We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening with friends - delicous tartar”

Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #7 of 2,141 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $95
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Swiss, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The ‘Differente’ restaurant and bar uses only high-quality, seasonal and local produce for its dishes. We pride ourselves on our Mediterranean dishes and Swiss specialities. Our unique tartare creations are also very popular. We take pleasure in providing perfect service. This is one of our top priorities. Food that is flambéed, filleted and carved at the table will make your meal a memorable occasion. The ‘Differente’ restaurant invites you to lunch or dinner in a stylish and friendly ambience. Our menus range from classic Mediterranean dishes to Swiss specialities and also include our renowned and popular tartare creations. Our seasonal specialities leave nothing to be desired. We have refined vegetarian dishes on the menu too. Hot meals are also served in the afternoon and evening until 23.00.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Most of us had a soup as a starter that was delicious and tartar for main dish. Especially the "parfums" to spice up the tartar was bringing joy to the table. We had a very nice server and all in all a very good evening. Only on the wine recommendation they can still work, we ordered a wine and got recommended another one (Magnum) saying it is very similar. The grapes were not even the same. This is the only critics though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

Thank you so much for your honest feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit with us. We do appreciate the time you have dedicated to share your opinion with other foodlovers.
Please rest assured that we will investigate regards to the wine recommendation, since the entire team should be aware of our products.

Thank you for this valuable review and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 632 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Excellent and creative tartare menu. If you’re not into tartar there are plenty of other options but that’s definitely the speciality at this place. Highly recommended

Thank goose30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

What a beautiful comment - thank you so much for sharing your recommendation here on Tripadvisor with other foodlovers. We are very happy that you liked what you experienced.

Come back - try more and come back again! Already today we are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

It was my mother's birthday and we wanted to celebrate here because we heard this restaurant had the best Tatar. And how true it was!
I wrote during my booking that it was going to be a birthday dinner for my mom, and the staff really made it special. We got a beautifully decorated table, and every waiter came up to my mother to wish her all the best. Our waiter, I think his name is Oscar, was very professional and friendly. He did a perfect job and we were very satisfied with him.
We had a 3 course menu and it was phenomenal, not to mention how beautifully everything was decorated! The a la carte provides so many options which I found to be exceptional.
Still, the best part was that my mother got not one, but two presents from the restaurant! I would like to say a big thank you for everyone for making this evening so special for us. I'll be sure to recommend your restaurant to everyone.

Thank Noémi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

What an amazing feedback. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other food-lovers here on Tripadvisor. We are very very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit at our restaurant and we would like to thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion.
Please rest assured that we will forward the compliment to Oscar - on a daily basis our staff is strived to do their utmost in order to fulfill all customer needs and it is wonderful to see once it gets rewarded.

We do hope to see you very soon again!

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

We went there for lunch and had an angus burger and salad that tasted fine. Based on the trip advisor reviews we had higher expectation. We should maybe have tasted tartars which seems to be the restaurant specialty. Service good but the interior might need some renovation.

Thank Steina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

Thank you very much for your feedback. We ar very sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. Regards to your comment about renovation I have to inform you that we are well aware of the interieur and I am pleased to inform you that we will have a brand new renovated restaurant part in a very modern appearance, so if you prefer modern over traditional we will be able to cater to your needs starting in October 2018.

Already today we are looking forward to your visit.

Kindest regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

I tried the "Differente" many times in the last 6 weeks and i can tell: Top Quality - top service - perhaps the staff behaves a be a bit "naughty" sometimes, but these people are on the right track. Tasty and high quality food - you do not wait too long: for either your seat or your food. Not the cheapest, but worth every "Rappen". All dishes taste great, the "chief" of the kitchen knows how to pleasure restaurant guests.
This place is one of my strongest recommendations for Zurich City - make sure you get a seat! - usually pretty much booked out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Fat_Frankfurter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to see that we managed to convince you of our product. Regards to your feedback about the staff's "naughtyness" I would want to have more specific information. All our staff is well trained and know usually how to behave, there is no room for such behaviour - I do want to appologize for the above mentioned and please rest ensured that we will absolutely not accept this.
Please feel free to contact me directly in order to provide more information (goll@hotel-krone.ch). Thank you very much for your effort.

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedircetor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing