We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for that price in Zurich”
Review of Hotel Marta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marta
Ranked #1 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very nice, cosy hotel in the city center. Nice staff, great breakfast, very clean small rooms. Tip: book rooms on the upper floors - great city view included

Room Tip: Book rooms on the upper floors - great city view included
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our group tour to Zurich. Cheap and clean with smiling staff. They had a deal of paying for 2 nights and stay for 3 that made the price very pleasant. The rooms against the street is a little noisy but the location made up for it. 5 min from the railwaystation and the restaurants and bars one street down.

Room Tip: The top rooms against the city has wonderful views
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

With a perfect location near the central train station and in the old part of town, the Hotel Marta was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Although a little like a university residence room with its fairly spartan fittings, the room was much better looked after! A great location for the few hours we had to wander round that part of the city. Nice up on the sixth floor (easy lift access).

As other reviewers have said, you will be handed a remote control for your TV, but that didn't bother us (and we didn't watch TV, anyway). Also, having purchased a travel plug adaptor for recharging camera batteries and mobile phone, I found it didn't fit in the room sockets (thanks a lot Boots). However, the hotel reception had a cupboard full of appropriate adaptors and I was happy to hand over a returnable deposit of 20 euros to use one for the night.

Breakfast was exceptional. Not sure if it is typical of Zurich.Swiss hotel breakfasts, but given that this is a 'budget' hotel (in Zurich terms), we were more than impressed with what was on offer and the immaculate presentation. Yes the room again was fairly spartan, but the quality and choice of food was outstanding - cold meats, cheeses, fresh whole loaves of bread to slice yourself, croissants, yoghurts, jams, honey, cereals, fruit juices, fruit, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and probably something I've forgotten!

I say great for a night stop-over, but I think we'd be happy staying there for several days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We booked Hotel Marta as it was close to the railway station and we were taking an early morning train on to Milan. It is clean, comfortable, modern unfussy decor with pleasant efficient staff. Our room had a view of the river and city. It is very centrally placed so in the short time we had there we were able to walk around the old city and admire the buildings and get a good dinner nearby. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soundtravellerLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It's very close to the train station -- and this is something I always look for. You have just to go down a street to be in the pedestrian area of the old town.

Room was pretty small (one had to jump over the other to get out of the bed!), bathroom was good, breakfast was good enough to us.

I strongly suggest to stay in a room facing the front of the hotel -- the ones facing the back must be noisy. I don't think it's a budget hotel -- I guess nothing is really "budget" in Switzerland. Staff was very friendly all the time. Overall I say I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front of the hotel -- the ones facing the back must be noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mconstantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Excellent location, with 5 minutes walk from main railway station and city's main shopping street. Surrounded by nice old town buildings and lots of bars and restaurants. Extremely clean and recently completely refurbished. Good breakfast, definitely more than you would expect from a formally one-star hotel. Finally, this is a value for money option, taking into account average accommodation prices in this expensive city/ country.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms facing Zaehringerstrasse have wonderful big windows, adding a lot to room's i...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Super location, five minute walk from main train station and in great area for restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff, large lobby, good breakfast. Rooms are comfortable...a gem of a hotel for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sluffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
811 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 138 in Zurich
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 138 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#25 of 138 in Zurich
594 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#40 of 138 in Zurich
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marta

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 36, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: $143 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marta 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing