We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On of the best memories”
Review of Widder Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Widder Hotel
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Москва, Россия
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“On of the best memories”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was there twice and hope to come back. Fantastic..!!! Nothing to add just miss that time. Take a 2 level room wtih an exit to the roof to enjoy the bells. High level service and professional staff....Very good location... if you plan to leave the hotel during your stay:) You have to explore Widder..........

Room Tip: Take a 2 level room wtih an exit to the roof to enjoy the bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    50
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
58
166
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Widder Hotel is a beautiful hotel in center of Zurich and only a few steps away from the Banhhofstrasse. We had a deluxe room which was very spacious, tastefully decorated with a mix of traditional and modern artwork and filled with original pieces of designer furniture. A decent quality roll away bed, a child-sized bath robe, sweets and a gift were all provided for our 2 year old son who was travelling with us which I thought was a nice touch.

The service is exemplary and all the staff we encountered went out of their way to make out stay a pleasant one. As we were celebrating birthday during the stay, the hotel presented me with a great customised box of Sprüngli Grand Cru chocolates which was very much appreciated.

Breakfast is a relatively simply affair with the usual choice of continental options (included in the rate over the weekend) though you need to pay for any hot extras which is a bit of a disappointment given the cost of the rooms.

We didn’t eat dinner at the hotel though have heard good things about the food from friends and family in Zurich. Valet parking was 40CHF per night which isn’t bad value considering the location of the hotel.

The Widder Hotel is an expensive hotel but this isn’t a cheap city and is on par with other 5 star hotels in Zurich. What sets it apart is the boutique nature of the hotel, attention to detail and high quality service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeAficionado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited on business and chose the hotel partly because of recommendations from colleagues but also because of its very central location in a charming old part of the city. Our colleague and we were both upgraded to historic rooms overlooking a quiet cobbled street. Parts of the centuries old building still decorated the rooms - ours had an elaborate blue and white ceramic tiled stove chimney, now housing part of the central heating. Hers had original wall frescoes and both rooms had original stone window columns in them. Ours had a big bay window with the workdesk in it. Bathrooms were spacious and tolteries good. Mini bars were stocked with complimentary soft drinks, beer and the obligatory Toblerone. Breakfast was excellent, and this being a business city was served as quickly as one needed. WE were very pleased that we had chosen this atmospheric hotel with lots of persaonl tpuches and great service rather than the many faceless business hotels in this city. It would be ideal for a holiday trip as well as for business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

When Park Hyatt in Zurich is fully booked, I stay in Widder.
Small, luxury butique hotel.
Fabulous place - ancient building fitted by the contemporary furniture.
Service - first class. Location - can not be more central.
Nice whiskey bar for casual meetings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilondvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

.....which still retains a lot of charm. Rooms very good indeed (the free upgrade never hurts), service no complaints. Bar very pleasant....pricey but then this is Switzerland. Shame up not here for longer.....

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SW11family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stay here whenever there's availability on my trips to Zurich - the rooms are so adorable and cozy, the place is quiet and composed, and the staff are excellent. Location is brilliant too. Can recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexicana555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked the Widder to celebrate New Year's Eve due to the great reviews and fantastic location.

On arrival, the staff were a little rattled and appeared understaffed. We received a glass of champagne due to the wait which was a nice touch and made up for the lethargic service.

We were provided an upgrade to a junior suit, which was again a nice touch but the room left a lot to be desired. We had asked for a double room, and we were given a twin bed which is not what I would expect for a stated double room in a 5 star hotel. The management changed this to a French bed, but it wasn't a good way to start.

The room was large, clean and had a good view to the courtyard. General decoration seemed confused between old and new with no real solution. This trend seems to be one the hotel itself is fighting with throughout the majority of its rooms.

We had heard a lot about the Widder bar, and whilst the bar has a modern decor and reasonable service, the entertainment for New Year's Eve was terrible. This consisted of a gentleman singing along to backing tunes, which felt more like a cruise ship than a swanky bar in Zurich.

Overall, we had hoped the Widder would be a great experience due to the reviews. However service, hotel decor, style and substance left a lot to be desired.

For the price, I would certainly think twice about staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
759 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
659 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
777 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 139 in Zurich
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widder Hotel

Property: Widder Hotel
Address: Rennweg 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#9 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Widder Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Widder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widder Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing