We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service, a must - go restaurant in Zurich.”

Hummer & Austernbar Zurich
Ranked #16 of 1,892 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uber 75 Jahre ist es her, dass Ernst Manz im "Zunftsali" des Hotel St. Gotthard die Hummerbar ins Leben gerufen und damit eine perfekte Buhne fur prominente Leute wie Placido Domingo, Jose Carreras, Arnold Schwarzenegger und Gunther Sachs geschaffen hat. Die Hummer & Austernbar ist eines der fuhrenden Restaurants an der Bahnhofstrasse Zurich und eine sehr bekannte und beliebte Institution in kulinarischen Kreisen. Die Hummerbar wurde 1935 eroffnet und ist sehr traditionell und doch innovativ in der Zubereitung von Hummern, Austern und Meeresfruchten aller Art. Bis heute hat das Gourmet Restaurant in Zurich die Originaldekoration bewahrt. Fotos von beruhmten Filmstars und Politikern, welche bereits Gaste waren, hangen an den Wanden. Die Hummerbar bietet klassische franzosische Gourmet Kuche an, kombiniert mit einem mediterranen Akzent. Sie konnen in einem eleganten Ambiente frische Hummer oder Austern geniessen und werden stets mit abwechslungsreichen und innovativen Gerichten uberrascht.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, a must - go restaurant in Zurich.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food is really good, worth every penny of it. The service was good, I would say it is top noch. They have a Michelin food award, and hence we tried. The Manager, Mr. Lutz greet us and provided excellent service. The dinner end with complimentary deserts. Everything was perfect.

P's: I am a gourmet food lover.

This place is a must go for really good food , fine dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carrietanml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear canrietanml,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor, we appreciate very much and will forward with pleasure to our kitchen & service staff, managed by Lutz Ellermann Maître d'Hôtel and Filipe Alloin, Excecutive Chef.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    56
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food was great but was expecting more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

After all the amazing reviews of this place on TA, I was expecting an extraordinary gourmet delight. The food was tasty but was not close to being amazing. The restaurant is cozy and service was efficient. I wouldn't return since the food or decor really didn't standout as being extraordinary in anyway. Thanks to the other TA who remarked that the restaurant is in a hotel (that was very helpful)!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank b1u1d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear b1u1d1,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your are right, very often our guests do not realize that the Lobster- & Oysterbar, famous for fish and seafood since 1935, is part of the Hotel St. Gotthard, since more than 120 year in the market. The restaurant has a separate entrance (Lintheschergasse, the street is called) and an entrance from the Hotel St. Gotthard.
Your comments about food and service motivate us to work on a daily base to offer a very high standard to our customers.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sparagus season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a great lunch with sparagus soup and warm white and green sparagus with new potatoes. Sitting outside on one of the first warm days this spring we really enjoyed the delicious food and the professional and friendly service. Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NN-CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear NN-CPH,

thank you for your kind coment about our Restaurant and the great asparagus experience. We hope to welcome you during your next trip in Zürich again.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“First class service and even better food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

That's the place to be for a business lunch or other special occasions. I just had a wonderful "filet de boeuf" - it was a dream.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear ThomasH8015

thank you very much for you kind and excellent comment on Tripadvisor. We are specialized on fish, seafood, oysters and lobsters, so we are very glad that you appreciate also our meat - dishes, specially our bone-aged tenderloin beef "Rossini" is an absolut runner, as you could enjoy.

Looking forward welcoming you soon in our Lobster- & Oysterbar, we remain

with our best regards.

Martin Santschi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb Service and wonderful creative food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to try this restaurant and were overly surprised. The service was as good as it gets and the staff extremely attentive. The food was fantastic along with the atmosphere. We will look forward to going again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummer & Austernbar Zurich also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Hummer & Austernbar Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing