We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Zurich Messe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Ranked #64 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was a pretty nice hotel to stay. Cozy room with a very good bed to rest. Quality sheets, bed cover and pillows. You can choose among a variety of pillows actually if you have a special preference. The room also provides a desk, very convenient if you go there for business. The hotel restaurant offers a good breakfast. I would not stay in this hotel if I went there for holiday though because it's not close to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotiaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the very favorable review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

Positive reviews like yours are very rewarding for our team, thank you very much for your support.

We hope to see you soon back in our Holiday Inn Zürich Messe.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    237
    72
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
148
46
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel is across from the convention center and walking distance to shopping. the staff is top notch. get an executive room if possible. We didn't eat breakfast there since we thought 25 marks was high even considering prices in Zurich. Would stay there again if I were to visit.

Room Tip: request an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danderism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

Especially the comments on our staff make us very happy, comments like yours are very rewarding for our team members.

We would be very pleased to see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

First the good part, the check in was smooth and the room was fresh and clean. However, I need aircon whole night for a sound sleep and thats why I booked this hotel. But apparently due to some swiss law which I was not aware of, they turned off the aircon at night as the outside temperature was below 18C. Only in middle of night when I woke up and called them they arranged a fan and suggested opening the windows.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohitseks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

It is indeed due to very strict environmental protection laws that we are not allowed to have the A/C running if the outside temperature is below 20 degrees. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do in this case. The other hotels in Zurich have the same regulations and proplems resulting out of that laws.

We are very sorry that your stay did not keep up with your expectations. Thank you again for staying with us. We would be very pleased to see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Kindest regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I booked this hotel as a overnighter before my flight the next day, believing is was "close" to the airport. It is a $50.00 cab ride to the airport. No airport shuttle. I was allowed to check in, return my rental car to the airport station, return to shower, only to learn they had no hot water in the entire hotel. This was not divulged at check in, giving me the opportunity to choose another hotel. Not very classy. It is a typical Holiday Inn with no particular frills. No minibar, no iron or ironing board. Breakfast will cost you an extra $30.00. The Holiday Inn Express Zurich is a better choice if you are looking to fly home from Zurich airport. After I complained at check out, they offered me a 20% reduction in the room rate. I had every intention to stop payment entirely on my credit card and indicated same. At that point the manager offered me a 33% discount.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XRAYColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear guest,

As we already wrote to you we are truly sorry that you did not have hot water available during your stay.

Unfortunately our warm water supplier the district heating of Zurich had an incident and a big part of the city (including several hotels) was cut off from the hot water supply. At the time of your check-in we only had the information that the problem would be solved within hours that’s why we did not inform you at that time. Would we have known upfront how long this really would take, believe me; we would certainly have informed you at check-in. It was never our intention to hide any information from you.

Please note that this was the only big incident since 30 years for the district heating of Zurich so this is not a common thing for us and a truly isolated incident.

We know how inconvenient it is not to have hot water and we are very sorry for this unpleasant incident. Unfortunately it was not in our hands to avoid this shortage, there was nothing we could do at that point.

As for the location of the hotel we are not represented as an airport hotel thus we are located in the city of Zurich but we do have excellent connections. The public transport brings you to the airport within 15 minutes.

Again, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days during our business trip in Zurich.
The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was great (lots of things to choose for every taste). It took about 15 minutes to the city center by tram. The price was reasonable and the staff was friendly. We'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the very favorable review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

Positive reviews like yours are very rewarding for our team, thank you very much for your support.

We hope to see you soon back in our Holiday Inn Zürich Messe.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Spent a week at this property during a business trip. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Being a member of their Priority Club programme, I was upgraded to a nice corner room and received a bottle of wine and chocolates from the hotel manager to welcome me to Zürich. Very nice touch.
The room was fantastic. The air conditioning worked well and the room never got too warm. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious, modern and clean.
The hotel restaurant was quite nice. As the weather was nice we were able to sit outside in the evenings and enjoy dinner al fresco. Food was of a high quality and fairly reasonable for Swiss standards.
The hotel has a small fitness area. Not very big, but it serves its purpose with a nice selection of machines and TVs in the room to keep one occupied whilst exercising.
Location is right across from the convention centre. Not the centre of town, but there are plenty of buses and trams that stop in front of the hotel to bring you to all parts of the city. Just up the road, a short walk away, is the area of Oerlikon. There are some nice restaurants there and a Starbucks for those wanting free WiFi. Here there is a train station that will bring you to central Zürich as well. Glattzetrum shopping centre is also close and there is a direct bus that leaves from in front of the hotel.
This hotel is one of the best in the HI chain and the staff and Swiss hospitality made it one of my favourites!

Room Tip: www.hotels.de and www. ihg.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dp_visser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the very favorable review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

Positive reviews like yours are very rewarding for our team, thank you very much for your support.

We hope to see you soon back in our Holiday Inn Zürich Messe.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel was very very nice. It was clean and modern and very comfortable. We got in very late so the shopping center that was attached was pretty much closed so we ate in the hotel restaurant. Wow it was terribly expensive and the food just wasn't that great. I highly recommend this hotel but grab food before everything closes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyInCoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

We are very sorry that you found the restaurant to be very expensive. Restaurant prices in Zurich are really high compared to other countries although our restaurant has a moderate pricing for a 4 star hotel and is also frequented by many local customers.

We would be very pleased to see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#41 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#31 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Zurich Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Zurich Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Address: Wallisellenstrasse 48, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Zurich
#41 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#47 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Zurich Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Zurich Messe is ideally located between the airport and the city center in an emerging business district. The hotels surroundings are embossed by the pulsating life of Switzerlands most famous concert and music venue hall Hallenstadion as well as the fair ground Messezentrum Zurich with its numerous exhibitions and the musical hall Theater 11 with its events of international appeal. All these top spots are right across the street within a few meters from the Holiday Inn Zurich Messe. Public transportation is conveniently available in front of the hotel with a direct tram which brings you to the city centre in only 17 minutes as well as a tram which brings you to the airport in only 15 minutes. The Holiday Inn Zuerich Messe is a non smoking hotel with an infrastructure of 164 guest rooms, 7 meeting rooms, a restaurant, a bar, a business center, a gym and a parking. All 164 comfortable non smoking rooms are decorated with the latest contemporary design and offer free high speed internet access and wifi as well as tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, a large work desk with ergonomic easy chair, phone with voicemail, air conditioning, safe and hair dryer. Executive rooms are available with additional space, larger beds and extra amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Zurich Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe Hotel
Holiday Inn zürich
zürich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing