We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location makes the Difference.”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #81 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

You're right in the heart of Altstadt at Hotel Hirschen. For first-timers to Zurich, this means you are 5 minutes easy walk from the Main Train Station and you are surrounded by restaurants, bars, and shops. To me, this is the best area for a first time visit, or a short stay in Zurich.
The hotel fronts Hirschenplatz, the central small square on peds-only Niederdorfstrasse. There is a lot of crowd action and noise here. On weekends, this can go on pretty much all night. On the Wednesday we were there, things got pretty quiet by 11 or so. If you're noise-sensitive, ask for a room at the back. On a weeknight, we found the associated noise a worthwhile trade-off for the people-watching opportunities and general sense of being part of Altstadt that a front room provides.
We had room 805 (upper floor overlooking the square). It's an old, historic building and, as we expected, the room was small and simply appointed, but we felt it was cozy, not at all claustrophobic. The thick walls and high ceilings really help. A decent-sized double bed - comfortable and clean - two nightstands and lamps, a wardrobe, and a desk in a small nook. Tube TV is mounted on a wall bracket (we never used it). One large window and a table fan. No A/C. En suite was very small. everything there but you had to do a little dance getting in and out of the (very basic) shower. As is common in hotels of this class, a basic soap/shampoo is in a squeeze bottle attached to the shower wall. Bring your own if you're particular that way. No room safe.
The breakfast was fresh and well maintained. The hotel has an elevator and wi-fi coverage was good in our room. Hotel staff were very nice - welcoming and professional. I should add that in a very expensive city, Hotel Hirschen offers significant value, though it is not inexpensive.
In sum, if you like this kind of hotel, right in the center of things, a bit shopworn, but with a lot of character, Hotel Hirschen is a good choice in Zurich.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great street views, but get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear RickG23
Thank you very much for your visit and your résumé about your stay. We are very happy to hear that you did enjoy it and that you like our small historic, family run Hotel Hirschen. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in future. We have planned some renovations in Winter time, so be curious to your next visit!
Kind regards
Silvia Mohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Pros:

Location - AMAZING - Hotel Hirschen is located in the perfect place. Right on an exciting street in the heart of the old town of Zurich, a short walk to the Grossmunster church, right next to the lake, short walk to Bahnhofstrasse etc. You can't beat this location.

Breakfast - The breakfast selection is good and mostly fresh. Always topped up when running low.

Building - The building itself is a tourist attraction due to it's history. Wine cellar must be visited.

Cons:

Room - The room itself is small. There is no airconditioning which can be punishing during a heatwave (though almost none of the inner-city hotels have aircon). There is no fridge in the room or safe. To be fair, I have stayed in Zurich twice and it is near impossible to find a large room with airconditioning in a great location for a reasonable price.

Service - Patchy. Some of the reception staff are fantastic (like the older lady) and others are woeful.

Bottom line:

I might stay here again because of the amazing location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galvatron1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Galvatron 1984
Thank you for your visit and your honest review. We are happy that you did enjoy your stay at the Hirschen. You are absolutely right that in old historic houses like ours the available space is constricted. It is our effort to provide an excellent service and I am glad to hear that you did find it partially, but I am sorry that not everyone has offered the same good service. The wine celler in the over 600 years old vaulted cellar is indeed a must for every visitor. Since 2009, it is an official location for the civil wedding - for residents and nonresidents - and we have joined almost 500 weddings now.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again during your next visit.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a not too expensive hotel in one of the world's most expensive cities. Found it here. Small but so clean and comfy room. Perfect location in a walkable and no cars part of town (10 Mns from station ) On 7th floor and the Internet worked perfectly (tho no desk in the room - again it was small but perfect for a short stay). Really nice breakfast with local jams and cheeses and different breads and pastries.
Altogether great value and vibe for this traveler. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dccymbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear dccymbal
Thank you very much for your stay and your positive review. It is our effort to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and to feel them at home far away from home. We are very glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon at our lovely City.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I arrived at the hotel in the morning after a very long flight from Australia. The hotel was able to provide us with a early check in which was great. The hotel is only a short walking diatance from the main station and it is even quicker and eaiser if you catch a tram. The location is great as it is in the old town with excellent bars, resturaunts, shops and the river a close walking distance away. We also got the hotel through booking.com and had no problem with the room as it had a great view. The staff are very friendly and had great knowledge of the area and tours. Breakfast each morning was delicious and there is also a great little wine bar in the cellar of the hotel. The only downside is the bathroom is quite small and we had difficulty getting Internet on our room (level 8) but besides that everything else was great and we will def come back when we return to Zurich.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear YbyF
Thank you very much for your positive review. With great pleasure we hear that you did enjoy your stay at Zurich and the Hirschen Hotel and we will be glad to welcome you again in the future. We are aware of the WLAN problems and we will solve this in the near future.
Thank you for your visit!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's in a great location - very close to the river and only 5 minutes walk from the main train station. The staff are friendly and helpful and were more than happy to store our luggage until we were able to check in. Our room was basic but very comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Nat S
It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. It is our effort to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and our high quantity of regular guests and positive feedback such as yours is our reward.
Thank you very much for choosing the Hirschen and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you make your reservation with booking.com you will save money and.....space. That is, the room will not have a view and will probably be smaller that the other rooms. Clean, confortable, old but good quality towels, very TINY bathroom, average breakfast. Staff nice and competent. Old building but well kept. Very central. A bit expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the square: noisier but with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romanbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Romanbiker
It was a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel. Thank you for your review, we are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us. We have 27 rooms in our historic building and each room is different. The allocation of the rooms will be done individually based on the availability, no matter how you have done your reservation. Most of the guests prefer a quiet room and this rooms do in fact have not a spectacular view. The rooms facing the busy Hirschenplatz have a better view, but they are quite noisy, especially on weekends and summer days. Every guest has different needs and so it is difficult for us to know in advance what preference which guest have unless they send us a special request. We would be happy to welcome you again at the Hirschen hotel and we will make sure you will get a room facing the Hirschenplatz.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed in the Hirschen hotel for one night. Staff was very friendly and accomodating, I really appreciated it. The hotel is very well located, in the heart of the city - very nice. The room was OK, very simple and for the price, i think they could provide something better. What really annoyed me was that there were no shades and the room at night is not dark. A lot of people (myself included) need absolute darkness to be able to sleep well, otherwise you wake up at 5 am when the sun arises - this is what happened to me and so I think they should either put shades that can be closed or thicker curtains.

The breakfast was very good, very good quality of food and products, I liked it very much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetotravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Ilovetotravel 155
Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We always appreciate the feedbacks of our guests so they will allow us to improve our service. I am happy to hear that the staff was worth your positive comment, this is what is very important to us. You are absolutely right that the missing black out curtains or shades in some rooms are a problem we have to solve soon. The difference of every room and the structural facts make it more ambitous than supposed, but the rooms will definitely equipped with black out curtains in the near future.
It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we hope you will visit us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
850 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#90 of 137 in Zurich
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#47 of 137 in Zurich
561 reviews
Old Town
Altstadt Hotel
Altstadt Hotel
#108 of 137 in Zurich
106 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Scheuble
Hotel Scheuble
#98 of 137 in Zurich
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $153 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing