We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with no view , but charms”
Review of stattHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
stattHotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Statthotel is ideally located in Zurich downtown center, at walking distances ( ~1 miles) : meetings , shopping or visiting...etc..
No night service but easy access code,
No room service but breakfast in next door Café facing the river is excellent.
Hotel neat & clean , very quiet ,hidden in a tiny street
( not easy to located first time) Have a good look on the map before coming.

Keep this address for you only ! don't tell to all your friends
As I would like to have a room free for my next trip & so will you...!?

Le Dahut

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dahut20-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

when the room would have each 2 or more buildings and constructions, I would rent this apartment as :) most of all I would only sleep here :)


the staff is very friendly, you do not write anywhere & some hotels on the Internet for 135 CHF and when you get there, ask for 175 CHF suddenly that I could not find nice ...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartaCuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We absolutely loved the stattHotel in Zurich. The location just cannot be beat--just a couple blocks from the historical sites in Zurich--we simply rolled out of bed, grabbed breakfast from the great cafe in front of the hotel, and then set off walking for the day.

The room and the bathroom (we were in room 31) were small by US standards, but quite spacious by European standards--Plenty of room for two people to move around without being completely on top of each other. The hotel's free wifi worked flawlessly, the iphone charger in the room was a nice bonus (and let me plug in other devices to my adapter), the in room coffee was excellent, and the binder full of information about Zurich (including restaurant recommendations and how to work everything in the room) was fabulous.

This is a very nicely kept building, but it was constructed a while ago (as most places in this area of Zurich are) so there is very little insulation or other noise dampening materials in the walls. This means that you can hear people in the hall, coming up the stairs, and closing the doors. Everyone was quiet and polite, but if you are a light sleeper, be aware. We knew from other reviews that the street could be noisy... and it was. There were a lot of people and noise until about 1:30 am or so. This didn't really bother us, but, again, if you are a light sleeper you aren't going to like a room on the street side.

Our first night, there was ALOT of trash and broken bottles in the alley outside the hotel when we got up in the morning (not right in front of the door or anything, about 15 feet away). The city didn't get this cleaned up until maybe 11:00am or so. I think this is just a downside to being close to the nightlife... but it surprised us. However, the second night did create nearly as much trash or broken glass... so it might have been an anomoly... but something to be aware of.

Even with the expected downsides, this place is a GREAT value. We would certainly stay here again when we visit Zurich.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KHMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel - Friday through Monday. The location is excellent, just an easy walk from the central train station and very convenient to the Limmat River and the Niederdorf oldtown section. For people who like to walk, it is a great location - and for those who prefer transport, the tram (#4) stops right in front of the hotel. The "keycode" system of entering was convenient and clear and the receptionists were extremely courteous and helpful. The room was compact but quite sufficient for us. The only drawback was the noise on Friday and Saturday nights (but not Sunday) from the downstairs bars and nightclubs, but the hotel kindly provided earplugs. Given the cost of lodging in Zurich, I would say this was a good value and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I agree with another post that the location although great was a bit difficult to find. But once we were able to reach our room with the help of the friendly woman at the desk, we were very happy with our room. We were concerned about the noise on the street as there are many cafes nearby, and we had a very early wake up time. But, we did not hear a thing.
The location in the old part of Zurich was perfect.We easily walked from the train station along the river to reach the hotel, just beautiful.
We are not the kind of travelers that need the large expensive hotels so this was actually perfect for us.
Good location,clean modern room and great value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveToTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was fascinated by this hotel from the moment I tried to enter the building (took some finding from the street!) with the 'key code' and self-service method employed.

The room was smallish and the cleaning schedule inconvenient, but it was worth the cost and the location cannot be bettered. The ladies at reception were extremely helpful and go out of their way to help out, from directions, to providing the 'curious' electrical plugs necessary in Switzerland.

There are numerous good restaurants in the area, so food isn't a problem. There is a Micros (supermarket) a couple of blocks away, so basics are easily found.

With the tram system of Zurich being one of the best public transport system I have come across and the Rathaus stop being just outside the hotel, it is a simple matter to move around Zurich (I used the system to get from the airport and go back). Most of the time I went to the Train Station and ate at the restaurants there, particularly the Nordsee.

I will recommend this little hotel to anyone who doesn't need all the frills of the chain hotels.

Room Tip: No real tips as the hotel is very small. The noise from the street is well controlled with the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffeddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location and the lady at the reception is very nice and helpful. The rooms are stylish and clean and the atmosphere is great. The location is excellent as it is just a short distance from the Lake. There are also plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from.
I look forward to staying in StattHotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 137 in Zurich
802 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#63 of 137 in Zurich
178 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
988 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#4 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to stattHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about stattHotel

Address: Schneggengasse 8, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: $157 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — stattHotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your stattHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing