We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice location, nice price”
Review of Hotel Marta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marta
Ranked #1 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked at the last minute and stayed here for one night. Location is very good - close to main train station, close to central tram station, and within the old town. The room was fairly big, comfortable bed. Didn't have all the amenities you would expect (no safe, no hot water pot in the room). Breakfast was a bit underwhelming.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank standerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights on a business trip which included time for sightseeing and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff are professional, friendly and extremely helpful. The interior décor shows great attention to detail with modern well maintained rooms. The open areas retain some classic 1950s architectural features such as the circular staircase and open internal floor walkways. All kept exceptionally clean.

Breakfast was well laid out, food and drink great quality. The breakfast room is on the first floor and was airy with a view of the street which is refreshing as they are often in basement areas. The food suited me perfectly. Cereals, yoghurt, fruit, breads, boiled eggs, nice coffee, fruit juice, cold meats and cheese. Do not expect 'bacon and fried eggs' and you will not be disappointed.

The view from the 6th floor room I had overlooking the old town was spectacular. The room was quiet at night although I believe in the summer time you can expect to hear people socialising outside. The rooms on the other side of the hotel do experience some traffic noise.

The central location of this hotel can not be beaten.

I loved this hotel.

Room Tip: My sixth floor room facing the old town had a spectacular view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sennenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Zurich is an expensive town. So are the hotels there. Looking for an affordable hotel we spotted Hotel Marta. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of town. It has spotless rooms which are small but have everything you might need. Breakfast is modest and so is the decoration of the hotel, allthough the architecture is something special. The hotel is run by a womans organisation, helping poor and needy women. The staff was quite warm and friendly, which we reakky appreciated. We can recommend Hotel Marta to anyone who is not addicted to expensive and luxurious hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Han B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you are not looking for 4- 5 stars hotel and you're on a budget, this is a great place to consider. Staffs were friendly. Our room was clean and bigger than expected. Good location and convenient. Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liyana_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hotel Marta value for money for expensive cities. 5 mins walk from main station & old town. Room are simple and clean. Across the bridge have a Coop supermarket.
I've booked economy room for 2 adult and 1 3yrs old boy, when we check in the staff upgrade us to standard room plus with the same price as i book. So touched and grateful to the staff who served us.
If got chance we will back stayed there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EvelynJk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was really happy to find this hotel after looking at other reviews and prices of various places in Zurich. It is so close to the train station and easy to find, and so easy to walk around the city. The double room was actually a lot bigger than I expected. Nice that the rates can include breakfast too, I didn't find it any hassle to have to move my bowl and plate over to a trolley, and the selection is plenty good enough. The late check out time of 12pm is a bonus which I haven't seen often.
we are here in winter and the room temperatures are great - adjustable radiator. However, in summer, I can see that it could be pretty noisy if you needed windows open for airflow.
Basically, exceeded expectations. Not luxury, but great when you are out most of the day but still want somewhere friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was here in a double room with a friend.
This is a very nice and not expensive hotel in the centre of the city! Perfect position, 3 min from the station and very easy to find.
Rooms are very clean and confortable. The breakfast is simple but very good with fresh food.
It is also close to many restaurants and pub!
From here you can quikly reach tram station, the river, the lake and all the monuments!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariru89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
808 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#24 of 138 in Zurich
594 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#43 of 138 in Zurich
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marta

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 36, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: $143 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marta 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing