We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel in the heart of Zurich”
Review of Widder Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Widder Hotel
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This has to rate as the best hotel I have stayed in. The building has been beautifully renovated with a blend of period and contemporary features and furnishings and is located in the old part of the city. The staff are friendly and helpful, the service is excellent and our overall experience was exceptional. However, if you're visiting Switzerland from the UK it's very expensive. Prices in bars and restaurants are about 50% higher than London!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StreamsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Widder Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 483 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Looking from the outside maybe wouldnt let you expect what a wonderful hotel it is, i can not find any thing to complain about.
Room, service, friendly and helpfull staff, clean enviroment, little details and location are the best you could find in Zurich. Will definetly come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoOoS-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wow! Stayed at another so called '5 star hotel' in Zurich, but that was such a depressing environment, that I left it and booked a room in the Widder!
Very central, very personal, perfect to explore the city and do some shopping!
Loved the personal business cards they give after you've checked in!
The bar is absolutely top! Very nice staff!

Room Tip: I had room 303, was great! Very, very spacious, nice furniture! But I guess all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCLGRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A 10 minute walk from Zurich Hauptbahnhof and a short distance to the lake, this hotel was a pleasant surprise. A tasteful blend of the old and the new, I found myself secretly wanting to skip my meetings to enjoy my room and the facilities (can't remember the last time I wanted to do that!). But beyond the spacious room, the in-room Bang & Olufsen stereo and flat-screen TV, the cool halogen lamps with moveable mirrors to focus light or the huge bath towels (among other things), it was the impeccable service and lots of nice little touches that made my stay memorable -- things like leaving a shirt on my bed in the morning to find it carefully hung up when I returned in the evening, or remembering m favorite table at breakfast.

Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klavier_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Swiss service is unpeccable! Not a word can be said otherwise.
The room we stayed in has just been renovated. It was spacious and beautifuly furnished.
The thing was: it was partially bellow street level.
Bedroom windows faced some roofs upstairs and living room windows faced the bar service area from the main level restaurant.
Don't want to see that in winter! If it was dark inside the room at summertime...
Be sure to stay at an upper floor.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

A number of very old buildings transformed into a hotel with a quite modern interior, absolutely unique! Very charming courtyard + a beautiful bar with live jazz & a huge whisky selection which the bartenders reach via a slidable ladder.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromDtotheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed there in June and it was such an amzaing hotel that I have to write about it.
I requested an early check in as we were arriving literally at the crack of dawn, to my amazement we were given a room as we arrived, a beautiful room I may add!!

The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to most central spots in Zurich. The rooms were luxurious and decadent, yet still held the old world charm. The architecture was spectacular, the way it was so modern yet it maintains the historic parts of the building/s.
The staff were great and the evening "turn down" service was fabulous.

Great bar and breakfast room, we were treated so well by everyone

Our room was just huge and had views of the city below. I would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23,041,972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
790 reviews
Baur au Lac
#2 of 138 in Zurich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 138 in Zurich
893 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
223 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widder Hotel

Address: Rennweg 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#9 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $564 - $861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Widder Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Widder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widder Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing