We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brasserie Schiller

Brasserie Schiller
Ranked #1,254 of 1,892 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French, Swiss, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Hochschulen
Description: In the heart of Zurich within the historic building of Neue Zurcher Zeitung you find Brasserie Schiller & Goethe Bar. The Brasserie provides a lively modern french cuisine. The Goethe Bar provides trendy drinks and snacks througout the day. The summer terrasse is the place to see and to be seen.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“just average”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location but was very disappointed to discover the food is only average and the prices are not cheap. Service was nothing special either.
Most tragic was the Lemon Risotto that was on offer in September, it was definately made with artificial flavourings!
Too bad, really.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000Brussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    124
    62
    51
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one of my favourite bars in the Bellvue area.
It has a nice atmosphere. It is pleasantly full without being so crowded that you can't get to the bar for a drink or hear your friends conversation

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SwissEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
319 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pompous”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nothing special, service is good, but nothing better as one gets in a normal restaurant. The menu is good, but the presentation leaves a bit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor value, poor service, average food, disappointing wine”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I'd already been to Brasserie Schiller for numerous business lunches and always found it good food at reasonable prices for Zurich. We decided to go for New Year's Eve dinner for the special Silvesterabend menu - not cheap at CHF 200 per person (including drinks), but also not the most expensive in Zurich for New Year's Eve.

We were disappointed on a number of levels.

Firstly, we arrived at the restaurant to find out that we would not be in the restaurant, but in a what seemed to be a meeting room in the adjoining building that had been rented by the restaurant for the evening. For a restaurant which targets the higher-end customer and charges such prices, it is disappointing to see that it exploits a special occasion by treating well-paying customers in this way. We were not told that we would not be in the restaurant, and we would be in a room with the atmosphere of a business meeting room. We experienced nothing of the main restaurant's ambience, even though that is what we reserved.

Secondly, the waitresses seemed to be hired specifically for the occasion (presumably the extra temporary room required extra temporary staff....) and were not well-trained or knowledgeable about the menu or the wine list.

Thirdly, the food was ok, but not great. Because this was a set menu for New Year's Eve,

Finally, the wine was rather disappointing. I tried several of the open wines, some of which were quite expensive Bordeaux specials (our group was all drinking different choices and we did not take a full bottle). I would say that none of the wines I tried were enjoyable, and the waitress was not able to recommend a single wine which matched my food choice.

Last year, we had our New Year's dinner at Amalfi, just along the road from Schiller, but at significantly cheaper prices, and significantly better food, wine and service. We will not return to Brasserie Schiller, in the knowledge that there are much better restaurants in the immediate vicinity for similar or cheaper prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lemur7685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good wine!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I went there for Christmas dinner with my girlfriends. It was crowded,so we had to wait for quiet long time to order. Foods were ok. Atmosphere was also good. Price was not so cheap,but it was worth to pay for the food we ordered. I would like to come back again. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlomaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Schiller also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Brasserie Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing