We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Steak in Zurich”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goodman Steak House - CLOSED

Goodman Steak House
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Zurich”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well worth a visit, select your steak after the waiter has shown you the steaks, explained the cuts, just choose your size and how you want it cooked. Try the truffle potatoes, delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    68
    21
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awfully slow service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having eaten here several times before, my expectations were pretty high. We had to wait for our burgers for over 45 minutes and they were totally over-cooked.

For the time being, I will stick to the Korner Burger round the corner from Goodman which is very reliable.

A great shame. When you charge such prices the service and food must match.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swissmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Finding a great steakhouse outside the us is a hard thing, but Goodman manages to create the authentic feel and has the food and service to match. Great place where the staff goes out of their way to give you a great experience. Warmly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Steaks - Services could be better”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went for a business dinner on a Tuesday evening which was not very busy. Services was somewhat slow and even forgot to take order from one of the guest in our group.
Food itself was very nice and definitely a good place for a steak.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rpitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not really what it pretends to be”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went there with two colleagues for a nice end of year dinner. As word on the street is, that it's a quite decent place, we didn't hesitate and booked a table.
After he recommended to get something big to share, we thought this would actually be a good idea and selected the bone aged sirloin and the US filet. To be honest, I was a bit surprised that this place is using pre-cut steaks, so that they have not been able to bring the sizes we wished, but just the ones they have on offer - and are not sold out. We therefore took what was available and ordered medium-rare, expecting a restaurant that is selling steaks for a living would cook it to perfection. However, the sirloin was overcooked and the filet with a raw, cold centre. As it was already cut, it was also not really an option sending it back for some more moments on the grill. Expecting a top class meat quality, we did also not bother too much about the undercooked meat. As it turned out, quality is fairly average. Definitly not better than what you get in each and every supermarket.
Wine list was ok, but many of the wines are overpriced as well. Ended up drinking an amazing Riesling to start with and an solid Spanish red.

But hey, if I have to write about the wine when rating a steakhouse, there's something seriously wrong, not?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gomess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodman Steak House also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing