We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants I've eaten in”
Review of Munsterhof

Munsterhof
Ranked #328 of 1,944 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $62
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants I've eaten in”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've been to Munsterhof (upstairs) a few times now and have to say it is easily one of the best 2 or 3 restaurants that I've eaten in.

The food is just exceptional - so inventive - and absolutely delicious. I love the fact that you get interesting bites between courses - often matched to what you are about to it - even if you just go a la carte and don't go for the degustation menu. If you are a foie gras fan, you will be blown away by their Noix Gras which is completely vegetarian but tastes just as good as the real thing - amazing!

The service is good too - especially when compared with other local restaurants - friendly and attentive.

My only complaint is that they are closed for 2 months over the summer!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic dining experience!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is truly one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. Their degustation menu is fabulous. Service excellent , the staff very informative and exceptionally pleasant.
The food was imaginative and amazing array of flavours.
I was hesitant to go to Munstehof after reading some trip advisor reviews re lack of quantity of food.
We found quite the opposite, in fact, after 4 courses we asked to go to 6 course deg instead of 7, as very filling. Lots of little extra in between tastings! We didn't have wine tastings with degustation but chose our own with very helpful assistance from staff.
Faultless evening!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Excellent culinary experience. A constant flow of small, delicious, creative, sophisticated dishes made for a wonderful evening. Simple ambiance. No music. Few tables. Great wine list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Innovative and "fun" food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We really liked this place. We have been twice so far, the first time on the lower level and the second time on the upper-level (the gourmet restaurant). We enjoyed ourselves both times. At the gourmet restaurant the atmosphere is intimate (the room is cosy but not claustrophobic, with medieval murals on the wall but with a modern twist of design too) and the food is innovative and "fun". For example, who has ever received instructions to eat a course by "cleaning up" a sauce from a plate made of a slate with a sponge-looking carrot pastry?
Service was attentive and polite, without being stuffy (as sometime Michelin-starred restaurants are). In terms of price, compared to other 1- and 2- star-Michelin restaurants, I thought the prices of drinks were relatively higher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicago_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Munsterhof”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Superb food, but not cheap. So intimate that there aren't very many tables. Make very sure that you have a reservation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munsterhof also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Munsterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing