We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raclette Stube

Raclette Stube
Ranked #47 of 1,892 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $40
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Town
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This restaurant opens every evening for dinner and week days for lunch. It is not very big and there is just one person (very kind and extremely helpful) serving the tables.
Basically, this restaurant only serves one- or two-cheese fondues and raclettes. We've chosen the single cheese milder fondue, as per the owner's suggestion, and it was really superb!
The atmosphere is great, but it can be an expensive experience if one decides to have a full bottle of wine and a fondue for two.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank otavio_silveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    114
    37
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Swiss Cheese Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This restaurant made it clear to me why the Swiss love their cheeses! We had Raclette (all you can eat), a cheese fondue and white wine.

Raclette was served hot on a plate. The portion might seem to be small, but the waiter will bring you as many plates as you can eat so that every bite is hot and fresh. The baby potatoes are hot and tender. They bring out the strong taste of the cheese.

The cheese fondue was the best cheese fondue I've ever had. Dipping fresh bread in a pot of steamy hot, non-pasteurized, flavorful cheese while sipping white wine was a wonderful experience on a December day.

Our waiter was attentive and friendly. When we complimented the raclette, he invited us to the kitchen to show us how it was made.

The restaurant is small. Reservation is recommended if you plan to go for dinner. Alternatively, you can go for lunch (like us). The food is the same, but you'll get more space and service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtomicGalaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Fondue is very good, but for €46, we expected far more food than was served. The service was outstanding, however, and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cait2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere, Great Fondue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This restaurant is smaller than many of the big name fondue places in the old city. No tourist hoards here (but most of the patrons are indeed tourists). Reservation recommended. We arrived right at 18:00 without a reservation, and we were lucky to get a table. By 18:15 the restaurant was packed and turning people away. This place serves both raclette and the fondue in a melting pot. If I return to Zurich, I will certainly go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Latinum001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Level Contributor
362 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The best fondue in Zurich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

First Zurich is one of my favorite cities, my hotel referred me to Racliette Stube years ago and I try to visit on every trip. Similarly the best fondue in Zurich, the restaurant is small, local, maybe a little cramped, but the food is worth it. Remember this is real Swiss, not the American version. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RDCononver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raclette Stube also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Raclette Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing