We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #53 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Arrived off the train at 7am hoping at best to leave bags and venture the city before allocated checkin time.

Instead they upgraded us to a suite and gave us a room there and then!

Location perfect for day trips outside Zurich thanks to train station one block away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for having chosen our Boutique Hotel Townhouse for your stay in Zurich.
It makes us happy to read that we were able to amaze you with an early check in and free upgrade.
We would look forward to welcoming you back sooner or later. Happy travels and kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    159
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
161
34
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

You can't beat the location here - just off the start of Bahnhofstrasse, about 2 minutes away from the train station. You are walking distance to the lake and old town and all the great shopping Zürich has to offer.

For this reason alone, I would stay here again. I was not so impressed with the super soft mattress and pillows though and we found the room quite noisy as we were next to reception. The bathroom is also very tight.

The decoration of the hotel is lovely - very stylish while still being functional.

Overall, I would stay here again if location was my priority as it was during this trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guests, thank you very much for writing this review and for staying with us.
We are sorry that you were not so comfortable with the mattress and pillows. All our rooms are equipped with beds from 'Sleepeezee', a selected brand from Great Britain. Upon request we can provide firmer pillows.
Please note that there are 4 different room categories you can choose from, which mainly differ in size, starting from 15m2 up to 35m2.
Most of all, we hope to welcoming you again to our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Please let us know that you would wish a larger room and bathroom.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend stay at the Townhouse. What a charming place!
The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, staff are super friendly, chatty and helpful; décor is quirky British (we loved the dog ‘theme’ everywhere… cushions, pictures, lamps, ornaments – you name it.) This is people really caring about their guests having a good time, paired with incredible attention to detail.
The hotel is located across five floors in what appears to have previously been an office building, but don’t be deceived by the slightly impersonal exterior – once you get inside, it’s simply lovely. Our room was spacious, cosy (amazing pink/gold wallpaper, comfy armchairs) and had one of the most comfortable beds with the fluffiest, lightest duvet I have ever slept in. The honesty bar in the ‘living room’ area on the 5th floor (next to the reception desk) adds a nice, casual touch. Guests can pop upstairs at any time to make themselves a cup of coffee or tea (complimentary) or to enjoy a drink or snack. A light breakfast (croissants, buns, jams, cereal etc.) is also available until late morning – very convenient if the bed tempts you into having a lie-in. This is a hotel where you actually want to spend some time to relax and unwind between exploring Zurich’s sights, culinary scene and nightlife.
Talking of location: Close to Zurich’s main station, around the corner from Bahnhofstrasse, one of Zurich’s main shopping streets, it’s just perfect.
This is a real gem, very reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamburginLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for writing such kind and well described review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and in Zurich. Wishing you further happy travels and we hope to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location, just a few minutes from central railway station, was the main reason for booking this hotel and we didn't regret. Friendly welcome, early check-in, quiet room on the back side, complimentary coffee and tea in the lounge.
Eventhought the outside of the building remembers more of a office building, once at reception, you get to feel the charm of the hotel and the effort put into the decoration. Reception is on the 5th floor with the benefit of the view over Zurich. The standard room are on the smaller side, but ok for 2-3 days. For longer stays I would recommend to book a larger room.

Room Tip: If you stay longer then a few days, opt for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your stay with us and for taking your time writing this informative review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us. It is correct that our standard rooms start with the size of 15m2, our large rooms are between 22m2 and 30m2 and 2 Junior Suites have the size of 35m2. Therefore, we also recommend booking the category Large or Junior Suite for a longer stay with us.
We would look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Season's Greetings,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I spent one night for work purpose and the hotel is highly recommended.
3 mins walking to the train station and 5 mins walking to the centre of the town, it's really clean and charmingly furnished (actually I prefer modern/contemporary furniture but this old english style is really well-finished).
The breakfast is not included but, starting 7am, you have a small but delicious catering at the reception floor (and you pay only what you eat). Only one note regarding this point: the sitting area where you can have breakfast should be remodeled by putting a table instead of the central couch. It's really unconfortable to use a couch as table!

Highly recommended. Thanks to receptionist, really kind.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickypv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your stay with us and for taking your time writing this kind review. We are pleased to read that you were delighted with the style and charm of our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Furthermore, we will reconsider your input concerning the couch table in our Living Room.
We would look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Season's Greetings from Zurich,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

a bit confusing to get in...you have to buzz to get in, take the elevator (pull the door open when the light comes on) to the 5th floor to check in.

comfortable bed, very cool decor. great location. 1/2 block from the train.

they were very nice. upgraded my room, allowed me to check out a day early (got the flu) without charging me the last night.

one drawback (and it's not small, though perhaps avoidable). the rooms facing the 'alley' are LOUD. like, really loud. i lived in nyc for 13 years and i found this intolerable. the temperature control is opening the window. and there is a bar directly across the alley. there was a very inebriated loud laugher that almost did not survive his night out (i think i mentioned i was sick). that goes on until ~2:30 am. then they start throwing around what sounds like bags of glass at around 5:30 am. i don't know what they were doing but seriously? awful. not the hotel's fault, but...

get a room facing the courtyard. your blood pressure will thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for choosing our Boutique Hotel Townhouse and for writing this review.
We are happy to know that you were mostly satisfied with your stay with us. Unfortunately, you experienced extremely poor sleep due to noise from the little side alley. We truly regret this incident. But as we are located so perfectly central, it is rather impossible to offer complete peace and quiet. At least, the hotel is situated within a pedestrian area, so there is no traffic noise at all. Nevertheless, our rooms facing the courtyard and on higher levels are recommended for more silence. So we hope and would look forward to welcoming you back some day in the near future (we have already made a note to allocate the most quiet room for you).
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

2 minute walk from the main station, hidden in between some coffee shops but extremely central. This hotel is very nice and boutique, the rooms were small but had everything you need, the only real downfall was the shower curtain - for such a nice hotel these really need to be replaced with a screen or similar as the curtain constantly blows in on you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nay_799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you liked the location and style of our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Please note that there are 4 different categories you can choose from which mainly differ in size, starting from 15m2 up to 35m2. Thank you also for your feedback concerning the shower curtains. We are currently looking for a better solution.
We would look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Zurich,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#26 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#34 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#19 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Property: Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 2 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. Check-in takes place in our living room on the 5th floor. This is also the place where you can relax in comfortable couches, browse through the latest magazines, or help yourself to a drink from our honesty bar. The refrigerator is stocked with healthy snacks and you can make yourself a tasty Italian espresso at the coffee machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing