We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin Star with a relaxing atmosphere!”
Review of Sein

Sein
Ranked #142 of 1,944 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $185
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Michelin Star with a relaxing atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was just e very good christmas dinner! I have been in other Michelin Star Restaurants and I must say the atmsphere was much more relaxing than in the others. The Service was impeccable, very charming! The food perfect! I took the "Surbeck Christmas Menu" not cheap but its worth it! The combination of the different flavors was just exquisite! I will visit this restaurant again, for sure!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pippogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    30
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“3 days of divine food”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch 3 days in a row, after first one, we have decided that we will not look any futher. Food was divine by the look and the taste (pls see photos) chef recommended wine to follow each dish and it was perfect. Staff was excellent, well trained. You can eat different food for at least 2 weeks in a row here. They have daily soups and 3 course buisness lunch on their menu. In house made vanilla ice cream with fruit sauces is to die for. Strongly recommend, do not look at the price, it is worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngeloB971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Super experience, best food and service”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have been there for dinner with my wife, and ordered the menu,food and timing and service was more than excellent, my only wish is a recommendation of suitable wine for each course, on their wine list they only have 4 / 4 wine by the glass, the selection of bottled wines is quite fine, but if you are just a couple, there is no chance to select the right wine for each dish.
We had a lot of fun to guess what the surprise intermediate served between each course is. To taste such small bites males the evening to an event.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, but even better bar”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

No quetion that the Sein restaurant is one of the top three., But, even better, have some of their delicious tapas in their bar with memorable glass of wine...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSHZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Tasty but expensive”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the second time we pay a visit to Sein on a business dinner. The first time we took the menu and this time we went for 3 courses a la carte. I had quail, duck liver and green peas risotto, then a calf steak with green asparagus and salted new potatoes as a main. For dessert we went for the special chocolate cake, with lemon grass and a Japanese peper taste. The suggested wines went perfectly fine with the courses and service was excellent. The food was tasty but for the price and the one star Michelin, we would expect somehow a notch higher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kizkouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sein also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Sein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing