We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Opera

Restaurant Opera
Ranked #215 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: European, Central European, French, Swiss, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Seefeld
Description: Top Chef Pierre Meyer and his Restaurant Opera team look forward to delighting you in a unique ambience with seductively prepared fish specialities of the highest quality. Awards including the Golden Fish and entries in the Gault Millau guide reflect the significance we attach to impeccable quality and assured sustainability, which is why we use only fresh, predominantly regional, ingredients.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great menu, wonderful cuisine, perfect ambiance and superb staff. We went back 2 times for dinner and then breakfast!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSDriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment about our Restaurant. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your two dinners and breakfast with us and that you appreciated the ambiance.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us in Zurich!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner at The Opera Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Opera Restaurant is in the Ambassador Hotel. Across the street, stands the Hotel Opera. Then we found out the two hotels are under same ownership.

The recently renovated restaurant gives a nice "theatre" feel with the wall and ceiling paintings. We had a starter from the special menu -- "Tataki red tuna"(the long name is Tataki red tuna with crayfish, rice noodles, salmon caviar and cucumber-wasabi ice). High quality food ingredients and very creative -- must try.

I asked for something local as main course and was introduced to "sliced veal Zurich style, mushroom cream sauce, served with Rösti" -- very tender veal.

The whole dinner was filled with Zurich wine -- Champignons und knuspriger Rösti as the aperitif, Quintett Weisse Assemblage (Zweifel Weine), 2010, a white wine of 5 grapes, goes with the Tataki red tuna, and Stadt Zürich Blauburgunder (Landolt) Zürich-Riesbach, 2011 ', a red wine produced 500m from Zurich centre, goes with the veal.

For dessert, we had organic mascarpone cream with amaretto, quince jelly and lime sorbet. The mascarpone cream on the plate speaks out why Swiss people are so proud of their cream products. To round up, we had a glass of dessert wine -- Vidal / Riesling – Sylvaner / Johanniter, Weinkellerei Zweifel, Zürich 2009.

Thanks Alex the Maitre d' and Walid our waiter. They enjoyed so much serving their guests thus making the dinner even more enjoyable !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Restaurant Opera. It was great to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that you appreciated the “theater”-atmosphere and service of our employees throughout this evening.

It would be great to welcome you once back in the Restaurant Opera.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea ALICANTE
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“This resturant should be no 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was my second visit, I wae there last october, now returned with my wife. The Food,Service and wine are the best, the resturant is being exstended, which is good as it is difficult to get a table.Had fresh Turbot, which was perfect, any visit to Zurich should include a night in this Resturant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Many thanks for this very nice comment about our Restaurant Opera. It is an honour for us that you call us your number 1 restaurant in Zurich and recommend it to everyone. As you know we are an award-winning fish restaurant and Turbot is our signature dish. Nerveless our restaurant is also certificated for best quality food of organic origin. We have extended our restaurant with a lobby lounge where you can enjoy from now on the whole day dishes from our great cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“disaster”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Many good reviews were sufficient reason to dine. Upon entering, we are minutes to wait. We may hang our jackets ourselves. After a while we were led to a cozy round table by the window. At the aperitif bread is served: a tomato baguette with a knife, you can cut yourself. The bread is so crispy that the whole table is full of crumbs. From the menu we choose a Japanese inspired appetizer with red tuna, shrimps and wasabi ice. The tuna and ice are delicious, but, moreover, one crayfish takes your all tastes, so sharply marinated, for minutes you taste nothing and the print is in your mouth. What is the reason to serve this so spicy together with the butter soft tuna so fine in taste?
As a main course my partner chose the Wiener Schnitzel with preiselberen. Simple but correct. I chose turbot with shrimps on soft cooked vegetables. The vegetables are tasty, the prawns are minuscule and the turbot was way overcooked.
Throughout the meal, we were annoyed by the chatter between the staff, from the noise and the shouting in the kitchen and dishes or plates clattering on to the ground. If I am ready to pay, my credit card is clearly visible next to the bill on the table, but the manager two steps next to our table is not deign to checkout. We pack our own coats and leave the establishment. What a disaster.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We would like to apologize wholeheartedly for these inconveniences you experienced at your dinner in our Restaurant Opera. I immediately discussed your experience with the restaurant manager and chef the cuisine and we took the necessary steps in order to avoid all the encountered problems in the future. Because your experience does not at all comply with our standards!

Please accept my apologies once again!

It would be great to welcome you once back with us to show you that we can do better.

Kind regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Quality and Elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The restaurant, just behind the opera house offers a decent variety of creative and very tasty dishes. We had venison chops on a light red wine sauce and the local speciality, minced beef with mushrooms on a cream sauce (Zurich Geschnetzeltes), both delicious. We shared a salmon and monkfish carpaccio, a delight also for the eyes! Pierre Meyer, the Chef deserves well his 14 Gault Millau points. The service was very friendly and helpful, the wine list extended and for all tastes and prices. The only deception was the quite short and uninspired desert list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Many thanks for your comment about our Restaurant Opera. It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that you appreciated the friendly and helpful service. Concerning your comment about our desert list: we always would like to improve our service and will gladly consider your feedback.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us!

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Opera also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing