We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian food in town.”
Review of La Pasta

La Pasta
Ranked #9 of 1,944 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Homemade pasta...
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian food in town.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I was there many time and always odered Spahgetii seafood. It's so delicious and the waiter is very friendly. But, the waitress looks like a robot!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zuerii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    172
    43
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, tasty food”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our hotel concierge mentioned that this is where he dined so we knew we wouldn't be disappointed and we weren't. The free wi-fi was a nice touch, since we didn't have it at the hotel. Casual atmosphere but simultaneously sophisticated. Glad we went!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pricy, but a good place to eat in the city center...”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had the chef recommended chicken tagliatelle with mushrooms. Creamy sauce and home made cooked pasta to perfection. It tasted really good. The tiramissu with chocolate chips in the cream was great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DoCamandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly advised!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great place, nice staff and good food, highly advise to go if looking for something not very formal.
Especially, advised for the quality of the fish which was fresh and tasty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank World C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Try Switzerland's third culture: everything Italian, except pizza”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

After German and French, Italian is Switzerland's third official language and culture, albeit predominantly in the southern regions of the country. La Pasta is a modern Italian restaurant on Niederdorfstrasse in the heart of Zurich's old town. Anyone can direct you to this charming pedestrian-only street (including other tourists). La Pasta is about 3 blocks from the central train station.

Although, it was fairly full when I went, the noise was modest and certainly easy to carry on a conversation without shouting. The staff are friendly and the menus are in 3 languages (Italian, German and English). The specialties of the house concern homemade noodles.

I had the Taglitelle with a lemon, zucchini and sun dried tomato sauce. They provide you with your own bowl of freshly grated parmesan, which is a nice touch as you can keep topping off your plate with a little more parmesan as you work your way through the plate. In brief, all the guilty pleasures of a pasta meal are provided without the guilt!

There is also a nice array of fresh salads; something that is all to rare in a city focused on meat and potatoes. The wine selection is naturally pointed to Italy and I indulged in a glass of Amarone. Nevertheless, there is no pizza - you can find that at any one of dozens of take-out shops!

So you now want to know the price - well for Zurich it is in the mid-price range, which means about $100 for two with a glass of wine each. All said and done, you will not be disappointed and likely will come away very satisfied with this selection.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pasta also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to La Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing