We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the old grand dame of hotels”
Review of The Restaurant

The Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 1,944 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Jewels in the gastronomic crown Two restaurants, the Bar and the Lobby make the Dolder Grand an oasis for exceptional gourmet delights. All facilities are open to hotel guests and the general public alike. Winter break 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February 2017 to 6 March 2017. We will be happy to welcome you again on Tuesday evening, 7 March 2017. Summer break 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July 2017 to 14 August 2017. We will be happy to welcome you again on Tuesday evening, 15 August 2017.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of the old grand dame of hotels”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

this has been an institution for a very long time. It has so much history and its part of the leading world wide hotels and a truly 5 star experience. Be aware this is a very expensive stay. Even if you do not stay there go up there on the tram and have afternoon tea

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank swissworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    37
    17
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, world class brunch”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a fantastic brunch at the Dolder Grand on Sunday. We reserved at the last minute so tables outdoors were unavailable, but we were in luck as it was so hot (32 deg.) that we would have been uncomfortable outside anyway. Indoors the room was beautiful and air conditioned and we still had breathtaking views of Zurich and the lake, with the golf course in the foreground, and millions of prisms hanging in the window in a very tastefully decorated setting.
The buffet - ah, where do I start? I didn't know where to begin eating. The breakfast table was overflowing with eggs, bacon, sausages, croissants, muesli... the salad bar full of creative, tasty, healthy salads (Greek, fennel orange, wurst-cheese...), the sushi, the cheeses, and all kinds of delectable delicacies. I didn't even make it to the hot buffet with all kinds of vegetables, cannelloni, fish, meat, etc. but they looked very good. The desserts? Intimidating and overwhelming in choice and variety. Miniature creme brulees, panna cotta, mousse, macarons, all kinds of puddings, pastries and pies. In particular I enjoyed the miniature lime tart with a chocolate crust and a meringue topping, as well as a shockingly good cranberry panna cotta with a cherry coulis and crispy topping.... to accompany all this of course we had an endless supply of Krug champagne and an excellent espresso macchiato at the end. I think I rolled down the hill back to zurich after that. Actually, come to think of it, we visited the Zurich zoo which is nearby and well worth a visit, despite the heat and the champagne buzz!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a surprise visit while staying in the hotel. Attentive but not crowding staff, very nice food and good wine. We had the dehydration which was moot too larg or rich like some and used good local produce

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great for gluten free”
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Great food, very well prepared, with a nice touch by the chef. They treat allergies very seriously and are great for celiacs. Gluten is not an issue.

Helpful?
Thank Greg799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Exceptional in Every Respect”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was truly one of the best meals I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. We had a tasting menu which showed astonishing creativity and amazing tastes. Every course was a work of art. But the desserts were perhaps the most memorable. Molten chocolate cake with sweet corn. Cotton candy with sea salt and pepper. I won't spoil the surprise by sharing more. If you're in Zurich, you owe it to yourself to splurge indulgently just this once. You will remember it for the rest of your life.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing