We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location ... its saving grace”
Review of Hotel Marta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marta
Ranked #1 of 47 Zurich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the second time I am staying at Martahaus, as it was known 12 years ago. Having had a fesh coat of paint and some renovation, the rooms have improved somewhat, but still rather small. The double bed was of decent size, the bathroom small by comparison. The wardrobe was without doors and there is no room safe to keep your valuables. No coffee-making facilities as well. But you can have free flow of hot drinks at the reception 24 hr. However, free access to WIFI is a plus point. The breakfast was very simple but filling. Where else can you get breakfast for a 2 star hotel? Contrary to some reviewers, the room was not that noisy at night despite being a weekend. But I must say I asked for a room with windows facing the back, looking down on the main street. It was noisy becos of traffic; but the noise is minimal is you shut the glass windows. There are restaurants nearby but can be pricey. I prefer the restaurants within the main railway station which is the main saving grace for this 2 star hotel. The rate is not cheap, even during "low season". However, we only came back for showers and to sleep. The rest of the day we were out on excursions to the outskirts of Zurich. There are at least two guided tour groups for you to book your tours, and they are located (behind the railway station) about 15 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as it is quite popular among family groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinMan0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 539 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff at Hotel Marta were very helpful. We exchanged a few emails even before we arrived and they answered all our queries quickly and efficiently. During our stay they helped us with directions and information about local sightseeing and transportation. The location is great; very close to the Tram station and Train station.

The breakfast could have been more exhaustive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldpatagoniaexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

You can't argue with a clean, comfortable and inexpensive hotel smack bang in the middle of an expensive city like Zurich. Hotel Marta was five minutes walk from the main railway station, so less than twenty minutes from the airport once you've cleared customs etc (using the regular, fast and efficient train services), and was a very nice place to stay.
The hotel was modern, shiny and clean. The receptionist(s) were very helpful, very friendly and English speaking (a great relief when I, shamefully, didn't speak any German at all). The room was compact (I booked a single room as I was on my own) and perfectly adequate for my one night stay. The bed was clean and comfortable and the room had good lighting and serviceable storage, although you would not be able to unpack a week's worth of clothes, on a longer stay, as wardrobe space was limited. The shower room (no bath) was excellent. I do not have a bath at home so did not miss one and the shower was the best I have ever experienced in any hotel, at any price, in any country. This sounds over the top, but being well over six foot and having stooped under plenty of cold, low pressured, dirty or blocked showers in my time this was heaven. It was also pleasing to be able to open the hotel window and listen to the world pass by, and breathe the air. So many hotels, now, lock their windows or have fixed stays for H&S or (guessing) suicide reasons that it's pleasing to be treated like a responsible adult for a change and actually be trusted to open my own window.....well done Switzerland.
Breakfast, which was included, was a serve yourself continental affair, but very good. Plenty of coffee and juices. An adequate selection of cereals, breads and cold meats and cheeses etc. Sit where you want and eat what you want. Couldn't ask for more really.
So all in all very good and if you're just hopping over to Switzerland for a night or two this hotel will be perfect.

Room Tip: The hotel was very reasonable, but don't be fooled Zurich is a very expensive place to visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_barksandbytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I read the reviews here before making a decision. I did it before this trip, too - now I can second all the previous positive reviews.
Perfect location - 5 minutes from the railway station, in the old part of the town, close to all important for the tourist destinations.
Small, basic (I don't count this as negative) modern, clean rooms - absolutely enough for a tourist, who is out during the day.
Very polite and helpful staff.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TennisFanBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

In a very convinient position since its 5 minutes walk by the train Station of Zurich! It's in the old city were all the restaurants and bars are!!! The rooms are small and there is no closet only few hungers! But if you are there for business it doesn't really matter though. The reception girls are very polite!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiriaki_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel Location is very convenient and the has reasonable price (Zurich centre standard)
However the Poor and unfriendly staff are cons.
The hotel is at prostitution area. If you concern the safety issue, you should not stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Although this hotel is functional, plain and simple, everything in it is of high quality and there's a friendly atmosphere. The staff are most helpful and kind, the rooms are unadorned but with comfortable beds and pristine new bathrooms. There is a guest computer and compllmentary tea around the clock in the lobby. The breakfast choice is comparatively simple but again of high quality, plentiful and perfectly substantial. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
866 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 137 in Zurich
1,049 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Montana
#46 of 137 in Zurich
966 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
#10 of 137 in Zurich
287 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#29 of 137 in Zurich
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marta

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 36, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: $132 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marta 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing