We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

a bit confusing to get in...you have to buzz to get in, take the elevator (pull the door open when the light comes on) to the 5th floor to check in.

comfortable bed, very cool decor. great location. 1/2 block from the train.

they were very nice. upgraded my room, allowed me to check out a day early (got the flu) without charging me the last night.

one drawback (and it's not small, though perhaps avoidable). the rooms facing the 'alley' are LOUD. like, really loud. i lived in nyc for 13 years and i found this intolerable. the temperature control is opening the window. and there is a bar directly across the alley. there was a very inebriated loud laugher that almost did not survive his night out (i think i mentioned i was sick). that goes on until ~2:30 am. then they start throwing around what sounds like bags of glass at around 5:30 am. i don't know what they were doing but seriously? awful. not the hotel's fault, but...

get a room facing the courtyard. your blood pressure will thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for choosing our Boutique Hotel Townhouse and for writing this review.
We are happy to know that you were mostly satisfied with your stay with us. Unfortunately, you experienced extremely poor sleep due to noise from the little side alley. We truly regret this incident. But as we are located so perfectly central, it is rather impossible to offer complete peace and quiet. At least, the hotel is situated within a pedestrian area, so there is no traffic noise at all. Nevertheless, our rooms facing the courtyard and on higher levels are recommended for more silence. So we hope and would look forward to welcoming you back some day in the near future (we have already made a note to allocate the most quiet room for you).
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 407 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

2 minute walk from the main station, hidden in between some coffee shops but extremely central. This hotel is very nice and boutique, the rooms were small but had everything you need, the only real downfall was the shower curtain - for such a nice hotel these really need to be replaced with a screen or similar as the curtain constantly blows in on you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nay_799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you liked the location and style of our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Please note that there are 4 different categories you can choose from which mainly differ in size, starting from 15m2 up to 35m2. Thank you also for your feedback concerning the shower curtains. We are currently looking for a better solution.
We would look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Zurich,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in Zurich for three nights and chose the Townhouse boutique hotel for our visit. The location was fantastic, set in the old town near the main station and close enough to stroll to many shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and comfortable however as many have mentioned on the small side but as we were not in our room for most of the day, it was perfectly fine. The only complaint was that even though Autumn the weather was on the warm side and the room was very stuffy at times. Luckily there was a small effective fan that we could use. Overall a great stay in Zurich and for couples or singles looking for a no fuss place in a great location. Kuni, the lady who met us at reception was lovely and great service as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celina28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guests,
thank you very much for your descriptive and kind review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed a lovely stay in Zurich and at our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. As we could enjoy a beautiful and rather warm autumn it is correct, that at times, it got a little warm in our guest rooms. Unfortunately, Zurich is not blessed with a long period of hot weather, therefore many hotels in Zurich and Switzerland are not equipped with air condition. Nevertheless, we provide each room with a small fan.
But it makes us happy that you appreciated our warm welcome and service. We try to do anything to make our guests feel at home and comfortable. It would be great to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards from Zurich,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was aware that this was not your standard hotel and what attracted me most was the location...quiet side street off Bahnhofstrasse and 3 mins walk from the station (in Zurich this area is actually very smart...unlike most other cities).
Check-in process smooth but weird on floor 5 of a residential building most of which, but not all, is the Townhouse.
The room was large and not hugely welcoming and I can see why others were unhappy in the Summer as there is no a/c just windows and a big fan.
The bathroom was large but actually quite spartan with a small shower.
So the funky wallpaper was there and the quirky pillows etc but it just gave the impression of trying a little too hard to be funky - and it really is not succeeding.
Breakfast is a disastrous affair - very small selection to be had next to the Reception desk on one of 3 armchairs or a sofa with no table or space to put things down. Just avoid this and step out as there are plenty of cafes all round. Thing is, they charge for this nonsense.
So, a little odd but not funky in my view....what is great is location.
Not sure I would repeat given crazy CHF400 price tag.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gastronauta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your review and opinion. We are sorry to read, that you were disappointed with the style of our centrally located and unique Boutique Hotel Townhouse. As the name (townhouse) predicts the style of the hotel, the rooms are located on several different floors in a former office building. Our reception is on the fifth floor, set up as a living room, even with a small balcony attached, where our guests can enjoy a relaxed check in and check out. Furthermore, our guests can enjoy the Living Room with our Honesty Bar and breakfast concept at any time.
Please note that our rates start at CHF 160.00 up to CHF 445.00, depending on room category, season and availability. Please check out website for rates anytime.
Of course, we hope and would look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

At first I was rather confused about where the hotel was located (dedicated floors in a residential building) . The surprise was really pleasant, reception feels homely and chic,staff is super friendly and warm. Room is beautiful, contemporary decor with high standards finishings all everywhere however retaining some classic style. The only inconvenience is that the room had no air-con however is was unusually hot for Zurich where an air conditioning is not really necessary. Great place and would stay there anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,
thank your very much for choosing our Boutique Hotel Townhouse and for your lovely review. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us except the lack of air-con in our rooms. As you write, we don't get many hot days in Zurich so we hope that the provided fans in each room help during the summer period. We certainly hope and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards from Zurich,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband I stayed there for two nights in mid-August. We requested a room with air conditioning beforehand and although they couldn’t guarantee it, we did wind up getting one of the rooms that have it. Turns out it we would have been cool enough with the window open so if you are staying there, having AC isn’t really necessary. The room was very cute, cozy and clean. They didn’t provide breakfast but they had a nice little sitting area where the reception desk is and where you can pay to get coffee, snacks, and drinks (they use the honor system so you just jot down what you took). The Location was great, two blocks from the train station and a 15 minute walk to Lake Zurich where they have tours. If you are not up to the walk, you can catch the tram right up the street. There were lots of cafés and bars nearby as well. Our favorite place was right across the street, D-Vino. They had delicious small plates and a nice selection of wine! We went there twice! I would def. stay here again if I travel to Zurich!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC or a balcony so if you require these, you will want to request it well in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

180 meters away from Zurich HB. Middle of the shopping district. Rooms are of decent size. Amenities are great. Staff were very friendly and helpful.They upgrade us, at no charge,to a bigger room so that "my child would have more space to run around". Great choice if you need to catch an early morning flight. Just 11min ride from Zurich HB to Airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boon_jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 138 in Zurich
1,020 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Hotel City Zurich
#61 of 138 in Zurich
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
#47 of 138 in Zurich
496 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#54 of 138 in Zurich
498 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#82 of 138 in Zurich
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $171 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 2 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. Check-in takes place in our living room on the 5th floor. This is also the place where you can relax in comfortable couches, browse through the latest magazines, or help yourself to a drink from our honesty bar. The refrigerator is stocked with healthy snacks and you can make yourself a tasty Italian espresso at the coffee machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing