We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss the Austerbar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hummer & Austernbar Zurich

Hummer & Austernbar Zurich
Ranked #16 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uber 75 Jahre ist es her, dass Ernst Manz im "Zunftsali" des Hotel St. Gotthard die Hummerbar ins Leben gerufen und damit eine perfekte Buhne fur prominente Leute wie Placido Domingo, Jose Carreras, Arnold Schwarzenegger und Gunther Sachs geschaffen hat. Die Hummer & Austernbar ist eines der fuhrenden Restaurants an der Bahnhofstrasse Zurich und eine sehr bekannte und beliebte Institution in kulinarischen Kreisen. Die Hummerbar wurde 1935 eroffnet und ist sehr traditionell und doch innovativ in der Zubereitung von Hummern, Austern und Meeresfruchten aller Art. Bis heute hat das Gourmet Restaurant in Zurich die Originaldekoration bewahrt. Fotos von beruhmten Filmstars und Politikern, welche bereits Gaste waren, hangen an den Wanden. Die Hummerbar bietet klassische franzosische Gourmet Kuche an, kombiniert mit einem mediterranen Akzent. Sie konnen in einem eleganten Ambiente frische Hummer oder Austern geniessen und werden stets mit abwechslungsreichen und innovativen Gerichten uberrascht.
Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Austerbar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

In hotel St.Gotthard is the Hummer & Austernbar. Only superlatives apply. Oysters, fish, lobster, all super fresh, of the highest quality and refined prepared. Very attentive and professional service. Not just a detour, but worth a trip to Zurich.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robbert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Robbert007,

We thank you very much for the excellent evaluation at Tripadvisor. It is our highest goal to keep the quality and service of the traditional Lobster & Oyster Bar at this level to satisfy the culinary needs of our guests. We look very much forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    56
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Lobster and Oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

During my stay in the Hotel St. Gotthard, I visited the Hummer- & Austernbar (Lobster- & Oysterbar), that is a bar, but also a fine dining restaurant with excellent seafood & fresh fish, prepared directly at the table. The oysters "Belon" very fresh, one of the best qualities ever tasted. I recommend the Lobster Champagne. We had also an entire sole, served at the table in 2 services. Top quality.
The service is very friendly and efficient. The winelist is not extensive, but nice French and Italian wines.
A nice cosy atmosphere, great for a candellight dinner. Expensive, but normal for this quality and for Zürich.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mike L,

We are very proud to receive this great comment at Tripadvisor and thank you for your time. It is our biggest goal to maintain our quality and service at the institutional Lobster & Oyster Bar and to satisfy our important guests. We will pass on your compliments to our staff and hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Review of Hummer and Austernbar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We initially just went in for a drink before the Opera but ended up staying for a meal. Excellent food and good recommendation of wine from the waiter. Waiter staff very helpful and friendly. However the lady behind the bar was very loud and overbearing, definitely distracted from the atmosphere of the place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catie0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Catie0511,

Thank you very much for your honest comment at Tripadvisor. We appreciate very much that you enjoyed our food and atmosphere. We want to apologize for the bad impression the Lady in the background made to you und we will observe the situation more closely. We look very much forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You have to try their oyster and American lobster!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

One of the few places open on New year- and offer amazing seafood. Intensively, freshly prepared and unforgettable. Oysters as a starter is a must, I would suggest try their grilled or steam lobster as main. Didn't manage to make it to desert as was so full and satisfied after my main. Very personal, friendly and attentive service. Wine list could have been better but no complains. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kascioglu, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Mrs Jessie,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
For sure we will pay more attention concerning our wine choice.
It is very pleasent to learn that our Oysters and Lobster dishes met your expectations.
Looking forward welcoming you back at our Restaurant.
Kind regards
A. Kascioglu
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss this Swiss gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Located in the St. Gotthard hotel, this fine dining gem does not disappoint.
Great ambience, exquisite service, and incredible cuisine make it a must!
We went in just looking to snack and had oysters ( they threw in extra ) , 2 huge servings of foie gras, and an amusé of salmon mousse.
We were too full for dessert but our server brought out delicious complimentary desserts plus
Swiss chocolates to go!

Looking around the room, every dish looked more decadent than the next. We 'll be back !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grellvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kascioglu, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Grelviss
Thank you very much for your positive feedback concerning our food and service.
We are also very happy to note that you will visit us again.
Looking forward welcoming you back at our Restaurant, we remain,
with best regards.
Ahmet Kascioglu
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummer & Austernbar Zurich also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Hummer & Austernbar Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing