We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for reasonable price!”
Review of Pension FurDich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension FurDich
Ranked #16 of 45 Zurich B&B and Inns
Belgrade
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for reasonable price!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hotel is situated at Stauffacherstrasse, above the local pub-restaurant. Every flour has 3 rooms with shared bathroom,clean and with plenty of hot water.
Check in is after 15h and can easily be fixed at restaurant where is reception situated.
Room is large with big bed and salloon wooden flour, so every step you made can be heard. The walls are not thick so it could be noisy form other rooms.
you can easily get there from Hauptbahnhof station, just get tram 6 to Paradeplatz and then just 2 stations with tram num. 8.

Zurich is very expensive town, so Pension Fuer Dich offers nice room for reasonable price...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Predrag_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
13
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were disappointed to turn up late in the afternoon and be told that we couldn't eat in the cafe as it was booked for a party but everything else was fantastic. We loved our retro rooms which although basic were comfortable and good value but we did have a shared bathroom which may not suit everyone.

Breakfast in the cafe was amazing, one of the best we had in several weeks of travelling around Europe. It wasn't cheap but it was well worth it.

Recommended as a good value place to stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It's a fantastic deal for the price, especially given that this is Zurich - you get a decent room with a wide, comfortable bed for not much more than what you would pay for a hostel bed in a shared dorm.

Each room seems to be different, both in terms of size and decor, and I've been in number 7, the cheap(est) single. The room was very spartan, basically a bed, a nightstand, a closet, a chair/sofa and a lamp; but nevertheless, this was at least 30% cheaper than the next offering. You do get one bottle of sparkling water, as well; and what felt as lightning-fast wi-fi (note, I come from Sweden, where Internet access tends to be slow and expensive). No TV, no desk, no frills - but nevertheless, perfectly good.

The room was fantastically decorated in a retro-modern style in a very tasteful manner, giving it very cool vibes (late-1960s/early 1970s modern flair, think the first James Bond movies), somehow reminding me of some sort of upscale themed boutique hotel.

The room was decently cleaned, the linen, towels and blankets were absolutely ok, nothing really to complain here.

The bathroom is shared, two- or three rooms share one bathroom. It seems like Fuer Dich is an old apartment building (seems there's still some apartments not taken over by them; in fact, the old owners' names are still on the buzzers), and what you're renting is basically a room in a three-bedroom flat, the bathroom being the old apartment bathroom. The fact that this setup was so familiar made the whole arrangement somewhat more private than those in typical "down the corridor" shared-bathrooms typically found in dorms, hostels or downscale hotels. Moreover, the bathroom was spotlessly clean and had in-floor heating (a nice plus in December).

The location is really nice - it's downtown while in the same time in a quiet, green, lush area. Soundproofing is great (no tram noises could be heard) and the rooms are well ventilated. Since I was heading to a conference in Konstanz the next day, I even got to have a little work done, which would have been impossible had it not been perfectly quiet in the room (I was really tired).

The cafe/pub downstairs is really fun and nice; it feels very bohemian and artsy, has live music and friendly staff. Checking in at the bar was somewhat of a surprise, but worked flawlessly (note that you may have to wait for the bartender to finish her/his round before tending to your needs)

There was on big downside : the bed, while large, was extremely soft (at least for my taste) - felt like sleeping in a hammock. I guess some people like that; but not me. Thus, it gets 4 stars instead of 5.

Would I go back? Yes. Would I recommend it? Definitely - you pay a little bit more than for a dorm in a hostel and you get so much more out of it.

If you just want to spend a night or two in Zurich, either as a single traveller or a young couple, this place is absolutely great, especially given Zurich's miserable value for money (and generally poor accommodation to begin with).

Room Tip: Each room they have is unique and has different amenities (e.g. some have TVs, some don't). Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frunzaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We only arrived late at night and we really did not get to experience the bar and restaurant downstairs, though it did look nice. The place was easy enough to find from the central train station. The shared bathroom was very comfortable and clean as well as the room itself. The only negative was the squeaky floors, you or others on your floor could not take a step without making noise. Cheapest we could find in Zurich still quite expensive. Overall we were happy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was in Zurich for a meeting and a group of us were all staying at this lace. Check-in was a bit confusing due to the language gap, but we got there. The room itself was nice with a balcony, but I do not like the shared bathroom or how the "kitchen" opened up onto my balcony. The location was spectacular. Wi-fi was available but not all that good in terms of quality. the little restaurant which is also the lobby offers a basic selection of food for meals, but the staff there seemed like we were bothering hem by ordering drinks. for Zurich it was very affordable and easily walkable to everywhere within the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve321123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed one night in January 2013.
It is a really nice small hotel/pension aver the bar FurDich which is a really cool and trendy place.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Actually this is a one floor apartment with 3 or 4 rooms sharing a bathroom.
But don't let sharing bathroom part scare you. It is a very convivial place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved this place! Our room was very large and spacious and was situated on top of the Cafe Furdich, owned by the same people. I love how they have turned several apartments into pension stays, our apartment had a foyer which separated the bedrooms from each other. The kitchen was very 1970s and so was the bathroom but this adds to the trendiness of the place.
Our bed was very comfortable and we were grateful for the massive television and mineral water awaiting our arrival.
Thank you for a lovely stay. We will stay here again next time.
Tip for people staying: make sure you eat at the cafe- the food is healthy and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#100 of 139 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
St. Georges
#84 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#113 of 139 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Langstrasse
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 45 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Marta
Hotel Marta
#1 of 45 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension FurDich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension FurDich

Property: Pension FurDich
Address: Stauffacherstrasse 141, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are for you, for them, for everyone. Elegant and contemporary furnished, just to comfort you. The Pension fürDich is located just 2 minutes walk from the Helvetiaplatz, in a quiet and residential district in the middle of Zurich. Thanks to its strategic position it will be easy, quick and comfortable for you to go downtown and therefore reach Zurich´s main tourist attractions and business centres in no time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension FurDich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing