We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely 'home' away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakini's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 45 Zurich B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely 'home' away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I really loved my stay at Dakini's bed and breakfast. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. There is a kitchen that you can use which is nice. Breakfast is delicious too. Susanne the host is a really lovely, helpful lady with a great sense of humour! The bus stop is only 2 mins walk, with excellent links to Zurich central. I would really recommend Dakini's because if you're looking for a home away from home then this is it! Enjoy Zurich too, it's stunning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
6
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Scrupulously clean. Beds were comfortable but the only cover was a very cozy (but too warm) comforter. A light blanket would have been better for the weather. Breakfast was excellent (but nothing hot), with a nice selection of breads, cheese, meat and fruit, cereal and yogurt. Having the kitchen was nice. It made it easy to keep and prepare food for a late snack and for packing a lunch and a place to keep some beer cold. This really made things more homelike. Susanne was very helpful with directions and navigating the transit system. Bus and tram stops are close. The only down side is that the neighborhood was kind of noisy; street noise and a bar with "enthusiastic" customers across the street. With the window closed it was quiet, but it was warm enough that we wanted to leave the window open.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kush23435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
336 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thanks to a friend making a recommendation we booked at Dakini's B&B for our two nights in Zurich. After trolling through hotel prices and reviews we decided to save money on accommodation and knowing that Zurich is a relatively expensive city to visit we opted for a B&B.
Very gratful that we selected Dakini's as the best nights sleeping so far in our weeks of travel.
Homely as in home comforts, clean as we are quite fussy in such matters, convenient location in the city ...not out in the 'burbs. Really an excellent example of a B&B ... Bed great and so too the Breakfast ! Our room was spacious and light filled share bathroom was always spotless and having a full equipped kitchen available at all times allowed us to prepare our own meals.
Would not bother booking anywhere else on our return to Zurich.

Room Tip: First floor corner room is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms are colourful. The furniture I would describe as a little dated yet with character. We experienced our rooms as homy. Everything was neat and clean. Great!
Just the pillows in our rooms felt a bit thin.
The breakfast was tasty, simple but fresh. Keep in mind that only one cup of coffee is included in your breakfast - in case you urge for a coffein shock.
Arriving there we felt welcome by the owner. This impression changed over the proceeding days. We regarded it best to basicallly listen to her stories to not raise her unpredictable mood and felt a real conversation was not intended.
If you don t mind to listen, then this is the place to be. Thumbs up for the rooms and the location.
(If you read about "Kreis 4", no worries about the mentioned red light district and drug scene. That is a joke compare to other cities. I ve lived in the surrounding for several years and never felt harassed.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fancy_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I found this very interesting and reasonably priced B&B in Zürich through a relative who is an artist. Every room was furnished differently and in a very creative way and with style. Even the walls of staircase to go from floor to floor was filled with beautiful collage art work. And the rooms and bathroom were also very clean and and there was always a fresh scent in the air, my mother observed.
We wanted to spend some time together at a quiet and unusual place, since we had not seen each other in a while. I flew in from New York and my mother from Brazil, so we decided this was the perfect place to stay in Zürich where we would be able to sleep well after a long flight and where the creative environment would stimulate and fill us with positive energy....
The owner and host, a very friendly helpful talkative and worldly woman, treated us so well! We really appreciated this personal style and attention. At a hotel we would have been treated in a much more impersonal way.
The breakfast was also very substantial with homemade yoghurt and a variety of homemade jams and Swiss cheeses, served with croissants fresh Swiss muesli and whole wheat bread and of course with coffee and tea.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to spend a fun and relaxing time in Zürich at a great place that serves great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We found the host was most accommodating and helpful for our first time stay in Zurich. The rooms were kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and breakfast was given lots of care and thought. The host really enhanced our stay in Zurich and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay in Zürich, and reasonably priced. All the rooms were furnished in a simple but elegant style and super clean! The owner/host is very friendly helpful and talkative, I really liked this personal style, not like a hotel where you are just viewed as someone who pays.
The breakfast was also very lovely with homemade yoghurt and jams, served with fresh muesli.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qt22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Pension FurDich
#20 of 45 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Langstrasse
Guesthouse Anwandstrasse
Guesthouse Anwandstrasse
#22 of 45 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Old Town
Lindas Beauty Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gasthaus 210
#26 of 45 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Old Town
PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar
Old Town
Hotel Marta
Hotel Marta
#1 of 45 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakini's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakini's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Brauerstrasse 87, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dakini's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 rooms in 3 centrally located apartments in a trendy neighborhood. Dakini has been operational since 2003, in a peaceful and generous atmosphere. Our guests appreciate the individual design of the rooms and the friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dakini's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakini`s Hotel
Dakini`s Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing