We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera House Zurich”
Review of Opernhaus Zurich

Opernhaus Zurich
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.73*
and up
Zurich Highlights Tour
Ranked #20 of 209 things to do in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous performance hall, built in the late 19th century, hosts frequent dramatic and musical events.
Dublin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Opera House Zurich”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I find that the Opera House Zurich it looks the same like Romanian Athenaeum, but is worth seeing. A really nice building just beside the Zurich Lake.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SebastianDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    92
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Trouble in Tahiti”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A most pleasant evening watching the short one act opera, Trouble in Tahiti (Bernstein). Highly recommend a visit if you want a chilled night out. You can enjoy a stroll along the water edge (nearby) or go for a meal in the Bel Canto restaurant next door. (Just check out their prices first as it's not cheap!)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of the World's Great Opera Houses”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a must-see for opera lovers. The house is a beautiful 19th century jewel with superb acoustics. It features world-class operas and performers. Very, very elegant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“beautiful setting for an opera”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We saw La Traviata here with Renee Fleming. It was my first time to this opera house as we live in Basel. No comparison. I love the old world charm of this place and cannot wait to go back as it is situated right near the Lake in Zurich.

Helpful?
Thank barryinc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just go”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

can't say much about it because my memories about it are a bit blurry but I remember the good feeling I had there. If you love nice stages, chose a piece you want to see and buy your tickets! :)

Helpful?
Thank ailingm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opernhaus Zurich also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Opernhaus Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing