We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A stylish but no frills boutique hotel. It was clean, quirky, stylish and quiet and perfect for a first-time weekend visit to Zurich very close to the station. don't expect any luxuries - no mini-bar fridge in room, and no air conditioning but we had a good fan, which was sufficient. You probably won't find many other places of this standard at this price range in Zurich. and thank you for the complimentary upgrade to a larger double bedroom!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumahiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 411 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Traveling often for work, this hotel was a breath of fresh air. The staff was most pleasant, professional and helpful. Walking into the room, I felt at home instantly taken by the details such as the quirky wallpaper and furnishing. The location is just perfect, next to Zurich HB, very centrally located to go for a swim in the lake or river, or to wander through town.
Ok, so the hotel does not have AC, open up the windows and get over it. Be grateful for great summer days in the more orthern part of Europe!

Room Tip: During summer ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor, since the weather can be warm and the hotel do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Location is the abolsute plus. Located only a block away from "Hauptbanhoff" is in the center of this beautiful city. It is clean and quite well furnished/decorated. The personnel was kind. On the negative side though my room was very small and no Air Condition (!!!!). Although in July, I was lucky and the weather was mild. If it was hot I would have to open the window to "enjoy" the smells of the lower floor Korean restaurant and the noise of the cozy side street... The "lobby" / reception is at the 5th floor (I really wonder if this would be a Guiness record...) while the breakfast is less than basic. For all those reasons I feel that the value for money factor is not in favor unless one is on a budget and city center location is a must ...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kostas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for choosing our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Although, it makes us sad that you didn't seem to like much about our hotel except the fantastic location.
You might know already, that we do have different room categories which differ mostly in size. There are even 3 rooms with a private balcony and two of them are equipped with A/C. Next time, we would be eager to know all your preferences to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Furthermore, we would be interested to know more about your comment of our lobby/reception for a Guiness record:-) Please feel free to contact us via e-mail. Wishing you further happy travels and we would still look forward to welcoming you back some day.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was brilliant. A short pleasant walk from the main railway station, super friendly and helpful check-in and finally a really spacious room with everything we needed. My first trip to Zurich but loved the city and this hotel so will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack_Morgan_Dar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest
thank you very much for choosing our Boutique Hotel Townhouse in Zurich. We are happy to read about your positive experience of your first trip to Zurich and to our small hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you further happy travels, kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel itself is conveniently located near Zurich central station. I found the staff to be helpful, especially as I was staying at the hotel for 2 non-consecutive nights, and was able to store my luggage with the hotel when I went to Geneva. The rooms themselves are quite quirky, great furnishings and loved the British theme. The bathrooms are rather small and pokey, however, the Molton Brown products were great! The one big drawback regarding this hotel is that both rooms I stayed in did not have air-conditioning. Whilst this may not be a problem for most of the year, the two days I stayed in late June were 28 deg Celcius and 31 deg Celcius, with rather warm evenings. The rooms were very stuffy and hot, and the small fan provided provided little relief. I kept the windows open throughout the night, which was somewhat futile as the noise from adjacent restaurants and bars made it difficult to fall asleep. So, needless to say 2 nights of poor sleep was not what I was hoping for. The rooms cost in excess of CHF 200 per night, so I would have expected air-conditioning to be standard given the cost.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_vd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for staying with us twice. We are happy to read that you experienced helpful staff and that we could meet your needs concerning your luggage.
Rooms: we have 4 different categories, which differ mostly in size, also the bathrooms.
There are even 3 rooms with a private balcony and two of them are equipped with A/C.
In Zurich and throughout Switzerland it is quite difficult to receive the permit to install A/C due to strict regulations. Furthermore and unfortunately (as you already quoted) Zurich and most of Switzerland is not blessed with a long period of hot summer days whilst A/C would be a bliss to have. In Zurich, it is the heating which is most essential:-)
Nevertheless, we are very sorry to hear about your poor sleep. It's a pity, we didn't know about your wish for air conditioning. Maybe, we could have changed our room allocation. So we deeply hope to welcoming you back soon or if you prefer, again during the colder season.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Surprisingly Spacious room in a superbly located hotel, just a short walk to Zurich Hbf and the lake. Decor and furnishings a delight and staff very friendly and helpful. No AC but having the windows open was fine, if a little noisy.

Room Tip: Go for a back room, not street side as it can be a little boisterous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hildoceras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We would look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location, close to the shops, main sights, and station (5 min walk with heavy rucksack), beautifully appointed room, comfy bed. The bathroom is small but has a lovely modern shower. Did not hear any noise from other rooms although it was a hot night and with windows open there was a lot of street noise. To be fair, there was a festival on at the time so I have no complaint to the hotel! Also, it's a city so I would expect some noise with open windows (noise level fine when closed). I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely come back if in Zurich again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest
thank you very much for taking your time to write this informative review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich and at the hotel. Please contact us again for your next trip to Zurich. We would look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 137 in Zurich
1,039 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#85 of 137 in Zurich
216 reviews
Hotel City Zurich
#60 of 137 in Zurich
246 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#49 of 137 in Zurich
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $163 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 3 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing