We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great indian buffet!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandoori BBQ

Tandoori BBQ
Ranked #419 of 1,875 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $25 - $91
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Enge
Zurich
Level Contributor
143 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great indian buffet!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great indian buffet, very good food, nice and polite staff and tasty food. We have been there already 2 times with colleagues, and definitely will go there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annouchka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    50
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good buffet, but average taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have been there more than 3 or 4 times. If you go during the afternoon buffet, it turns out to be a good deal. But the taste is a little bland which waters down the authenticity quotient. That is my biggest complaint with the restaurant, otherwise I would rate it as very good. Once visiting with my family [2 adults and 1 infant], we tried the ala carte and the bill came up to a 100 CHF. That is exorbitant by even Zurich standards. When going there with my colleagues, the buffet for 2 comes to be between 50 & 60 CHF which is reasonable for the variety on offer.

The place is quite popular especially with the local office going staff and it can be hard to find a place if you walk in during the lunch buffet. If you want to have a sumptuous lunch, it is worth a try. If you have plans for an ala carte, it could be an expensive affair. Downtown property prices could be driving the prices maybe. The staff is not very courteous, but they are friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food and service: ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Tandoori BBQ is a good place for lunch, with their buffet. Going there for dinner will be a one time thing for us. 25-35 CHF for a small portion of seemingly reheated indian food (essentially only tomato, onion, and a bit of spice/curry is pricy. The staff is not overwhelmingly friendly (though that is normal in Zurich). We were told: "no switching" when we asked to have nan instead of rice. It should not pose such a big challenge and there are certainly more guest accommodating ways to handle such requests.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronRubinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“As tasty as it was before!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I luv to go Tandoori bbq every-time for its tasty and yummy food. I am fan of Chicken TIkka Masala. A must have when you go to this place.

A well priced and yummy dinner at all time in Zurich when you looking for good Indian dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kush1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
667 reviews
462 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,624 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We decided to visit the Tandoori without any reservation. Despite the restaurant was packed we found a space. The very friendly waiters offered a wide range of menus and we did choose two typical curries. Obviously we had to wait a bit because a large group of visitors had ordered right before us. The starters came quickly and in very large portions. The main courses were even bigger and delicous, one of which farely hot and with a nice combination of herbs. Alltogether a great place to it Indian food. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankGeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori BBQ also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Tandoori BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing