We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service”
Review of Restaurant Opera

Restaurant Opera
Ranked #139 of 1,946 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: French, Swiss, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Seefeld
Description: Let yourself be tempted by Pascal Gloser and our creative team, with their sophisticated dishes of the highest quality served in the Opera seafood restaurant. Awarded with the Golden Fish, we are committed to sustainability and care. That is why our guests enjoy fresh, mainly local ingredients, surrounded by inspiring surrealist-baroque wall paintings depicting scenes from the world of opera.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great friendly service”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I took my husband here earlier this month for his birthday. I had mentioned when booking that it was his birthday and we arrived to find they had decorated our table with a birthday message which was a lovely touch. The chef and sommelier also came over to say Happy Birthday. It was quiet as a Tuesday night after Easter Bank Holiday, but their efforts still made for a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
We were in a fish mood so opted for the set menu but swapped the main of lamb for whole turbot which we had seen on way in. This made things more expensive (we spent around CHF350 for 2 including fab bottle of white Bordeaux), but the set menu sounded delicious also and was quite reasonable for Zurich.
I would highly recommend. Food and service were both excellent. They brought a beautiful selection of mini desserts on the house with sparklers for the birthday boy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment about our Restaurant Opera. It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that you appreciated the decoration and congratulations for the birthday of your husband. Furthermore we are delighted that you highly recommend us as Restaurant in Zurich.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back with us soon!

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    68
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acapulco, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Truly exceptional.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had heard so many good things about the Opera that I was actually expecting to be disappointed. I had also imagined that the place was going to be pretentious and snotty having read some of their reviews. The discreet entrance gives little away but the moment you walk in and are greeted by the warm and friendly staff in the warm and friendly (described as Baroque, but interesting rather than grand) restaurant, you just know that it's going to be a good night out.
My friend and I decided on a tasting menu with wine, and sat back and enjoyed one after another, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented dishes, all of them a symphony of flavours, smells and colours, and none of whose correct names I can remember as I don't speak Swiss German! The wine was all good although we thought that a bit more would have been nice.
The Opera is not a cheap night out (nothing much is in Zurich) but the level of excellence you will find here makes it an extremely good place to have a celebration dinner, even if you have no particular reason to celebrate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Many thanks for this great comment about our Restaurant Opera. It was a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your diner with us and that you appreciated our warm and friendly employees. Furthermore, I am delighted that the dishes in our Restaurant were “perfectly cooked and beautiful presented”.

It would be great to welcome you soon again with us!

Kind regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Yummy but expensive”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was in the mood for white asparagus and saw that they were featuring this delicacy. As a solo diner I appreciated the option to choose a table away from others or in the middle of room. I chose three courses, a small mixed green salad, spargel with ham and new potatoes and a rhubarb and strawberry suite of desserts. Everything was lovingly prepared. Waitstaff was attentive and not intrusive. Beware portions are not large, and price tag is high.. I calculated that my asparagus came to $5+ per spear ( worth it!) I was staying across the street at the Hotel Opera and appreciated their discount voucher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JZ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Restaurant Opera. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner and that you appreciated our attentive wait staff. Concerning your comment about the price for your 3-course dinner: the asparagus we prepare and serve to our guests are a seasonal specialty from Baden (Germany) and therefore an exclusiveness.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great menu, wonderful cuisine, perfect ambiance and superb staff. We went back 2 times for dinner and then breakfast!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSDriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment about our Restaurant. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your two dinners and breakfast with us and that you appreciated the ambiance.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us in Zurich!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner at The Opera Restaurant”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Opera Restaurant is in the Ambassador Hotel. Across the street, stands the Hotel Opera. Then we found out the two hotels are under same ownership.

The recently renovated restaurant gives a nice "theatre" feel with the wall and ceiling paintings. We had a starter from the special menu -- "Tataki red tuna"(the long name is Tataki red tuna with crayfish, rice noodles, salmon caviar and cucumber-wasabi ice). High quality food ingredients and very creative -- must try.

I asked for something local as main course and was introduced to "sliced veal Zurich style, mushroom cream sauce, served with Rösti" -- very tender veal.

The whole dinner was filled with Zurich wine -- Champignons und knuspriger Rösti as the aperitif, Quintett Weisse Assemblage (Zweifel Weine), 2010, a white wine of 5 grapes, goes with the Tataki red tuna, and Stadt Zürich Blauburgunder (Landolt) Zürich-Riesbach, 2011 ', a red wine produced 500m from Zurich centre, goes with the veal.

For dessert, we had organic mascarpone cream with amaretto, quince jelly and lime sorbet. The mascarpone cream on the plate speaks out why Swiss people are so proud of their cream products. To round up, we had a glass of dessert wine -- Vidal / Riesling – Sylvaner / Johanniter, Weinkellerei Zweifel, Zürich 2009.

Thanks Alex the Maitre d' and Walid our waiter. They enjoyed so much serving their guests thus making the dinner even more enjoyable !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Restaurant Opera. It was great to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that you appreciated the “theater”-atmosphere and service of our employees throughout this evening.

It would be great to welcome you once back in the Restaurant Opera.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Opera also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing