We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi with extra flair”
Review of Kai Sushi Oerlikon

Kai Sushi Oerlikon
Ranked #455 of 1,956 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $25 - $100
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Sushi with extra flair”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I discovered this restaurant through a recommendation and offer in "Live Switzerland" voucher book, and I will be adding it to my list of favourite restaurants. A wonderful combination of fabulous food, friendly service and stylish surroundings. Particularly worthy of note were the "Surf & turf" sushi rolls, made with black Angus beef and tempura-battered prawn and the fabulously fresh seared Scottish salmon pieces with Japanese barbecue sauce; however, everything I tried was delicious. What makes this restaurant particularly special is the chef's creative approach to blending classic Japanese flavours with the best of seasonal local produce. I can't wait for my next visit to try some more of his creations!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank White_Rose_Media
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shama-Levaillant, Owner at Kai Sushi Oerlikon, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest

thank you very much for your feedback. Since my main concern is to maintain the standard of Kai Sushi. I had a warm feeling in my heart while reading these lines.
I was also happy to read that you were using "Live Switzerland". This voucher booklet has wonderful recommendations and insider tips.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Kai Sushi Oerlikon.

Amit Shama-Levaillant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    45
    16
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service is ok, but food quality is bad”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We had saturday all you can eat. A frw choices on the belt, but ingredients and fish were not fresh. Sushi rice balls were prepared on purposely huge to make sure you are full after eating 2 pieces of sushi. Sushi rolls were not tasty and most of them were with strange spicy sauces. Chef was preparing food in front of customers and at the same time he is eating also. Put many times food into his mouth and continue rolling sushi without washing his hands@@. My kid had belly ache after we're home. If you love sushi , better go samurai or bimi!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shama-Levaillant, Owner at Kai Sushi Oerlikon, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Google Translation
Guten Tag

Besten Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung!

Gerne nehme ich wie folgt dazu Stellung:

Produkte-Qualität: Wir beziehen ausschliesslich hoch qualitative Bio-Produkte und Fische aus nachhaltiger Züchtung. Unser Fischlieferant Dösig & Brandl liefert uns täglich frischen Fisch. Der Sushi-Reis wird bei uns zwei Mal täglich frisch zubereitet.

Nigiri: Unsere Nigiri sind im Vergleich zu anderen Anbietern eher gross, wobei das Verhältnis vom Fisch zum Reis das Selbe ist. Wir möchten damit unseren Gästen ein gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis anbieten. Wer lieber mehr Fisch hat, kann mit unserem à discrétion de luxe-Angebot von CHF 78.- Sashimi nach Herzenslust konsumieren.

Fusion-Gerichte: Wir verstehen uns als eine moderne Sushi-Bar mit selber kreierten Fusion-Gerichten. Ich kann gut nachvollziehen, dass dies nicht jedermanns Sache ist. Für traditionell zubereitete Sushi würde ich auch das Bimi wie das Samurai empfehlen.

Unsere Sushi-Master: Unsere Sushimaster verfügen beide über mehr als 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung in der japanischen Küche. Beide haben in international renommierten Betrieben gearbeitet und sind ausgezeichnete Sushi-Master. Um beste Qualität und Frische unserer Lebensmittel zu garantieren, müssen unsere Köche immer wieder unsere Zutaten und Kreationen probieren. Natürlich geht es nicht, dass dies mit der Hand geschieht. Wir haben diesen Punkt bereits mit der Küche besprochen. Der zuständige Koch entschuldigt sich in aller Form dafür.

Hygiene: Wir haben eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Labor Veritas, welche mehrmals jährlich mit Stichproben unsere Lebensmittel kontrolliert. Die Stichproben waren bis anhin immer einwandfrei.

Ich hoffe, Ihnen mit diesen Angaben gedient zu haben. Bei Fragen stehe ich Ihnen natürlich gerne zur Verfügung.

Beste Grüsse
Caroline Shama-Levaillant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I traveled to Zurich for a day after a week in the Swiss Mountains. We were happy to find a respite from the heavier food we have found in Switzerland. The sushi was good, not overly priced for Swiss standards. The manager was very happy to make wine suggestions and was knowledgeable on not only the wine but vineyard. If you are looking for sushi at a reasonable price this is the place. They also take American Express.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabahatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaibar, Owner at Kai Sushi Oerlikon, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guests

thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here in the Kai Sushi-Bar. It is even a greater pleasure that you enjoyed your Kai experience. Our philosophy regarding sushi prices is:"affordable luxury". Kai sushi is made by hand with the best available products. Nevertheless, it must be affordable.
Wine is the favourable accompany for sushi. The different aromas and flavours of a wine enriches the taste of the sushi.

I look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Amit Shama-Levaillant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fusion sushi creations”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Kai Sushi-Bar is definitely one of the best sushi places in Zürich. Although sushi purist may dismay the fusion creation served here, I absolutely recommend to give their samba sushi (salmon, nacho chips and mexican salsa) or crunchy shrimps & mango a go. If you don't feel that adventurous you can still choose from a wide selection of sashimi, nigiri, maki and so on. So there should be something for everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oceansize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaibar, Inhaber at Kai Sushi Oerlikon, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are always happy when our guest enjoy our sushi creations. As a matter of fact we have a lot of fusion sushi. But: The way our sushi are done is traditional.

Best regards
Caroline & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Town!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Best Sushi in Town? No! Best Sushi Worldwide!!! This Restaurant has a great Sushi-Master. Creative, gentle and funny. Love it. Every week I'm here. Could be every day...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaibar, Inhaber at Kai Sushi Oerlikon, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice review! "Best Sushi in Town!" is actually our goal ;-) So we are very glad to be on a good way.

Best
Caroline & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Sushi Oerlikon also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Kai Sushi Oerlikon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing