We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central , convenient , relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Ranked #65 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GREECE
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“central , convenient , relaxing”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel , on the return of our holidyas , towards the final destination . We have styaed in the PH Zurich (an excellent , but EXPENSIVE hotel ) so we decided to try our luck on this one . We were highly surpriced of the price that we paid (CHF 136) . We were expecting a cramped room , but we 've got an Executive room The room was medium to large size with plenty of space . We did not have many suitcases and we wer eable to move freely from the double bed that it had . The two night stands on each side of the bed had reading lights and a telephone appliance . What we found interestin g is that it had a tassimo coffree machine , (as the one that we have at home) with T disks for beverages . The bathroom had a toilet , a sink and a bath with steamed mirror . A mounted HDTV flat TV was also in the room . We enjoyed the room overall and we would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letterman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

We would be very pleased to see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    248
    75
    11
    8
See reviews for
63
156
47
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I would like to thank once again the Hotel for nice staying! It was my first travel to Switzerland and it was very lovely!
I liked very much the location. It's true - it's easy to walk to the train station and very close to the tram. The second is the stuff. All receptionists are excellent. The are very polite, competent and ready to answer all your questions and needs. Besides, I like the room, it's comfortable. What I appreciated a lot is free Wi-Fi. It was so useful, because I had to work during my staying. The food was good. And I liked a bar despite it was not so big and a little bit crowded at nights (especially after events at the stadium), the prices were quite adequate.
I would recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kozi_Naki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the very favorable review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

Positive Reviews like yours are very rewarding for our team, thank you very much for your support. The comments have been forwarded to our Rooms Division Manager and Food & Beverage Manager so that they can cascade them down.

We hope to see you soon back in our Holiday Inn Zürich Messe.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Holiday Inn Zurich Messe is a very good hotel, great location right next to tram stops, opposite Hallenstadion concert venue. Wonderful restaurant in the hotel, we would say we had the nicest food in that restaurant. Recommend the tomato soup with olive oil and cheese, and the fish dish. Mouth watering. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maribellisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

The compliments on the food have been forwarded to our Executive Chef and our F&B Manager.

We would be very pleased to see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

I stayed in this hotel during my trip to Switzerland. I chose it because it had air conditioning which is not common in Zurich.

Pros:
1. The building is new, designed in a contemporary style and looks good.
2. Rooms are large and well-equipped. No fridges though but there was an ice machine in corridor.
2. Reaching airport by tram is easy indeed.
3. Breakfast is good. Rooms have kettles (great for me).
4. Free WiFi worked fine with my phone.

Cons:
1. My room was facing the street on a lower floor and was very noisy as a result. Earplugs were helping but just barely - noise made by diesel buses was loud enough to penetrate them and a very large window was extremely helpful in that. Fortunately buses were rare during the night.
2. Bathroom has rolling glass door which rumbles as well - yes, I could hear the doors from adjacent rooms. The door has transparent stripes - may be inappropriate for some people.
3. Distance to Hauptbahnhof is 25-30 minutes - including walking to tram stop and waiting for a tram.
4. There was a 900 francs deposit - in addition to the fee, with no mentioning it anywhere or unblocking the sum right away, so I had to e-mail the hotel for an explanation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear guest,

We thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

Thank you also for the positive comments on the building, rooms, breakfast, public transport and WIFI.

From the negative points we have noted that you have not been informed about the reservation made on the credit card. We have discussed that issue with our Front Office Manager and she has reminded her staff to always inform guests about any reserved money and to unblock the money immediately if not needed any longer.

Thank you again for having stayed with us. We would be very pleased to see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We selected the hotel based on the positive review by other members and happy about making a right decision. The only comment is, during the first day of our stay the room had tea/coffee maker with sugar/cream/tea bags etc.. However, for the remaining days of our stay they did not refill the same. Upon asking, they said to come and collect the same from front desk.

I felt prudent to buy the same on my own rather then asking them again and again.

Other then that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PravinBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

We are very sorry that the guest amenities were not refilled daily as it should be. Please rest assured that in the meantime we have trained our staff to avoid such inconveniences in the future.

We would be very pleased to see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I spend one night here while using my priority club points. I was delighted to receive an upgrade - a large size room, recently renovated, plenty of space. The hotel was clean, quiet, and I slept very well. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable about using public transport. I will gladly stay at this property again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Service_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the very favorable review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

Positive Reviews like yours are very rewarding for our team, thank you very much for your support.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Zürich Messe.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

The hotel was as you would expect - quite neutral, nothing what you would specifically remember (in a negative or positive way). However, what was noticeable was the friendly staff!

The hotel was very clean, the breakfast buffet (not included in the price btw) was quite extensive, but not out of the ordinary for similar hotels.

The connections from the hotel are very good, trams and buses both have stops very closeby.

The hotel gym was small, but quite sufficient. There would be max. room for maybe 3-5 persons at the same time, but, for example when visiting the gym on a Wednesday evening the place was empty.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariashem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

We would be very pleased to see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#37 of 138 in Zurich
527 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#30 of 138 in Zurich
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Zurich Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Zurich Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Address: Wallisellenstrasse 48, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Zurich
#42 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#47 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Zurich Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Zurich Messe is ideally located between the airport and the city center in an emerging business district. The hotels surroundings are embossed by the pulsating life of Switzerlands most famous concert and music venue hall Hallenstadion as well as the fair ground Messezentrum Zurich with its numerous exhibitions and the musical hall Theater 11 with its events of international appeal. All these top spots are right across the street within a few meters from the Holiday Inn Zurich Messe. Public transportation is conveniently available in front of the hotel with a direct tram which brings you to the city centre in only 17 minutes as well as a tram which brings you to the airport in only 15 minutes. The Holiday Inn Zuerich Messe is a non smoking hotel with an infrastructure of 164 guest rooms, 7 meeting rooms, a restaurant, a bar, a business center, a gym and a parking. All 164 comfortable non smoking rooms are decorated with the latest contemporary design and offer free high speed internet access and wifi as well as tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, a large work desk with ergonomic easy chair, phone with voicemail, air conditioning, safe and hair dryer. Executive rooms are available with additional space, larger beds and extra amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Zurich Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe Hotel
Holiday Inn zürich
zürich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing