We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Widder Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$326
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
$283
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$254
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$348
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$569
$444
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$298
$288
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$354
$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swissotel Zurich(Zurich)
$213
$165
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$507
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
464
56
17
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
56
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswidder baraugust restaurantold townwooden beamshigh techcobbled streetschurch bellsroof terracegreat designwonderful hotelupgraded to a suitememorable stayfavorite hotelthe location is perfectsitting areaother hotelsbaur au lac
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 548 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are regular guests there and rooms and service are difficult to beat. For those not used the church bells can be loud in the morning - but that's about it in terms of potential challenges. Great place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steinersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Twenty years ago the Widder was converted from nine different townhouses into a modern hotel. The result is an establishment that looks small but is actually large. You wouldn't think so when you first enter it, but the Widder has several bars and restaurants, meeting rooms, a library, business centre, gym, even a museum. (Alas, no pool or spa, but you can't have everything!)

We were upgraded to a suite that's as large as our London pied-a-terre. Modern chairs and sofas sit alongside antique armoires; the walls are panelled in dark wood (mahogany?). The bathroom is modern with plenty of room for two people. Both the sitting room and bedroom have air conditioning, an absolute godsend when the temperature hit the high 80s F. Everything in the mini-bar was included in the price of the room. (In hindsight, we should have taken the Toblerone before we left!) I could of course complain about the king bed that's actually two single beds pushed together, and the too-soft pillows. But these are a feature of nearly every hotel in Switzerland, so it seems fair just to accept them.

The Widder isn't on the river or lake, so you don't get much of a view. But it is in the middle of Zurich's picturesque Old Town. We enjoyed strolling around during the warm summer evenings, before and after dinner. You could easily walk to a restaurant, but we chose to stay in the hotel for all of our meals, which we ate outdoors in the courtyard. It meant that we never experienced the hotel's famous bar or its other restaurants, but I'm sure they're wonderful when the weather turns cold.

The conversion has stood the test of time. It looks like it was done yesterday, and it will probably still look great in twenty years. The Swiss know how to create things that last! Everything about this hotel feels substantial; nothing is flimsy or cheap, so there's no need to update the interiors every 18 months. Now THAT's living the "green" ethos.

If we return to Zurich, it'll be a toss-up between the Widder and the Storchen, where we also stayed. (See my separate review.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Widder is a wonderful boutique hotel with all of the latest amenities. It is centrally situated in the heart of Zurich where everything including the infamous Banhofstrassee world famous street is only steps away from the hotel. At the wider you will find a very accommodating and friendly staff ready to serve your every beacon call. I would however caution anyone with disabilities to be certain of their choice when choosing the wider because it is not disability friendly. The floors have ridges in their design which protrude up about 2 inches out of the floor and could trip someone with a walking challenge! Also, the king bed is not a true king but two beds put together with a hump in the middle, so much for intimacy with your loved one! That being said however, I was very impressed with the design, the staff and the food and would have given it a five save for the above mentioned concerns! The widder hotel is a nice find.

Room Tip: Make sure when renting a suite that you do not allow them to put you in A07 because it is on the bottom floor and everyone cooking above can look right down into your room!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redryder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

One of the best hotels I stayed in. And I stayed in hundreds of hotels in my live.

Quite ordinary looking from the outside but outstanding design inside. Every room is different. Modern design mixed with traditional swiss style. Very stylish.

Our room had dark wood paneling on the wall and ceiling, furniture was glass and metal. Bang and Olufsen audio.

Great service too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Once you find the hotel, you will be pleasantly greeted by the kind and professional staff. The room we had was at the very back of the hotel with a nice view of the street outside, the room itself was open and spacious, the work desk could be separated from the bedroom by a curtain which is perfect for when my husband gets up early to work. We had a nice living room area in the room, tv, stereo, closet space, everything was really nice. The attention to detail is impeccable. The breakfast room is bright with a glass roof, unique and wonderful again. The Widder Bar is a must experience especially if you like your scotch! I highly recommend experiencing this hotel! If I find my photos I will add them later.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funjoy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews