We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTRAORDINARY MEAL!!! ”

Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #10 of 2,189 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $95
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Swiss, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The ‘Differente’ restaurant and bar uses only high-quality, seasonal and local produce for its dishes. We pride ourselves on our Mediterranean dishes and Swiss specialities. Our unique tartare creations are also very popular. We take pleasure in providing perfect service. This is one of our top priorities. Food that is flambéed, filleted and carved at the table will make your meal a memorable occasion. The ‘Differente’ restaurant invites you to lunch or dinner in a stylish and friendly ambience. Our menus range from classic Mediterranean dishes to Swiss specialities and also include our renowned and popular tartare creations. Our seasonal specialities leave nothing to be desired. We have refined vegetarian dishes on the menu too. Hot meals are also served in the afternoon and evening until 23.00.
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

Dinner tonight was a joy!!! We started with Truffle Ravioli that were homemade pockets of deliciousness, cooked to perfection in a light truffle cream sauce created by a genius chef!!! This was one of the finest dishes I have eaten anywhere in the world! The perfect viscosity: delicate, balanced, with just the perfect amount of truffle flavor. Make sure you add the amazing Zurcher Oberlander cheese that is served with it!! A stunning dish by any standard. Then we had the Veal Zürich style that was fabulous. The most tender veal, cooked perfectly, with lovely mushrooms, a crispy-melt-in-your-mouth rosti, and a cream sauce that was as decadent in flavor, as it was refined and light in texture!!! How can food be this great? Simple: a chef that is a master!!! And our waiter Marcel made our night superb!! He was kind, helpful, knowledgeable and as attentive as any waiter I have ever experienced. He was amazing!!!!! Thank you Marcel!!

1  Thank billyjoebob12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

WOW - what a loveletter for our chef. We are more than happy that we managed to WOW you and sent you off to culinary heaven. Thank you so very much for sharing this beautiful comment with other foodlovers here on Tripadvisor.
We try our best to ensure top quality and services and it is wonderful to see that our guests appreciate the result of our effort.

Again, I would like to highlight that your comment means a lot to us and we would be more than pleased to WOW you again.

Kindest regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 670 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

Good food , good ambiance, service was very slow but attentive...was expensive for even Zurich standard .....

Thank Shruti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

We are happy to see that you enjoyed the quality of our food - I am sorry to hear that the efficiency of our staff was not up to your expectations. We will look into this matter in order to improve on this important fact.

I am surprised of your comment about value for money, as we always make sure not to overprise our offer.

We hope to see you again soon and wish you in the meantime wonderful summerdays.

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Most of us had a soup as a starter that was delicious and tartar for main dish. Especially the "parfums" to spice up the tartar was bringing joy to the table. We had a very nice server and all in all a very good evening. Only on the wine recommendation they can still work, we ordered a wine and got recommended another one (Magnum) saying it is very similar. The grapes were not even the same. This is the only critics though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

Thank you so much for your honest feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit with us. We do appreciate the time you have dedicated to share your opinion with other foodlovers.
Please rest assured that we will investigate regards to the wine recommendation, since the entire team should be aware of our products.

Thank you for this valuable review and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Excellent and creative tartare menu. If you’re not into tartar there are plenty of other options but that’s definitely the speciality at this place. Highly recommended

Thank goose30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

What a beautiful comment - thank you so much for sharing your recommendation here on Tripadvisor with other foodlovers. We are very happy that you liked what you experienced.

Come back - try more and come back again! Already today we are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

It was my mother's birthday and we wanted to celebrate here because we heard this restaurant had the best Tatar. And how true it was!
I wrote during my booking that it was going to be a birthday dinner for my mom, and the staff really made it special. We got a beautifully decorated table, and every waiter came up to my mother to wish her all the best. Our waiter, I think his name is Oscar, was very professional and friendly. He did a perfect job and we were very satisfied with him.
We had a 3 course menu and it was phenomenal, not to mention how beautifully everything was decorated! The a la carte provides so many options which I found to be exceptional.
Still, the best part was that my mother got not one, but two presents from the restaurant! I would like to say a big thank you for everyone for making this evening so special for us. I'll be sure to recommend your restaurant to everyone.

Thank Noémi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

What an amazing feedback. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other food-lovers here on Tripadvisor. We are very very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit at our restaurant and we would like to thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion.
Please rest assured that we will forward the compliment to Oscar - on a daily basis our staff is strived to do their utmost in order to fulfill all customer needs and it is wonderful to see once it gets rewarded.

We do hope to see you very soon again!

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing