We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is just a few steps from the main Zurich train station. Transfer to/from the airport is very easy. Unfortunately I arrived on a Sunday around 8:15 am and the receptionist was running late. The clearning ladies let me in and I had some herbal tea in the living room. So the 15-minute wait was not bad. My room was very basic and the bed does not have a headboard. It was reasonably comfortable after a long flight from US. Though it is called a B&B, breakfast is actually a la carte (yogurt, snack) for additional charge. After walking around Zurich and seeing how everything costs double of US, the hotel seems adequate for the price. I will probably try something different next time. Zurich is relatively compact and easy to walk to places.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopscotch2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuniBurlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear guest, we would like to thank you again for choosing the Boutique Hotel Townhouse for your one night stay in Zurich. We apologize for the delay of our receptionist. On that Sunday, Swiss public transport had to cope with severe weather conditions (icy roads and rail tracks), therefore some trains were terribly delayed. But we are happy that our housekeeping lady looked well after you and a few moments later you were able to check in to your room in order to relax from your long flight. Furthermore, we hope that the numerous fluffy pillows could replace the requested head board. It is correct that we offer breakfast a la carte as many of our guests are very happy about the different possibilities of either having a continental breakfast, coffee or tea in our cosy living room or going to one of the lovely cafés (coffee shops) nearby the Townhouse. It would be our pleasure to being of service to you again soon.
Yours sincerely, Kuni Burlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 411 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was in a double on the fifth floor where the little lobby is located, facing the street. The room was very clean, the bedding comfortable, the unique furniture was functional and inviting. A rack for clothing (there was no wardrobe in the room) was about to come off the wall, but such things happen.

The tiny bathroom is functional. I repeat: It's tiny. If you spend an hour or so getting ready in the mornings, do not choose this place. If you need a clean place to clean up, shower, and shave, you've got it.

In the lobby, an honesty bar offers coffee, tea, soda, beer, wine, liquor, and various snacks including fresh fruit. Fresh bread is brought in in the mornings so a small breakfast can be had without leaving the hotel if one feels like it.

Smoking is allowed on the balcony outside the lobby. I found it thoughtful to provide seating, pillows and blankets there.

The location is very easy to find once outside the mind-boggling underground walkways of Zurich Central Station, right next to Bahnhofstraße and yet surprisingly quiet due to the lack of thru traffic. I arrived by plane/ train, but if you arrive by car you will find the close proximity to the Urania parking garage convenient.

Staff are extremely courteous, knowledgable, and attentive.

The negative remarks about the smell of the ground floor Korean restaurant I cannot follow. This does not impact one's experience whatsoever. In fact, I found the number and ethnicity of clients in that restaurant encouraging to try it out next time.

For a brief stay in Zurich I can fully recommend the Townhouse Boutique Hotel, especially at its comparably reasonable price.

Room Tip: Smokers should ask for a room on the fifth floor so they need not move between floors to reach the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location is really prime - right smack in the middle of just about everything, and really very accesssible. The rooms were on the small side, but sufficient and had anything you would need. The staff were friendly and helpful, and on the whole made the stay pleasant without being overtly intrusive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AidanGCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Getting to hotel was pretty easy, at the airport take the train to Zurich Hauptbahnhof HB, at the main station take the exit Bahnhofstrasse- first side street Schützengasse on your left.
it costs 13.50chf (approx) and the ticket can be used for 24hrs on trams, trains and boats within 2 zones.

Hotel is clean, comfy and has all amenities- Molton Brown toiletries, cotton balls, as DrGnommi mentioned, real hair dryer, dressing gown, towels etc.

Rooms are quite big for city hotel, though there is no wardrobe or minibar in room, however there is a mini bar & kitchen in the lounge on 5th floor, just note down your room and what you took, or there is a supermarket in the station.

We love the location and convenience of this hotel, if you love small, cute hotels, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalalatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The "hotel" is a series of apartments spread over five floors, with the reception area at the top. The reception has an honesty bar, from which you can get soft drinks, a selection of alcoholic beverages and snacks, including pastries and croissants for breakfast if you want - though breakfast is not included in the price and there is no breakfast bar as such. There is also a pretty balcony (with furry blankets and candles), an attractive lounge area, and a selection of books and DVDs that you can use freely whilst you stay there.

Our room was beautifully decorated in a sort of modern baroque style, very clean and comfortable, with free wi-fi access, charging points, a real working hairdryer(!), and was surprisingly quiet given its amazingly convenient location less than 5 minutes from the Hauptbahnhof and main Bahnhofstrasse. Niederdorferstrasse and the Altstadt are also considerably less than 10 minutes walk. No grumbles at all with the room, lovely bed, great shower - brilliant night's sleep.

Although not staffed overnight, the nearby sister hotel is, plus there are numbers you can call at any time for assistance. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I really liked feeling independent - more like renting a flat rather than a hotel room - not having to hand keys to the desk staff or have any kind of curfew was great.

Only down-side: the walls are a little thin, so if someone checks in late you can hear them opening drawers and hanging clothes... Very minor niggle, though!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGnommi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It´s a good option just because hotels ( actually, everything) in Zurich are very expensive,especially considering the location, close to train station and downtown.It´s a mix between bed and breakfast and hotel.
Nothing special about this hotel, except value for money.And location,perfect.To be close to train station is the best about location in Zurich.

A had a problem:
I booked for 2 days, I asked for change and stay 1 day,and a booked hotel with Booking.com No problems with Booking.com to change.Hotel charged the reservation for 1 day in Booking.com, but THEY CHARGED FOR THE SECOND DAY, HALF OF ONE FULL DAY , DESPITE I DIDN´T STAY 2 DAYS and leave hotel at morning,before check-out time .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've stayed here on six occasions now and most details have been well covered in previous posts regarding it's excellent location and interesting decor. I'd like to emphasize the nature of the service provided by the reception staff.

One of the things I like best about any small, boutique hotel is the lack of commercialization and the attitude that goes along with it. Townhouse staff provides a genuine and personal feel that is relaxed and attentive at the same time. The reception area is laid out like a living room with a reception desk at the entrance. You are buzzed through the locked door at the entrance, which is actually a converted office building and take the elevator up to the fifth floor.

The small size allows the well trained staff to be a bit more flexible if necessary and if any information is required they are happy to help. We like to stay in a specific room for sentimental reasons and it has always been waiting for us upon arrival. This dependability really helps us enjoy our stay and since we often have a hectic schedule we can get right down to business.

I'd like to single out Küni Burlet for being such a gracious and friendly hostess to our imaginary party each time we visit the Townhouse. It feels like returning to a friends house without having to do the dishes!!

One correction to a previous post, the wireless internet cost is CHF 10 per device per day. The CHF 20 price was due to two devices I'm sure. With 12 mb/s speed it's well worth it if keeping up is necessary.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank hammersb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townhousezurich, Manager at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear guest
we are very happy to hear that you are enjoying our hotel on your previous visits to Zurich. We are forwarding your compliments to our team.
We are happy to announce that WiFi access is FREE OF CHARGE for all our hotel guests as of now and hope this will make your stay even more enjoyable next time.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
Peter Sidler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 137 in Zurich
1,039 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#85 of 137 in Zurich
216 reviews
Hotel City Zurich
#60 of 137 in Zurich
246 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#49 of 137 in Zurich
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $163 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 3 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing