We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Rusterei

Rusterei
Ranked #290 of 1,929 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $22 - $66
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Swiss, Contemporary, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
393 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Food here is of a superior quality and the service is very professional. Steaks are very tasty and the place has a reasonably good athmosphere.

Drinks are expensive but the excellent so what compensates for that. Worth visiting from time to time if you enjoy good food and service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rahenyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Projektleiter at Rusterei, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear rahenyman
Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
Hope to welcome you again soon. Greetings from the Rüsterei!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    98
    29
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great ambience and food”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here and made reservation before. Evidently the restaurant was huge however due to its office surrounding, it was always better to book a place. We were greeted by a friendly waiter who introduced us to the menu. Most of the choices were hot dog, burger or salad. So we had Acapulco style hot dog and Original burger. My first bite of the hot dog was good however I soon realized that the sauce were full of chopped onions which I personally did not enjoy. Unfortunately they assumed that I was prepared for that as I didn't get that written in the menu. Would be great if they pay attention to details like that cause not all people like the same thing. Nevertheless, the hot dot itself was delicious and the original burger was tasty. Price-wise it was on the up side, but still acceptable for Zurich standard.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dewi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Projektleiter at Rusterei, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Dewi E
Thank you very much for your feedback - good to hear! We are very sorry for the onions in your haute dog. We recommend next time you order your dog explicitly without onions - that's no problem for our kitchen crew!
Hope to welcome you again soon. Greetings from the Rüsterei!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant and tasty”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A nice mix of industrial design and very classy interior design. The food was great with a very nice way of serving. The staff is very discrete. Great for a dinner with your girlfriend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krzysiek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Projektleiter at Rusterei, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Krzysiek B
Thank you very much for your positive over all feedback! Good to hear you've enjoyed your stay at the Rüsterei. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Maybe try the restaurant part, skip the Kantine part!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This review is for the ‘Kantine’ part. The restaurant also has a ‘restaurant’ part, which has a a la carte menu (as they say themselves. The Kantine part is more aimed for the easy bite: thing fancy hotdogs, 1 hamburger and some salad which are on the menu.
The summary of this review can be described like: poor price/value.
The restaurant is built in an old factory hall (or whatever they used to do there) and it looks pretty nice. New meets old, modern loft-style. The staff is nice, service is quick. So far, so good.
Then comes the ordering and what you get. Whenever you order a hotdog for 18 chf and the waitress asks you whether you want salad, wedges or fries with it, one could expect that this comes with it. Wrong. These sides are 5 chf each. The bowls these sides get served in, have the size of a coffee-mug. See at home how much salad you need to fill up a coffee cup without pressing it down; And we are talking about just some mixed salad-leaves with a light sauce. When you ask for the fries or wedges, they ask you whether you like some sauce with it (yoghurt-herb sauce): after you see the bill you notice that this cost you 2.50 chf as well: it had the size of your plastic cup of sauce you get at the 2 large fast food chains. Now, about 3 hours after my lunch experience…. I am hungry.
So, how was the hot dog, you might think. Well, imagine a hotdog, add some jalapeno’s, 3 corn chips, a hint of coriander and on the bready you add a salsa mix: 18 chf. My colleague had a Greek style dog, he actually went to the nearby international fast-food chain to order himself a smoothy to lose the taste the dog left behind.
O yeah. The drinks they serve are all from local companies (or not, but weird brands anyway). The ginger ale tasted nice; but 20 cl for 5.50. Come on.
My hint: for the same money, you get a steak sandwhich with more fries you can eat and a proper 0.5l drink at the grand-café style restaurant at the other side of the square.
Just to be precise: the restaurant style part might me completely different.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ski-fanatic-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Projektleiter at Rusterei, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Ski Fanatic
Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that you had a bad price/value experience in our Kantine. We've hardly ever had any negative feedback concerning the prices in our new canteen concept. We'll now keep an eye on that point and will decide shortly if there is some change needed. The increasing number of guests that love our new concept tells us we can't be totally wrong. But of course we will never be the right choice for a 100% of the market.
Best wishes from the Rüsterei!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“nice environment, good food”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I ate on the "casual" side of the place. NIce bar food, good drink selection, nice service. The room is impressively converted industrial architecture. Shocking prices, but well, it's Zurich, so by local standard it is average prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Projektleiter at Rusterei, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Malte
Thank you very much for your report and sorry for the shock the prices in Zürich caused you!
It's always good to get such positive feedback for our performance. We do our best to keep that level. Hope to welcome you again soon. Greetings from the Rüsterei!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusterei also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rusterei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing