We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant

The Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central European, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jewels in the gastronomic crown Two restaurants, the Bar and the Lobby make the Dolder Grand an oasis for exceptional gourmet delights. All facilities are open to hotel guests and the general public alike. Winter break 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February 2017 to 6 March 2017. We will be happy to welcome you again on Tuesday evening, 7 March 2017. Summer break 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July 2017 to 14 August 2017. We will be happy to welcome you again on Tuesday evening, 15 August 2017.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Extraordinary service and a wide and excellent selection. The menu offered a varied cuisine and we marveled at the quality and variety.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent visit to the Dolder Grand and for your favourable feedback.

We are delighted that you not only reward our dedication to an attentive service culture but also the quality and variety of the served culinary delights. I have passed on your very kind words to our team who made your experience possible.

We hope to be able to welcoming you back soon. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    35
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch in the Garden Restautant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last Sunday we have been in the Garden Restaurant in the Dolder Grand Hotel for the second time in the last 12 months.In one word-magical.Try to arrive as early as 11.30 am ,when the restaurant opens,to have a relaxed meal which includes starters and antipasti,a variety of hot dishes and an amazing dessert buffet.the design of all the items on show is really inspiring and the breathtaking views of the Zurich Lake and the city just adds up to a wonderful experience.
My advice would be to avoid eating anything before the brunch , as the variety is just endless and you would not forgive yourselves if you'll arrive unprepared.
The price ,which is chf 92 per person (chf 45 for children under 13 years)is not cheap but the whole experience is worth every penny , and compared with other eating options in Zurich,it should be considered as a bargain

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank udi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your visits to our Sunday brunch and your recommendation on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a magical time and enjoyed culinary delights from our brunch buffet to the full.

Please do come back and visit us again in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great and expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved it. Do not forget to take full advantage of the spa. Expensive, yes but this is Europe so US$ 10 for a beer is what you should expect. A lunch dish at Us$ you can expect 40$ fr a club sandwich but it was good. Only complaint is that shuttle service from hotel and city centre stops away too early at 6 pm. And they charge $ 11 for hangers to bring from hotel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRaleigh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for your valuable remarks.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the served Club Sandwich and took advantage of the unique range of activities for your well-being of our Dolder Grand Spa. Furthermore, we will gladly take up your proposal regarding our hotel shuttle bus service and wish to inform you that the Dolder Grand can be reached easily using public transport until midnight. In terms of your comment regarding the hangers, we assume that our Front Desk staff proceeded correctly and informed you about the price of CHF 10.00 per piece before you decided on the purchase.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Evening !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

A big thank you to the staff at the Dolder Grand for helping to make our 31st Anniversary very special ! Food,service and staff were exceptional: a special mention to Daniel who really went the extra mile for us on his own initiative. This was our first time at the Dolder Grand but certainly not our last !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michiganvisitor_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your visit to our Garden Restaurant on this special occasion.

We are delighted to hear that your experience on your 31st Anniversary was a memorable one and that we could meet your expectations. Your gratifying feedback is motivation to us to continue our efforts in the same direction, and I will gladly share your comments with Daniel and the team at the Garden Restaurant.

We look forward to your next visit and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went to the Dolder Grand Garden Restaurant mid week with their Dinner Delight menu. It is was great value for money with more than four courses and a glass of champagne. The views are spectacular over Zurich. It is definitely worth it for a special treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DC927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent visit to our Garden Restaurant and your positive comment.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and appreciate your compliments on the «Dinner Delight» 3-course menu. Currently, we offer an after-dinner drink at our Dolder Grand Bar instead of the champagne.

We truly hope to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand on a future special occasion. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing