We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So interesting”

Swiss National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.37*
and up
Swiss National Museum Admission and Classic Trolley Sightseeing Tour in Zurich
Ranked #16 of 207 things to do in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Museum enjoys a central position just a minute’s walk from the main railway station in Zurich. The museum is one of the attractions of this city on the River Limmat. Gustav Gull’s listed building from the 19th century has been extended with the addition of a new building designed by architects Christ & Gantenbein and completed in summer 2016. The museum showcases the history of Switzerland from its early beginnings until the present day in the permanent exhibitions “Archaeology in Switzerland”, “History of Switzerland” and “Collections Gallery”. Every year, there are also several temporary exhibitions and an impressive fringe programme, offering everything from debates to workshops.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So interesting”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Such an interesting museum about the history of Switzerland, we also found the English speaking guides extremely well informed and helpful. I especially liked the history about the industry in Switzerland and of course about the banking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    306
    133
    25
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting and worth a visit”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our day at the museum - it was a perfect way to spend a rainy day in Zurich. I knew very little about Switzerland's rich and extensive history before my visit, and left with a better understanding of the histories of its people. The museum was well set out and we were able to follow it quite easily without missing anything. There are plenty of rest stops along the way, and books to read while you are waiting for someone to catch up to you (everyone can go at their own pace). The fairytale exhibit was fun, but I was a little disappointed the gift shop was so small and didn't offer a larger range of keepsakes for purchase. I would have bought a poster collection of the 'Alice in Wonderland' exhibition if there was one, or anything else along those lines.
But still, definitely worth the visit. Take your time. Enjoy :-)

Helpful?
2 Thank ZovoMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Europe 1900-1914”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a wonderful special showing that looks at Europe in the period leading up to WWI. Lots to see and easily viewed. As a historian by education, I can recommend it highly. Lots of artifacts, lots of pictures and film. It's a great hour or two. There is also a "greatest hits of the museum" right now, so in less than an hour and all in one place, you can see the treasures of the museum. It was an afternoon well spent for us!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and Interesting Museum of Swiss History”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was a very nice museum. There were interesting artifacts and a focus on certain times in Swiss history. I really enjoyed the exhibits on the reformation, mercenaries, immigration and banking. The museum is not too small or too large. I surprisingly spent a little over 2 hours there picking and choosing what I wanted to read more about.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLori20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Choose It case of interest or time”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We visited there because it was free with Zurich card however I don't recommend that if you don't have more than two days time just for Zurich. It's worth visiting if you are eager to visiting museum otherwise there are nice scenarios that you may like more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss National Museum also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Swiss National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing