We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Very Trustful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very close to the train station, cozy, and dedicated personnel.
I had a problem on my schedule, and forgot to checkout in time, when I came back to the hotel, my bags where packed, and ready to go! It saved me a lot of time.
I certainly would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 411 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night before taking an early morning flight from Zürich. The location right off the Bahnhofstrasse is excellent. The hotel itself occupies the upper floors of a typical Zürichois building. Being just metres from the Bahnhofstrasse means that there is no shortage of restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NMcPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We only stayed here one night prior to an early flight home following a trip to Zermatt. We booked a Junior Suite (118) and we were very happy with the size of the room, the very eclectic furnishings, and the especially comfortable bed (although the flat pillows were disappointing). The bathroom was on the small side, however, and the shower just a one person stall with a rather flimsy curtain.

The location was outstanding and very easy to find when exiting the train station. With the river, the lake, shopping, restaurants, and much more so close (like several Starbucks), we would definitely stay here again upon returning to Zürich!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jaxandmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I really liked the room which, although small, was stylishly decorated, had perfectly comfortable bed and nice, clean (but very tiny) bathroom. I cannot imagine better location is Zürich - just few steps from the Bahnhofstrasse, very close to the old city and the main train station, a bit far from the lake but its just a walking distance. This is truly a place I can recommend and will consider while visiting the city for the next time.

The tiny "but" is only about the very friendly but rather unorganised and extremely slow receptionist guy. I honestly had almost fallen asleep while he was trying the check us in and later when we ask him for some tourist advice I really wished I didn't ask for help. But no worries, he was positively friendly and finally provide some useful tipps, but perhaps a cup of coffee would be a nice tip for him.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank me_not_likey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great location just 3 minutes walk from the train station and main shopping area. About 5 minutes walk from the old town. Reserved two small doubles which were fine for single occupancy although it would have been a bit tight for a couple. The shower room was very small. There wasn't really enough shelf space for toiletries although they'd tried by putting a shelf underneath the sink. The towels were VERY small (only one 1.5ft x 1ft & a small hand towel). The Molton Brown soaps & cream were a nice touch. Small flat screen TV with a good range of channels: BBC 1 & 2, Channel Four, CNN and Al Jazeera English. They also had a DVD player with a library of films to borrow from reception. The plugs were all Swiss plugs which do not fit European adapters but reception was able to provide converters. The clock radio had a socket to recharge iphone4. The bed was comfortable and had nice quality sheets & duvet but the pillows were far too soft with virtually no stuffing in them at all. One room had a small safe but the other didn't. There were no coffee or tea making facilities in the room - for that you had to go up to the 5th floor reception. Wifi was free and worked well. Breakfast was in a small kitchenette area with juices, tea & coffee and croissants. The staff were friendly and helped print out check-in boarding passes and train times.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central courtyard will be disturbed by the rubbish bin collection at 4am. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Could not be in a better position,3 minute walk to main train station and really on top of the main shopping area. Such friendly staff, love the lounge where you can get coffee and breakfast, just great value. Would have given it full marks,but really could do with bigger bath towels, and good pillows, would use this Hotel again though.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank DannyJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for having chosen our Boutique Hotel Townhouse in Zurich. It makes us happy to read that you were satisfied with the value of what we offer. We are currently testing different types of pillows for a replacement as most of our guests seem to request a firm pillow. Please note that upon request we can provide bigger towels. So we hope to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you further happy travels and all the best,
Kind regards,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas, I chose it primarily because we were arriving by train and it's only two minutes away in the middle of the shopping area.

As previously noted, reception is on the 5th floor and is a slightly strange affair - this place has been lovingly converted but was clearly once an office block I would imagine. Don't let this put you off, the rooms are good, the beds wonderfully comfortable (and I'm fussy) and the facilities decent for the price. Who would expect Molton Brown products in the bathroom at these prices,?

Tea and Coffee are free while you have to write what alcoholic beverages you consume in a notebook to be totted up for payment on departure, prices are decent too by Swiss standards (my wallet is still aching..).

All in all we were happy with our two rooms here, it was crazily busy outside as it was just before Christmas but it's much quieter later on in the evening when the shops are shut - recommended.!

Room Tip: We had an inside room and heard no external noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nidgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear guests,
thank you so much for your 'gem' review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. It makes us happy reading that you enjoyed your stay with us during the hectic christmas season in Zurich. We certainly hope to welcoming you back some other time. In the meantime we wish you and your family safe journeys and all the best for your future.
Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 137 in Zurich
1,039 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#86 of 137 in Zurich
216 reviews
Hotel City Zurich
#59 of 137 in Zurich
247 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#48 of 137 in Zurich
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $164 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 3 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing