We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hideway worth finding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you do not want to use large hotels then this is for you. Small but with great rooms, a little quirky but the bathroom had a great shower. Walking distance from the train staion. Book early as the hotel is very popular with return customers.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid missing out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind and helpful review. It makes us happy to read that you loved the style of the hotel and you felt a little bit like at home. So we hope to welcoming you and your friends soon again to our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We wish you happy travels and a wonderful and finally sunny summer,
yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 408 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recently stayed at The Townhouse and loved it. Location is amazing for access to trains, restaurants and stores. Decor is wonderful and makes you feel at home. The beds are so comfortable and great molton brown bath amenities. Room size is quite large as well. Staff is attentive and balcony in common area is terrific. We sat out and had out espressos!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauracurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Front Office Manager at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us recently. It makes us happy to read that you seemed to have enjoyed a great stay in Zurich and at our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Furthermore, we are glad that you were able to sit out on our balcony as we were not so blessed yet with lovely weather in Zurich. It is our pleasure to hear that you felt a little bit like at home. So we hope to welcoming you back soon to 'your home away from home'.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the railway station of Zürich. At least it is convenient if you come by plane and/or train, not by car. The room itself was of a good size (as we were given a bigger one than reserved). The people working in the hotel are very friendly and helpful.
There are a few items which will make us choose a different hotel when returning to Zürich: -)the street is very noisy in the evening (terraces) and in the morning (trams, cleaning crew) which prohibits you to leave your windows open during the night. Also there are constructions going on very nearby (but of course this is temporarily). -)a lot of items in the room are not really user friendly but more for show : the reading chairs do not have a reading light, the desk is cranky, do not put a laptop on it, the bed is headless so no sitting on it, the sidetables can just take your watch and a glass of water, your clothes are hanging in the room (very fashionable, but not to my taste). -)the rooms are in a former office building and the entrance hall, as well as a few floors are shared with companies.
As Zürich is an expensive city, we will have to spend more money to have the level of quality we would like to see.

Room Tip: Not at the front of the hotel (where most rooms are located)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellerfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Front Office Manager at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us recently. We are very sorry to hear, that your expectations were not fully fulfilled. Furthermore, we apologize for the noise of the construction site nearby. As you wrote, this is temporarily. We all look forward to the opening of the new Sushi restaurant of 'yoojis'.
As we are in one of the best locations of Zurich (it could not get more central) we can't offer total peace and silence. But our rooms facing the courtyard are more quiet than the rooms facing the little side street off the famous shopping street 'Bahnhofstrasse'.
Furthermore, each of our rooms are equipped individually, they also differ in size. Some rooms come with bigger bedside tables, some have a wardrobe and our largest rooms are also equipped with a reading standard lamp. We recommend to contact us directly so we can allocate the matching room to your needs, as good as we can. We would certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Townhouse twice within the last 6 months. It's a 2 minutes walk from the main station (7 to 13 minutes train ride from the airport, depending on which line you take) right off Bahnhofstrasse. The building itself doesn't look like much but as soon as you get out of the elevator to the reception desk (5th floor), you will notice that this is not your average hotel.

Staff are friendly (funny even) and there is a nice honesty bar next to the reception area where you can get tea & coffee (free) as well as an assortment of different juices, toast, pastries, jams, yoghurts etc., so if you don't want to have breakfast elsewhere, you can easily assemble one there for a very reasonable price and eat in your room. As for those: both times I stayed in the Townhouse, I entered my room and got the urge to sing Rule Britannia - which is a good thing in my books. There's an iPod dock, free WiFi, a nicely sized TV set and a DVD player (you can borrow DVDs at the reception). The beds are high and comfy, bathrooms clean with ample space for toiletries. I got a jr. suite last time, so I had a nice little table to work (and have breakfast) on as well as a comfy couch to enjoy a cup of tea and watch TV later.

Travelling for business can be tedious, so if you are sick of generic hotel rooms and prefer something homey, this might be the place for you. I certainly will stay there again the next time I go to Zürich.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firedragon_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Front Office Manager at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear guest, we would like to thank for taking your time to write such an informative and kind review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. And we are very happy to read that you enjoyed staying with us. Your comment about singing Rule Britannia certainly made us all smile.
We would look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope to make your stay even more memorable in the future. Happy travels, yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel has many great things going for it with one exception. Since most reviews focus on the positive, I will start with the one disappointing aspect of my stay before listing the hotel's many attributes.

I adored this hotel from the moment I stepped in until it was time to go to sleep and discovered that the bed was terribly uncomfortably. Simply put, it was a cheap mattress on a cheap frame. The single bed was also surprisingly narrow. It is really too bad that after all the thought and attention that went into this hotel that they would skimp on something like the mattresses.

This charming boutique hotel is located one block from the train station in Zurich - an easy walk with all your luggage (also, trains run to the airport about every 20 minutes). The facade is very unassuming, but the lobby lounge and rooms are charming and with character. Each room is decorated slightly differently with vintage furniture. I stayed twice over a one week's trip to Switzerland. The staff are very friendly and recommended some good restaurants for us to try. Our room was spacious. In fact, it was larger than the room I stayed in a few months prior at one of the "grand dames" of Zurich right around the corner which cost more than twice as much!

As a boutique hotel, the amenities are very limited, but everything you need is within a 5 minute walk in downtown Zurich. The hotel is right off the main high street called Bahnhofstrasse.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for staying with us twice during your one week trip to Switzerland. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't sleep well due to the type of our beds and mattresses. Kindly note that all our 25 rooms are furnished in a fresh English style with extra comfortable beds from 'Sleepeezee', King-, Queen- or Twin size. size. (www.sleepeezee.co.uk)
The positive feedback from our guests about the brand of our beds is extremely high.
Nevertheless, it is quite difficult to match all preferences of each guest concerning the type of beds and interior. Therefore, we regret not to have fully matched yours.
But we are happy to read that you enjoyed the charming character of the Boutique Hotel Townhouse and your review about our friendly staff. We still hope to welcoming you back during your next visit to Zurich. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we might find the perfect size of room and bed for you.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband is the founder of an international hotel chain so whenever we travel we try to find unique, speciality boutique hotels. Townhose is exactly what we love! Wonderful personalized service from the moment we booked. Charmingly decorated public space and individual rooms. Lovely down beds and pillows. Extremely reasonably priced for Zurich. All the amenities including free wifi in each room. Steps away from the main train station and the old city downtown. Do not be put off by the low-key outside because as soon as you step inside you will discover a treasure! We will stay there now any time we visit Zurich.

Room Tip: They have rooms with balconies if you'd like so ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NadineHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for staying with us recently. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay in Zurich and at the Boutique Hotel Townhouse. And thank you for taking the time to write this informative and kind review. We wish you a lovely and successful time and look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Zurich.
Yours sincerely, Kuni Burlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Townhouse three separate times this last trip and wanted to comment on the personal service we got each time. When traveling circumstances arise that may be better resolved with the help of someone with local experience. If your lucky you will have an old friend living nearby to assist you and all is well. If not, stay at Townhouse and your new friends at the reception desk will soon be better than your old friends!

Even after traveling to Zurich for 20 some years there is always something that can be improved. A new Swisscom nano SIM card for my iPhone 5, a a phone call to the Engadin to arrange a special service, maybe just a quick restaurant reservation for the evening.

Each was handled with a smile, a smart joke and even a small taste of scotch if you arrive on a Friday evening. I enjoy my room but if meeting people you can use the living room adjacent to reception for a small get together. I noticed a group of three people having a nice party there as I left one night. Why not, with a full selection of drinks on the honor system you can relax and enjoy the quiet and tastefully decorated room.

Why stay in a large, impersonal hotel when you can stay with friends in a intimate and well located boutique hotel like Townhouse. Thanks Küni for a wonderful visit! Oh, don't forget wi-fi is now included at no additional cost, just like my friends house... but much faster.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors have a better view out.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hammersb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuniBurlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear guest
thank you very much for taking your time again to write such a kind and informative review and update about our Townhouse Boutique Hotel in Zurich. It is great to hear and read that in the meantime you feel almost at your friend's place when staying with us at the Townhouse. We feel indeed touched by your personal comment and hope to keep welcoming you back during your visits in Switzerland and assisting you wherever and as good as we can:-)
Thank you for being our regular guest and for recommending the Townhouse to other travelers.
Wishing you all the best, happy travels and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,
warmest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 137 in Zurich
1,025 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
#45 of 137 in Zurich
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel City Zurich
#61 of 137 in Zurich
242 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#83 of 137 in Zurich
216 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $169 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 2 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. Check-in takes place in our living room on the 5th floor. This is also the place where you can relax in comfortable couches, browse through the latest magazines, or help yourself to a drink from our honesty bar. The refrigerator is stocked with healthy snacks and you can make yourself a tasty Italian espresso at the coffee machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing