We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Good for a 1* Rated Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villette
Ranked #133 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite Good for a 1* Rated Hotel”
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I arrived in Zurich via air for a 4-day trip in early Dec without any hotel booking. Tried to do some internet booking at the airport but it failed. In the end I used the Tourist Information Centre at the Zurich Main Station (free service). Upon checking, only 2 hotels were available for 3 consecutive nights. One was a 4* hotel and the other one Hotel Villette, a 1* hotel as informed by the personnel at the tourist information centre. The difference is about CHF40 per night. I didn't choose the former because it's a bit out of town, a few stations by tram, have to pay extra for breakfast, and internet access is not free. Hotel Villette on the other hand is located in the Old Town, have breakfast and free WIFI internet access. So with some reservation, I made the reservation for 3 nights.

So bearing in mind that this is a 1* hotel, the following are my comments.

The Good:
- Location, which is in the Old Town and thus within walking distance to almost all places of interests in Zurich. And despite it being located in the Old Town, it's located in a quiet alley which ensures a good night sleep.
- Room is quite roomy, mattress and pillows are good, sheets are new and clean. Everything else, nothing fancy.
- The bathroom is OK (shower only, not bath tub), clean with basic toiletries.
- Free breakfast, though it's only slices of bread with jams and butter and tea/coffee.
- Personal service - because, as highlighted in one of the previous comments, the lady (a Thai with a quite good command of English, and German, I think) who is the receptionist is also the waiter during breakfast and the chambermaid.
- Free WIFI internet - though in the end I must say I didn't actually use it.


The Not-So-Good:
- The reception, located on the 2nd floor, is small, and doesn't look like a hotel reception.
- Room has no fancy view.
- The lady who is the receptionist is also the waiter during breakfast and the cleaner. Despite this, she is good and friendly.
- Breakfast is minimal, not a buffet. The bread and drink (tea/coffee) are unlimited though upon request :-)
- The lady stays until around 5 or 6 pm only and afterwards, you'd need to call a mobile no. for check in.
- The main door is locked in the late evening but along with your room key, you'll also get the key for the main door.
- Quite expensive, but then so is everything else in Switzerland :-)

To me, the hotel is actually more comparable to a 2* or 3* Bed & Breakfast in the UK, in some cases, even better. Looking past the room price (or any price tag in Zurich, for that matter :-D), I would certainly wouldn't mind going back to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    12
    18
    30
See reviews for
15
22
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I travelled to Zurich in Nov 09 and to had to stay one night in this hotel due to some flight delay. Here it goes, I reach the hotel no one at reception, though a phone number is there call him up and there comes someone to attend. Limited credit cards accepted. Room had old fashioned feeling, first impression not pleasing . Now you goto the bathroom and find missing toileteries. The bathroom needs real renovation, hard to stay in it . Then the morning breakfast eat bread butter jam with cofee.
I would rather spend some more to get a better place.
Only advantage 2 mins walking distance from tram station.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroTravellorFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

This hotel is in a great location - BUT it has problems. . . . The receptionist is also the caretaker, waitress and general EVERYTHING. She does everything here and treats the guests as if they are in her home. . . she will walk into your room without knocking. . . tell you to leave so she can clean NOW. . . .
Breakfast. . . a joke. . . . continental breakfast is fine but this just doesn't cut it. you also get accosted if you come half hour before the ending time (0930). She wants to get out so she can get back to her other job.
My room did not have a bathroom in the room - it was on the hall shared with 2 other rooms and anyone else who wanted to use it in the hotel (14 rooms). The shower stall did not have a curtain or any enclosure either. . . it was quite dirty as well. . . .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We found this hotel online searching for an affordable place to stay in downtown Zurich. Hotel Villette popped up on a Swiss Budget Hotel website and we could not find any reviews, so we decided to take a risk and book anyway.

It turned out to be a very pleasant place with a great location. We parked in a near-by garage (Hohe Promenade) and walked maybe 5 or 10 minutes to find the hotel. We took the elevator to the reception desk, hit a buzzer, and was greeted by a very nice lady. She spoke excellent English. We paid up front in cash (Swiss Francs) and she gave us the key to our room. They may take credit cards, but it was unclear at the time.

The room was small like most European hotel rooms, but not too cramped for me and my husband. It came with standard features such as a mini-bar and a queen size bed. The bathroom was in dire need of a renovation, but clean. The water was very warm, but did not get hot. It was not a deal-breaker or ruin our stay. The room was very quiet. Wool blankets kept us warm. The TV was small, but adequate.

It was centrally located to the tourist part of the city. All major sites were within walking distance.

The hotel does not have its own parking. The parking garage is always available, but can be expensive if left overnight. We were lucky enough to find curbside parking nearby, which was free between 9 PM and 8 AM. After 8 AM you have to charge the parking meter every 2 hours.

Breakfast was complimentary. It was served in the downstairs restaurant (a fondue restaurant owned and operated by the hotel), but was only some bread served with assorted cheeses and jellies. Coffee, juice, and hot tea were also served. There was room for improvement as far as breakfast was concerned.
In the evening the restaurant looked inviting, but we decided to go elsewhere.

Overall, we left very satisfied with this hotel. It was very affordable compared to others in that area of Zurich. It has great potential, but unfortunately the place does not seem to advertise for itself enough. I would definitely recommend it for couples traveling thru Europe on a budget. Don't expect anything fancy like the worldwide chains. It is a privately owned hotel with charm, where we were extremely comfortable.

  • Liked — Location & Price
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#94 of 139 in Zurich
88 reviews
Old Town
Hotel California
Hotel California
#79 of 139 in Zurich
239 reviews
Hotel Rossli
#54 of 139 in Zurich
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Altstadt Hotel
Altstadt Hotel
#103 of 139 in Zurich
103 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Scheuble
Hotel Scheuble
#106 of 139 in Zurich
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villette

Property: Hotel Villette
Address: Kruggasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing