We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, service & atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Opera

Restaurant Opera
Ranked #166 of 1,892 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: European, Central European, French, Swiss, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Seefeld
Description: Top Chef Pierre Meyer and his Restaurant Opera team look forward to delighting you in a unique ambience with seductively prepared fish specialities of the highest quality. Awards including the Golden Fish and entries in the Gault Millau guide reflect the significance we attach to impeccable quality and assured sustainability, which is why we use only fresh, predominantly regional, ingredients.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, service & atmosphere”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Walking in Zurich on a rainy Sunday night, we found that our dinner options were rather limited, so we considered ourselves very fortunate to find the Restaurant Opera very near our hotel.

We were warmly welcomed & immediately seated in the stylish dining room. Our server Walid was very attentive and friendly, answering all of our questions. While the service was very attentive and professional, we were also made to feel very relaxed & comfortable.

We had the four course prix fixe fish menu, and while some of items were not exactly to my taste, everything was expertly prepared and presented beautifully. We really could not have asked for a better experience! Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank idservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment about our Restaurant Opera which belongs to the Hotel Ambassador. We are happy to hear that you could not have had a better experience and that you liked our stylish dining room. The walls and ceiling are painted with different motifs of various opera scences which create a truly spectacular setting. We are happy to read that you appreciated the friendliness and attentiveness of your waiter and that you felt very relaxed and comfortable. I will forward your compliments to the service and kitchen team. Thank you also for mentioning the beautiful preparation and presentation of the fish dishes. We hope to welcome you once back with us!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    63
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We ordered the Sea Bass in crusted salt and it was amazing!!! The presentation alone was impressive, but the taste was even better. I would definitely recommend to spend an evening at the Restaurant Opera.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your time to drop also a nice comment about our restaurant Opera on the TripAdvisor page. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your diner and that you highly recommend to other guests the Sea Bass baked in the salt crust. We are looking forward to your next visit in our Restaurant Opera and in our Hotel Ambassador Zürich.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average - there may be better choices nearby”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Dinner experience was a bit disappointing due to the waiter's unfriendliness - perhaps having a bad evening. Food was above average, but not sure I would eat there again.

Breakfast was fine - nothing extraordinary.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank MHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your comment about our Restaurant Opera. We are very sorry to hear that your dinner experience in our Restaurant was not to your full satisfaction and would like to apologize that one waiter was disappointing. Friendliness is the most important value of our restaurant and we have taken immediately the necessary steps in order to ensure a friendly and efficient service at all times. I saw in your comment that you stayed with us in September. Since October we have a new chef. He is famous in Zurich and awarded with Gault Millau Points. I hope that you can give us a second chance and that you will try the dishes of our new chef when you are the next time in Zurich.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well thought out menus using seasonal and fresh ingredients, usually with a small portion available”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Attentive service and a good choice of menus- lots of good fish dishes available. They will substitute side dishes with no problem, even suggesting substitues. It's just across from the opera house and many movie theatres. We find you can also carry on a private conversation without shouting. It is not "hip" if that's what you are seeking, nor is it for the super bargain seekers. Prices are fair for the quality. Has a "10 minute" lunch menu each day, so those under time pressure can still enjoy something that isn't just fast food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZurichKashew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review about our Restaurant Opera. It is a pleasure to read that you were pleased with the attentiveness of our service team, the fresh and seasonal ingredients that our kitchen uses and the large selection of different kind of fishs. Thank you also for mentioning our convenient location next to the opera house and in the city centre of Zurich and our daily lunch menu served in 10 minutes. We would be delighted to welcome you once back in our Restaurant Opera.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very popular restaurant with locals as well as hotel guests”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The food and wine was suberb, paricularly the various ways they cooked the white asparagus which had just come into season.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DidiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Restaurant Opera, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a comment for our Restaurant Opera. We are delighted to hear that the food and the wine was superb and that you particularly liked the various ways our cuisine cooks the white asparagus and that you enjoyed the great mix from locals and hotel guest visiting the restaurant. We hope to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Opera also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing