We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel centrally ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #86 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just a 10 min walk from the main train station. It has been completely redone in a truly modern design style. Really like the layout and space in the rooms. Windows are well isolated, so you don't hear the noise from the street. There is a piano bar downstairs which has a nice atmosphere. The bathroom has Kiehls products!
Will be back

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Skigasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

I live in Zurich since 6 years and tried several restaurants of many levels, from cheap ones to mid range ones, this is one of the first up scale place I visited and I am really impressed. :)

Loved the attentive service and the location and atmosphere, we had a business dinner with fixed menu ( selected by my boss ), still there were few vegetarian options I could go for and taste and presentation was really well handled.

I am thinking to take my girlfriend there for a private event, she will surely like the place as well.

Place is slightly more expensive than usual ones in Zurich but the experience is really worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hotel is easy to reach from the central train station and offers everything you need to stay for a business-trip or weekend-visit of Zurich. Rooms are modern furnished in black&white colour, and bath-amenities are from Kiehl's. Great! But some of the rooms are really very small and go out on the streetside, so they are very noisy with all the traffic around the stauffacher quai - better you bring your earplugs with. so last time we decided to stay in an appartment on the 4th floor, going out on the riverside (sihl), which was really huge and the traffic-noise was more acceptable. Regretably the roof-terrace was closed because of heavy rains, but the restaurant downstairs offers excellent food we enjoyed a lot - as well as a wonderful breakfast (and brunch on sundays) in a relaxed atmosphere. The (rather young) stuff is very friendly, helpful and uncomplicated. If you're coming by car, don't forget to reserve a parking place in the hotel garage in advance (they only have a few) - because it's very hard to find a parking place near the hotel and you have to pay a high parking fee (like all over the city).

Room Tip: the small rooms go out on the street and are very very noisy when you have to open the window the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea_riegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room is small, but not unexpected for Zurich for what is described as a small single.

The location is good, an easy walk from the central station - however there are lots of hotels that fit this description in Zurich.

The restaurant downstairs served nice food at an ok price. Service got slower as the evening went on, but was acceptable.

The cooling in the room is rubbish - there is no air con and even with an outside temperature down to 19C with a fresh-ish breeze, at 23:00 to try and get it cool enough to sleep I had both windows open (significant traffic noise as well, cars, trams, people shouting) and the fan on full blast. I will have to shut the windows to sleep and accept the heat level.

There is a rooftop bar, my room is two floors below it on the 3rd floor. With the windows open to try and get the room cooler it is even noisier. With the windows shut and ear plugs I might be able to block the noise enough. Really disappointing and the hotel website is very vague on the rooftop bar and how noisy it is.

To be fair, the Internet is free with a good strong wireless signal, there is a hairdryer in the room, the bed is ok and the room clean. However many hotels offer that and 3 of these features do nothing for the act of sleeping.

The Hotel de Theatre that I stayed in last time is better for a good night of sleep when you are here for business. It was full though, which is why I am here.

Room Tip: The further from the rooftop bar the better and away from elevator and stairwell, but with a restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My initial impression was not that great, as the room was a bit basic, and the staff attitude was a bit casual. However, the place really grew on me, and the casual atmosphere became a plus. Really loved the rooftop bar with great view over the city and convivial atmosphere, particularly on the Friday evening with a mixture of clientele. It probably helped that we had arrived for the Zurich festival (completely unaware) and saw fireworks and aerobatic displays.

The terrace in the ground floor was also charming and overlooks the river.

Breakfasts were really good, particularly the scrambled egg and the bread was very tasty. We had one evening meal there which was also very good.

Downsides - our room was very hot and there was no air con. It was quite noisy with the window open even on the 4th floor. Room a bit basic but clean and good shower.
Zurich is just unbelievably expensive. Things were about 50-100pc more than you would expect. But it is a lovely city.

Room Tip: I would go for the top floor, as it would be furthest from the traffic, and nearest the roof top bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Was tough to find the hotel and the hotel didnt get back to my mails on how do reach the hotel from Zurich station...the address on the booking.com site was not accurate and that made it worse...the hotel is on top of the bar/restaurant..
Whats good about it?
once you have found the hotel, the location is fine...its quite withing walking distances to most of the places you would want to walk around to in Zurich...The service is minimal but quite well done. The gentleman at night as well as the lady during the day were quite good at addressing our concerns..Price is fine for the city that it is in :-)
Issues or things that could be better
Location details - details on how to reach the hotel could be put in detail...otherwise its an ok place..small and basic kind of room

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

You are a 5 minute walk from Zurich central station on a quiet riverside location, another 10 minutes walk puts you in the heart of the old town or on the lakeside. The bar/restaurant was first class and our room was roomy and comfortable. There is also a rood top bar with decent views of the surrounding area, but not of the lake. A great place to stay and a change from the bland big hotel chains

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor, facing the river, not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
#47 of 138 in Zurich
496 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#66 of 138 in Zurich
226 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#56 of 138 in Zurich
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel One Zurich
#91 of 138 in Zurich
49 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 138 in Zurich
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Helvetia

Address: Stauffacherquai 1, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $169 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Helvetia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant Helvetia - the name says it all! Nestled in the heart of Zurich, in one of the most elegant buildings in the city centre, our hotel offers its guests authentic Swiss-style hospitality. Our boutique hotel with its 35 charming rooms and two luxury business apartments in the attic floor is a real jewel nestled in the heart of the city. With a great love for detail, classic art nouveau elements have been combined with a modern interior to create a unique living ambiance. The family-run and individual Helvetia hotel offers a home from home in a globalised world to busy business travellers, city explorers and Zurich lovers alike. The hotel interior was designed by the renowned Zurich interior designers Atelier Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing