfast and you have to pay 25 CHF for an orange juice, a coffee and a set of "vienoiseries"... It could have been more sexy.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mcharbonnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

This hotel offers everthing one would expect from the Swiss and more. What makes this hotel unique is having been built inside eight medieval homes. The houses were refurbished over many years under strict guidelines. As a result this hotel is very different from other hotels. Each floor, each house on each floor and each room is different, each with its own character.

Service is cordial and puncutal. I ordered room service and ate in the hotel restaurant once. Both were very good.

I will definetely make a point of staying here again nexy time I'm in Zurich.

  • Liked — Design
  • Disliked — Gym
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Luxury47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Returned a few weeks ago from another stay at the Widder and had a lovely weekend. The restaurant is still excellent although the service at breakfast was a bit slow. It is true that the gym isn't very big and if I went to the gym on holiday I would probably be disappointed. Prefer the older style rooms but again a lovely relaxing stay at Widder. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scottish8traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

I'm a seasoned international traveler, and usually stay in 5 star hotels. After a recent 3 night stay at the Widder (June 2007) I think I now have a new standard to compare all other city hotels to.

It is exceptional in every way. The attention to detail in the room design / decor is incredible. I've never uttered so many "wows' in a hotel ;-) The bathroom fixtures, the incredible Bang and Olufsen AV controls, lighting fixtures etc..

The way the Widder has created a modern (indeed hip) hotel out of several connected medieval homes in the middle of old-town Zurich is remarkable. Breakfast is served in a naturally lit, glass-top room. Dinner is in a small, cozy room that has perhaps only 10 tables.

Even though we all found Zurich to lack much energy and vitality, and in fact to be somewhat of a boring tourist destination - the Widder itself is almost reason enough for a visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank bretthodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stayed at the Widder on a recent business trip to Zurich and had high expectations after reading some of the reviews on this site and I have to say I was quite disappointed by the experience.

The decor was nice and the room I stayed in had nice furniture. Also the service was scrupulously polite and excellent. However, the things that matter to me the most as a traveller were precisely the things the hotel was sorely lacking in.

Internet access was not complimentary but I have been made to understand that this is an European thing. Somehow paying $5 for 30 mins of internet access seemed a bit excessive.

Also, for a hotel that costs this much, the fitness room was sorely lacking. It consisted of a treadmill, a bike and an ab roller. I was quite disappointed by that as I do work out every morning.

However, the icing on the cake was when I requested tampons from housekeeping and upon checking out noticed that no only had I been billed for the tampons, but they had been itemized on my bill as tampons! I found this to be in extraordinarily poor taste. At the very least bill them as miscellanous or personal. And if you must charge your guests for tampons that are clearly purchased under duress, for God's sake, provide good quality ones.

All in all, I doubt that I'll be staying at the Widder again. I did not find it good value for money and I was comfortable certainly, but not to the extent that I expected $500 a night to bring me.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank ao6gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolder Grand
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widder Hotel

Property: Widder Hotel
Address: Rennweg 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Widder Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Widder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widder Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing