We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best sandwiches in Zurich”
Review of Bellevue Deli

Bellevue Deli
Ranked #1,129 of 1,928 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hochschulen
Description: At the Bellevue Deli – owned and operated by two former flight attendants – which is centrally located in Zürich, offers a wide range of sandwiches (over 40 varieties are made daily Monday through Friday – a reduced menu is offered on weekends) based on recipes garnered from the owners’ travels and layovers around the world. Complementing its extensive assortment is a selection of salads for those who prefer a lighter meal. And best of all… it is renowned for its reasonable prices. One has the option of sitting at outdoor tables, crossing the street to picnic lakeside, jumping on a ship for a leisurely lunch or dinner cruise, partaking of a meal along the picturesque Limmat River, dining al fresco on the steps of the nearby opera house, finding a quiet spot to nosh on one’s takeaway in the Old Town, or kicking back and enjoying it back in a hotel room. Weekday lunches also offer homemade chili con carne as well as other Tex-Mex fare. It is well known among the local English-speaking expatriate community.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“By far the best sandwiches in Zurich”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I live in Zurich and buy something most days from the Bellevue Deli. Their food is always fresh and delicious and beautifully garnished and displayed (we eat with our eyes!)! The sandwiches are different to anything else you'll find in Zurich, full of goodies, wonderful combinations and various delicious breads. The home-made soups, chilli and burritos are great, esp. in winter when a bit of comfort warm food is needed! In summer, grab a sandwich and salad (the choices!), go down to the lake and relax in the sunshine. It is obvious that the owners and their team really care about the food they make, and it shows in absolutely everything sold there, as well as the friendly service. I can only recommend it. It's been going for 30 years under the same management and that says something as well.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FernwehZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super soups and sandwiches”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This little place centrally located on Bellevueplatz by the lake is an oasis in this extremely expensive city. Prices range from a couple of bucks to under $9 for a carrot salad sandwich on a mini-baguette brimming with Swiss cheeses and fresh fruit. I especially like the smoked turkey with homemade cranberry/pesto sauce. The soups are delicious. I had cream of chestnut and pumpkin that really something quite special. And they do a chili con carne that is the real thing. Lots of different sandwiches to choose from. Great as a take away for a lakeside meal!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfaresfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, super service (in English too), perfect location”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

One usually would not expect anything out of the ordinary from a corner coffee, sandwich and pastry shop, but such is not the case at the Bellevue Deli. The quality of the food is outstanding, everything is spotless clean, prices are a very good value, and the service is extremely friendly and helpful. The management and staff clearly take a lot of pride in what they do, with just about everything being home made. And the pretty setting right at Lake Zurich - - on a nice day it is great to grab a sandwich and a cold drink, and sit by the lake enjoying the view and a great lunch.

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank unsleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, great food!”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

I was on business in Zurich and came across the bellevue deli in search of something good and reasonable for Zurich prices. The sandwiches are well presented, full of flavor and fresh. My favorite was the thon, which is a tuna sandwich and the tomato motzerrela was also quite good. they also have baked goods that are fantastic! The brownies are the best I've ever had. I highly recommend this place if your looking for tasty homemade quality!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwd179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Great fare - fresh and flavorful”
Reviewed December 26, 2010

I regularly visit friends in Zurich. They personally recommended the Deli to me. Good value for the quality sandwiches and salads offered. The homemade soups are exceptionally tasty. I had a cream of pumpkin and chestnut soup that was absolutely delicious. The chili con carne is the real thing. The assortment of sandwiches is overwhelming. Plus they're amply filled!

Helpful?
Thank Foxxxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellevue Deli also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Bellevue Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing