We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and reasonable price, but not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Citystudios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citystudios
Ranked #28 of 45 Zurich B&B and Inns
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location and reasonable price, but not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Solid location and a decent price given how expensive Switzerland is, but the room itself was pretty basic without much personality and not particularly clean, but it did the trick for a quick one night stop while passing through.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCitystudios, Manager at Citystudios, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Hello Nathan

Thanks for the comment.
As an Info. We got new Furniture, curtains, TV's etc and just today the last of the 10 room is undergoing a regular deep cleaning. And you are right we are Basic, but verry Central and try to be clean.

Greetings Roger Manager Citystudios Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
15
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We've just been in this hotel in Zurich for the opening of the indoor christmas market. We've spent one night and we've booked 2 apartments. The apartments were both clean, in a very good location, just 400 metros from the market in the central station and from singing christmas market. The hotel is basic, but a good choice for 1-2 days in Zurich. I would suggest it mostly for backpackers or young couples, but we are a family with a child and it was good for us as well.
The only bad points are: pubs in the nearby and till late it was noisy - even if there are double glazed windows, you can hear people laughing or speaking loud, the second bad point is the temperature - it's really really hot - and when we came in we had to open immediately the windows to breath.
Well…it's in the historical center, among shops for adults and "night ladies", but, still, good price and good location, very convenient the fridge, the microwave and the hob.
The size of the rooms is good, there was a cupboard both with hangers and shelves, a table with a chair and an armchair, two beds and two side beds. The bathroom has a good size as well, with bath towels and a hairdryer.
The three sleeps apartment is big, a twin bed and a separate single bed - bed linen included - a table with three chairs and a nice flat screen tv. And enough space to move around in three.

Room Tip: there is no lift, please ask for rooms on the first or second floor if you can't go up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuliaGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCitystudios, Manager at Citystudios, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
HEllo GiuliaGVA

A Lot has changed here.
Noise is mainly on Friday and Saturday. And we have new Noise canceling Curtains.
Heating system had a general overhaul there is new furniture and the night ladys got new regulation which limits them to a couple of hours in a limited area down the road. And Traffic is blocked after 19.00 in the road.

Greetings Roger Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Cons: No lift so try and get a low level room. Its not a hotel so bring your own shampoo and soap. Only towels provided. No late check in so make sure you can get there before it closes. Check in at video store next door. Rooms that do the job but not really comfortable. Our room wasn't cleaned till 4pm. Small tv in room. Dishes in kitchen really dirty. Had to spend the first day getting the kitchenette up to standard.

Pros: Close to main train station. There is a large grocery store 5 minutes away. Free laundry on site(if you can find it. There are no signs and even reception didn't know where it was!!)

Conclusion: Stay here if you absolutely have to but don't expect too much. I noticed there are some other nicer places with the same rate in the same street so best to try booking there first.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Winesingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCitystudios, Manager at Citystudios, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Hello Winesingh

For your Info:
We Provide soap and shower gel now, have a 24 hour reception in a real Hotel next door, Have new furniture and TVs and we due regular deepcleaning.
The Laundry is on the 5 floor just bring your own powder.
Greatings Roger Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

For the price, the location of this establishment CANNOT be beat. Just a short stroll across the river from the Zurich Hauptbahnhous. The tram system's "Central" station of the Zurich Tram with most lines passing thru or connecting to all points in the city is just 100m away as is the funicular up to the university district. Located in the heart of the old town, you really don't need to ride the tram to access most of the city's historic sections and shopping districts just across the river by the rail station. Even the lakefront at the end of the main retail shopping street is walkable.

This was our first time using an accommodation like this. Basically a studio apartment with equipped kitchenette in a small apartment house. One thing missing, an on-premise front desk or even an attendant. The only link to the "management" of this establishment is a sign on the front door referring you to the clerk at a video-DVD rental store 2 doors away and they are available only from 15:00 hours to 22:00 hours just to check you in and issue the door key. Only one issue that could not be immediately resolved during our 4 night stay: On our 3rd night, we came back to find that the service staff had only given us one bath towel even though the room was booked for 2. The DVD rental store clerk could not provide us with another towel as he had no supplies of any sort. Told us to leave a note taped to the bathroom mirror for the service staff to get the 2nd towel the next day. It was done and all was well the rest of our stay. The whole concept of independent living like this took a bit of getting used to but we easily adapted.
This is the closest thing to actually having your own apartment in old town Zurich.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ronald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCitystudios, Manager at Citystudios, responded to this review, July 8, 2015
Hello Ronald

Thank you for your in depth comment.

Since the beginning of 2015 we have 24 hour check in at a Hotelreception next door.

Greetings Roger Manager Citystudios Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed with my friends for 5 days. We needed hotel close to the main attractions. And this hotel has excellent location! 5 min to Bahnhofstrasse. Room was clean. The reception is at the shop next door.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCitystudios, Manager at Citystudios, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your Review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was given a room in the fourth floor. We have to walk up the stairs. As we are old folks, it was quite a problem ans we have to carry up our bags.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank HASIMZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCitystudios, Manager at Citystudios, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear HASIMZurich we are a small place with 10 Studios, unfortunately we have no Elevator, and since the Building is rented we can not put one in.

But for you and all people that have difficulties walking stairs: Contact me after your booking and I will try to give you the lowest floor possible. We have no rooms on the ground floor and just 1 room on the first floor which is usualy for 3 Persons. If possible we give it to viewer persons to. I can be reached at info@citystudios.ch

Greetings from R. Germann Manager Citystudios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublín, Irlanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Unfriendly staff, small room, expensive price. late check in, early check-out... they are very smart business people, if client wasnt the king.

We arrived really tired and they made us wait extra 2 hours, until we could check-in.
Location was good, although, close to main attractions of Zurich.

I wouldnt recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amurdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCitystudios, Manager at Citystudios, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your reply.
And the compliments. It has nothing to due with beeing clever or good businesspeople, but we need to clean the rooms first. Since we can start only when the guests are out, there is a check out Time, and to make sure that you can get in when posted we have a Check in Time, like every Hotel.

If you let us know in advance we will try to make an earlyer check in possible.

I can be reached at info@citystudios.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#105 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Basilea
Hotel Basilea
#110 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#34 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystudios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystudios

Property: Citystudios
Address: Zaehringerstrasse 33, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citystudios 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citystudios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing